SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8274 (Handbags)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1353 times 
Reviewed by:Sue H
photo

 
 
About Sue H
AB CANADA
Member since: 4/30/04
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/06 11:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gaz-mom said...
thank you for this review! I just bought this pattern to make this exact bag. I had thought the instructions were a bit sparse, reading through it.
11/8/06 0:11 AM
AndSewOn said...
This is cute, and you did a really nice job. It's too bad the instructions weren't the greatest. I just hope the handbag redeems itself with use.
11/8/06 1:04 AM
Penny Carlson said...
In spite of issues, you did a great job. Now I've made View A from this baby twice, and highly recommend it. My college-age daughter stole the first one...it's got all these pockets in the front for stuff you want to be able to grab, and plenty of space inside for the stuff you don't want anyone else to be able to grab.
11/8/06 8:40 AM
Linda E. said...
very cute.. I like you bag..
11/8/06 9:04 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking bag. I just looked at this pattern, considering Vew A, but still debating. Thanks for a good review.
11/8/06 9:12 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I think it's wonderful! Looks very professionally made. I would not have given this pattern a second glance without your reivew! Love your choice of fabric.
11/8/06 9:55 AM
Sew it seams said...
Love your bag. You did a really nice job on it and I love the zippers you used. I'm thinking of making bags for gifts this Christmas, so thank you for reviewing this one. Do the zippers open into the same compartment or are they different?
11/8/06 10:38 AM
BARBARA J said...
Love, love, love the bag, and especially the fabric! I must make it! Would you mind sharing where you found the fabric?
11/8/06 10:58 AM
ACB said...
Thanks for the review, I purchased this pattern during the summer along with a piece of silk duppioni, which I have misplaced. Despite of the poor drafting instructions your bag is gorgeous.
11/8/06 5:04 PM
Sue H said...
Thank you all for your comments. The feedback is great. To answer Barbara J's question, I purchased the fabric at Fabricland which is a western Canadian chain fabric store. It is Liz Clairbourne home dec so should be able to be found in the USA. Although I bought it in August in Edmonton, I saw it here in the local store in Red Deer just the other day.
11/9/06 0:40 AM
belphebe said...
Thanks for the review. I pulled out the pattern this morning and am debating between View C and View A. I saw that fabric at Fabricland this past weekend but didn't pick any up. I think I'll get it now, because it will be fabulous for the purse.
7/5/07 12:37 PM
tatterbat said...
I wouldn't have thought of looking in the Home Dec area for handbag fabric. (Why didn't I think of that!) Great idea!
6/8/08 11:32 PM
jillesta said...
I just finished this bag and you are right the directions are terrible. I started it once give up , tore it apart to save the zippers. I decided to give it one more go so started over with new fabric. I got to the piont where I had all these layers to put together and couldn't figure out the directions and put it aside. About a month later I pulled it out, ignored the directions and worked it through logically. It ended up looking great but I don't think I am going to make another any time soon!
6/11/08 2:00 PM
quiltingcafe said...
I have also put this away and taken it out again. Tomorrow is Christmas Eve and I have to finish it. I like what Jill esta said...I am now going to just do it my own way...never again with a vogue.
12/23/08 10:16 AM
KathleenA said...
Thank you for this review and all of your comments. I believe I will love the bag when finished, but the directions are terrible. I think there may be errors. Now I will forget the directions and put it together with my own logic!
1/10/11 9:14 PM
courage said...
I paid 29 $$ because I thought Sue would actually tell me how to put this bag together. Lesson learned.
2/25/11 0:35 AM
obsessed with sewing said...
Wow, your bag is beautiful - really professional workmanship. I have this pattern and may take a "second" look at it after seeing how great yours turned out!
1/26/12 11:41 AM
kerrymay said...
I made this view too and I agree that the instructions are not clear - there was no mention of the fact that the same steps had to be repeated for both sides
6/10/12 10:29 AM
bellacricket said...
I have been reluctant to start this pattern. I made view A without a lot of trouble, but View C has me completly stumped. I keep re-reading the instructions and still don't get it. Your statement about raw seams showing cleared a lot of things up. Vogue always seems to turn something relatively simple into a complex endeavor.
10/1/13 1:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5639

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
McCall's 5591

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now