SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4171 (Threads Mag shirtdress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1783 times 
Reviewed by:Christina Sonja
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christina Sonjastarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/2/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/4/06 10:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress. Much nicer than those on the envelope.
11/4/06 11:13 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Very nice. The fit and color both look good.
11/4/06 11:35 PM
Reggies Mom said...
I like the color, it looks nice on you. Everyone that's reviewed this dress seems to think it's a winner. I got this recently at a $.99 sale and it's on my to-do list. I'm sure you'll get lots of mileage out of such a classic!
11/4/06 11:44 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty, and I was thinking "what a great photo" before I read you weren't happy with it.
11/4/06 11:45 PM
MarilynB said...
Love your dress. The lighting in the picture is fine. It's definitely better looking the Simplicity's pictures. I would have passed on this dress had I not seen yours.
11/4/06 11:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Cute dress!
11/4/06 11:56 PM
Tall Mary said...
That style is very flattering on you. With your hair and skin coloring the dress color coordinates very well.
11/5/06 0:11 AM
AlisonF said...
Beautiful dress.. great work. Looks fantastic with the belt. I love this style.
11/5/06 3:52 AM
MissCelie said...
Alright. I have to get this at this weekend's sale. I've got some shirting I've been wanting to use and this looks ideal.
11/5/06 8:24 AM
Tiner W said...
Very becoming! I also liked your photo before reading that you weren't happy with it!
11/5/06 8:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. the dress looks great in a knit. Nice belt, too.
11/5/06 9:25 AM
BeckyC said...
The style and color of your dress are beautiful on you! What a great classic to have in your wardrobe.
11/5/06 9:39 AM
Sharon M said...
This dress looks very nice on you. I agree that the dresses on PR are *much* better than the ones on the cover of the pattern
11/5/06 9:40 AM
AnneM said...
The pattern pictures are not inspiring for me on this pattern. Your dress looks very nice!
11/5/06 11:50 AM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress. I also think it is very sexy. What is so sexy about it is that it is not revealing in the least, but oh so flattering.
11/5/06 12:19 PM
CraftyMary said...
Very nice! I've never owned a shirtdress, but seeing how flattering yours is makes me want to try that pattern.
11/5/06 12:49 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very nice! Looks like a comfortable dress too.
11/5/06 12:51 PM
Carolyndh said...
Christina, Very stylish! The fit of it looks just perfect on you. Nice work!
11/5/06 3:36 PM
lmg said...
Your dress looks better than the pattern photo. Great job.
11/5/06 4:06 PM
ACB said...
Love it!
11/5/06 6:01 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really great dress! (an who could say no to DK $13 wool?)
11/6/06 10:57 AM
Zaneta said...
I looked at this pattern and then marked it off, I have now put it back on my list..what a gorgeous dress..
11/7/06 5:42 AM
FeyFaerie said...
Your dress is FANTASTIC!!! You look great in it, too. Just a couple of questions (although your sewing alteration descriptions are very exact and helpful)... 1. I am very short waisted (13.5" back neck to waist measurement - otherwise, average propotions for my size, 5'4" 120lbs) - with the darts in front and back, do you believe this pattern would be high-waist alter-able? You mentioned using 2 sizes for top and bottom - Is the pattern constructed as 'top and bottom' or pannels? 2. Where did you get your AWESOME belt? It really 'makes' this dress (and is very trendy and versatile for the current fashion trends). I love how 'simple' it is (no embossing, fringe, studs, etc.), and appeard to be a great width (actually 'height'....). Thanks for the great review. And don't worry about the lighting - you look great!! The purple color is becoming on you, as well, and makes this a perfect day --> night outfit!
11/7/06 2:43 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's a great dress and looks marvelous on you!
11/7/06 5:13 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a classic dress, I love it! I have this pattern and was just looking at it last weekend thinking I need to make it (so many pattern so little time! LOL).
11/8/06 0:16 AM
Christina Sonja said...
FeyFaerie - Thanks for the compliments! The color is a nice, raisin purple under some lights, and just plain purple in other lights! As for your questions: (1) There is one long pattern piece for the dress front and another long pattern piece for the dress back. You could certainly shorten the neck to waist length by folding/pleating the pattern above the waist. You may need to fix the dart markings but that should be easy. I think darts are supposed to end at least 1 inch away from the bust point, if it's too close, you should shorten the dart a bit. (2) The belt is indeed great! I got it recently at Nordstrom Rack in Seattle (it is Nordstrom's outlet store).
11/8/06 1:10 PM
JaneH said...
Wow!! Great dress. I agree with Sew4Fun that your dress looks better than what is shown on the envelope.
11/16/06 12:32 PM
rubydarling said...
I just bought this pattern as shirt dresses seem to be making an understated comback in Melbourne (Australia). I couldn't work out what fabric to use as the pattern cover is less than elegant (why do they always do that?) but your dress has spurred my imagination. It looks elegant, classic and sexy all at the same time. Thanks for the inspiration!
4/2/07 4:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop eShrug

photo
by: jannw

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now