SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8878 (hooded coat)

Viewed 1219 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/02 1:33 AM
Last Updated:11/15/02 1:40 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Ann said... (11/18/02 7:36 PM) Reply
Anne, you'd have to draft a facing and the lining, and I think you'd have just what you want. Good luck and keep us posted. (You could sneak on over to Gigi's Expert Forum and get some really good advice on this, I'll bet!
AnneM said... (11/18/02 3:09 PM) Reply
I have some herringbone wool material that I want to make into a coat. Just a basic winter coat: long, hooded, lined, button-down front, pockets, optional belt. But they don't seem to make this pattern right now!!! Do you think this pattern could be easily adjusted? (I am not an experienced sewer, but I have the basics down.)
Sandra said... (11/16/02 11:58 AM) Reply
Wow, Mary Ann, what a great pattern review. Your coat sounds beautiful!
susanbb said... (11/15/02 2:05 PM) Reply
2 Hour?! This makes it well worth a look in my mind - thanks for the review!
Mary Ann said... (11/15/02 2:20 AM) Reply
Carrie, I just cut the whole pattern out on my normal shoulder size, instead of doing my usual hip increase. But I wanted to be able to wear it over just about anything. I'm very pleased with the look of the pattern. You might want to consider lining the sleeves of your cashmere, though. Have fun with this pattern.
said... (11/15/02 2:01 AM) Reply
Mary Ann - I'm so, so glad you reviewed this pattern as I've had it and just bought fabric (Cashmere! but very reduced) to make it. Each time I look at the pattern I think I should go down at least a size or two as it looks so oversized. What do you think? Did you make it in your normal size? Thanks for putting this at the top of my list again.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Unmentionables Worth Mention Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Unmentionables Worth Mention Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-117

photo
by: motorharp

Review