SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4112 (Built by Wendy shirt)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1432 times 
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo

 
 
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/06 9:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Really cute! I think DD would enjoy this one. Need an opinion. Do you think it could be lengthened into a presentable shirtwaist dress?
11/8/06 9:26 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Nice fabric. The blouse looks great on you!
11/8/06 10:33 PM
sewbehind said...
I agree with your husband. You look thin. Wonderful shirt. Great job. I may have to pick up that pattern.
11/8/06 10:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
You don't look thin - you look gorgeous! Great job. Don't roll hem by hand (you would be there forever!), how about the roll hem foot on your sewing machine?
11/8/06 11:50 PM
Stacy Sews said...
This pattern is great, I've loved every version that I've seen and yours is no exception. It looks great on you.
11/9/06 0:00 AM
Lori V said...
Fantastic looking. Great job.
11/9/06 0:01 AM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely blouse and gorgeous you :) I like the front opening and would never have guessed you used some creativeness to remedy a little glitch. Thanks for sharing with us :)
11/9/06 4:54 AM
motomoda said...
I think it looks great with your 'mandarin' collar! You have done a great job and it looks really good on you. Make some more!!
11/9/06 5:22 AM
motomoda said...
I think it looks great with your 'mandarin' collar! Yu have done agreat job and it looks really good on you. Make some more!!
11/9/06 5:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Another great use of this pattern! Your revised collar looks just fine.
11/9/06 7:29 AM
OP Gal said...
You look great in your blouse. Fabulous Job!
11/9/06 7:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
This is adorable. I've looked at this before and thought "cute" but now I think I might need to accumulate the pattern. Beautiful job. And Karla, I think it would make a fine shirtwaist dress.
11/9/06 9:59 AM
Erica B. said...
love this top... great job!
11/9/06 10:40 AM
Mini said...
It's funny how this pattern looks so good on everyone who has has reviewed it. This time it's sort of romantic looking-and very flattering. I think it would make a good dress. The trick to lengthening a blouse-to-dress is to get the walking ease right. You could give the dress a bit of an a-line at the side seams, or use side slits or a back seam with a vent. Or, just leave the bottom buttons open for a sexy look:). Comparing a skirt on a finished shirt dress will help establish the hemline width you need for comfortable walking ease.
11/9/06 10:42 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
This is beautiful.
11/9/06 10:45 AM
drsue said...
What a nice shirt you turned out!! I haven't found this line of patterns inspiring but some of the actually made up items are starting to inspire me.
11/9/06 12:48 PM
AuntieShel said...
Love your blouse!! Adorable.
11/9/06 3:11 PM
KiwiWendy said...
love this pattern more every time I see it ... and it looks great with different types of fabrics.
11/9/06 4:53 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cute, and your DH is definitely a keeper!
11/9/06 5:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is beautiful! I love your DH's comment, he's definitely VERY smart! LOL I think you look fantastic in your top too! :-)
11/9/06 9:49 PM
lmg said...
Another great version of this pattern! Love the fabric and your smile says it all!
11/9/06 11:02 PM
*Jessica* said...
omg this turned out so cute ! i love it
11/12/06 3:59 PM
Ec said...
Sooo cute and sassy! I think it's the puff sleeves that make everyone's torso seem 'slimmer' it's a wonderful trick of the eye... but honey, you're slim already!!
11/23/06 9:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: DorothyK

Review
Manequim Magazine 04-2012-216

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now