SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4112 (Built by Wendy shirt)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1432 times 
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo

 
 
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/06 9:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ec said...
Sooo cute and sassy! I think it's the puff sleeves that make everyone's torso seem 'slimmer' it's a wonderful trick of the eye... but honey, you're slim already!!
11/23/06 9:36 PM
*Jessica* said...
omg this turned out so cute ! i love it
11/12/06 3:59 PM
lmg said...
Another great version of this pattern! Love the fabric and your smile says it all!
11/9/06 11:02 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is beautiful! I love your DH's comment, he's definitely VERY smart! LOL I think you look fantastic in your top too! :-)
11/9/06 9:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute, and your DH is definitely a keeper!
11/9/06 5:26 PM
KiwiWendy said...
love this pattern more every time I see it ... and it looks great with different types of fabrics.
11/9/06 4:53 PM
AuntieShel said...
Love your blouse!! Adorable.
11/9/06 3:11 PM
drsue said...
What a nice shirt you turned out!! I haven't found this line of patterns inspiring but some of the actually made up items are starting to inspire me.
11/9/06 12:48 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
This is beautiful.
11/9/06 10:45 AM
Mini said...
It's funny how this pattern looks so good on everyone who has has reviewed it. This time it's sort of romantic looking-and very flattering. I think it would make a good dress. The trick to lengthening a blouse-to-dress is to get the walking ease right. You could give the dress a bit of an a-line at the side seams, or use side slits or a back seam with a vent. Or, just leave the bottom buttons open for a sexy look:). Comparing a skirt on a finished shirt dress will help establish the hemline width you need for comfortable walking ease.
11/9/06 10:42 AM
Erica B. said...
love this top... great job!
11/9/06 10:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is adorable. I've looked at this before and thought "cute" but now I think I might need to accumulate the pattern. Beautiful job. And Karla, I think it would make a fine shirtwaist dress.
11/9/06 9:59 AM
OP Gal said...
You look great in your blouse. Fabulous Job!
11/9/06 7:40 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another great use of this pattern! Your revised collar looks just fine.
11/9/06 7:29 AM
motomoda said...
I think it looks great with your 'mandarin' collar! Yu have done agreat job and it looks really good on you. Make some more!!
11/9/06 5:22 AM
motomoda said...
I think it looks great with your 'mandarin' collar! You have done a great job and it looks really good on you. Make some more!!
11/9/06 5:22 AM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely blouse and gorgeous you :) I like the front opening and would never have guessed you used some creativeness to remedy a little glitch. Thanks for sharing with us :)
11/9/06 4:54 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic looking. Great job.
11/9/06 0:01 AM
Stacy Sews said...
This pattern is great, I've loved every version that I've seen and yours is no exception. It looks great on you.
11/9/06 0:00 AM
hongkongshopper said...
You don't look thin - you look gorgeous! Great job. Don't roll hem by hand (you would be there forever!), how about the roll hem foot on your sewing machine?
11/8/06 11:50 PM
sewbehind said...
I agree with your husband. You look thin. Wonderful shirt. Great job. I may have to pick up that pattern.
11/8/06 10:33 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Nice fabric. The blouse looks great on you!
11/8/06 10:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Really cute! I think DD would enjoy this one. Need an opinion. Do you think it could be lengthened into a presentable shirtwaist dress?
11/8/06 9:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-128

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-116

photo
by: liliv

Review