SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8878 (hooded coat)

Viewed 1218 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/02 1:33 AM
Last Updated:11/15/02 1:40 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mary Ann - I'm so, so glad you reviewed this pattern as I've had it and just bought fabric (Cashmere! but very reduced) to make it. Each time I look at the pattern I think I should go down at least a size or two as it looks so oversized. What do you think? Did you make it in your normal size? Thanks for putting this at the top of my list again.
11/15/02 2:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mary Ann said...
Carrie, I just cut the whole pattern out on my normal shoulder size, instead of doing my usual hip increase. But I wanted to be able to wear it over just about anything. I'm very pleased with the look of the pattern. You might want to consider lining the sleeves of your cashmere, though. Have fun with this pattern.
11/15/02 2:20 AM
susanbb said...
2 Hour?! This makes it well worth a look in my mind - thanks for the review!
11/15/02 2:05 PM
Sandra said...
Wow, Mary Ann, what a great pattern review. Your coat sounds beautiful!
11/16/02 11:58 AM
AnneM said...
I have some herringbone wool material that I want to make into a coat. Just a basic winter coat: long, hooded, lined, button-down front, pockets, optional belt. But they don't seem to make this pattern right now!!! Do you think this pattern could be easily adjusted? (I am not an experienced sewer, but I have the basics down.)
11/18/02 3:09 PM
Mary Ann said...
Anne, you'd have to draft a facing and the lining, and I think you'd have just what you want. Good luck and keep us posted. (You could sneak on over to Gigi's Expert Forum and get some really good advice on this, I'll bet!
11/18/02 7:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8666

photo
by: kkmatti

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now