Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Onion: 1016 (Anorak) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1107 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/5/06 10:45 PM
Last Updated:7/5/07 4:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmg said...
Cute, cute, cute. I love the minky trim. Very stylish anorak indeed. Thanks for the tips on sizing.
11/5/06 10:51 PM
Karen said...
This looks like it has a nice shape. Is it as flattering on?
11/5/06 10:56 PM
Diane E said...
Yum. I wish I had one of these!
11/5/06 11:01 PM
drsue said...
Terrific!!! Where do you get minky fur trim??? Perfect for this anorak.
11/5/06 11:46 PM
Izzie said...
Drsue, I purchased minky yardage from fashionfabricsclub.com (I think) and then cut it into strips (2 inches wide for the hood and hem, and 1 inch for the piping). I find minky locally in most quilting shops. It worked great for binding since it is a knit and tends to curl to the wrong side.
11/5/06 11:54 PM
Shelia in Alaska said...
That jacket is really cute! I think you did a fabulous job making this. You've inspired me to pull out my pattern and try my hand at this.
11/6/06 2:16 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Stunning! Love the fur trim!
11/6/06 2:21 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
inspirational!
11/6/06 3:33 AM
berninafan said...
very nice trim- very stylish.
11/6/06 3:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking Anorak. Between your review and Irina's I am now going to buy this pattern. Lovely color!
11/6/06 5:34 AM
yorkshire lass said...
beautiful. Love the minky fur trim.
11/6/06 6:48 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking hoodie. You pulled it off. Thanks for the review.
11/6/06 7:28 AM
ACB said...
Lovely.
11/6/06 8:17 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a great version of this pattern. Guess I need to check out Onion patterns and the sources you mention.
11/6/06 9:55 AM
Sanibelle said...
Another winner from this pattern! I'll be trying this one soon, so thank you for recommending basting at the pivot point. Will do!
11/6/06 10:13 AM
AnneM said...
Nice anorak. I like your contrast trim.
11/6/06 11:07 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
it looks really cute and comfy!
11/6/06 12:31 PM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for the review. Your hoodie looks very nice. Thanks for the tips on sizing.
11/6/06 8:32 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your jacket is very unique and beautiful - great job!
11/7/06 11:56 PM
touran said...
This is one of my most favorite executions on pr.com. It's been on my must-copy-slavishly since you first reviewed it.
7/5/07 4:33 PM
khurtdvm said...
The photo link shows up as broken. :( And when I click on it anyway, it just takes me to the main page for photobucket, not to your photo.
7/5/07 5:01 PM
Izzie said...
well crud, it was working a minute ago....
7/5/07 5:48 PM
Izzie said...
okay, fixed it!
7/5/07 11:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5215
photo
Review by fourkid on 2/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4954
photo
Review by shanntarra on 2/25/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 1494 Pattern ( Size S-M-L-XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us