Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB011MA (Madison Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1514 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:JulieT
photo
Friend of PR
About JulieT
AR USA
Member since: 4/6/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/06 11:05 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Your purse looks great, Julie!
11/8/06 11:19 PM
Nancywin said...
I really like your bag! I have this pattern, but yours looks so much nicer - now I am inspired!
11/8/06 11:29 PM
Lori V said...
Julie, what a wonderful bag.
11/9/06 0:04 AM
Reggies Mom said...
Julie, so professional. I love the "surprise" lining....how cool is that! Nice job.
11/9/06 0:35 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Julie, that's a glorious bag.
11/9/06 3:27 AM
Loreli said...
A very nice bag Julie. Very neat!
11/9/06 3:59 AM
motomoda said...
Wow - this looks way better better than a store bought bag! I haven't made any bags yet myself but you have inspired me to give it a go! Agree that the striped lining is a great idea.
11/9/06 5:27 AM
OP Gal said...
I like yours better than the ones in the pictures. Great job on a good-looking bag.
11/9/06 7:35 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Looks Great - very cute :-)
11/9/06 8:06 AM
Deepika said...
wow! Love that bag. I even like it more than the one on the pattern envelope. I think I might have to "steal" your idea of a flap and a shoulder strap. Too good! Thanks for your review.
11/9/06 9:35 AM
patsijean said...
This is a nice take on Amy Butler bags, which often seem to casual to me. I like your bag very much.
11/9/06 10:14 AM
JulieT said...
Thank you all for such nice comments! I do think the home dec fabric and the stiffening with peltex brought it up a notch above casual to a little more sophisticated! I can't wait to get a go at making the short handled one for myself! Too many projects on the table..lol
11/9/06 12:00 PM
happy2btara said...
Nice job Julie, This pattern is on my list to buy. I have a couple by Amy B. I need to get busy and make them. Cant wait!
11/9/06 12:24 PM
Dale C said...
Nice bag! I haven't sewn many bags and haven't heard of peltex. I'll have to check that out.
11/9/06 1:44 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a cute bag!!
11/9/06 3:09 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great bag - thanks for the extra pix.
11/9/06 4:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great looking bag. When I made a bag, I also opted to sew the strap into the seam allowance for a cleaner look. Is peltex similar to fusible fleece? Your bag looks nice and firm. (I used FF to add body to my bag.)
11/9/06 5:38 PM
Diane E said...
Now that is one fine looking handbag!
11/9/06 9:47 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome bag!!!
11/9/06 9:56 PM
gaz-mom said...
that's a beautiful bag! hard to believe it's the same pattern.
11/9/06 11:25 PM
Tesla121 said...
Great looking bag and I love the colorful lining!
11/12/06 2:55 PM
sadamson said...
This is a terrific bag, and you sewed it so well! I think using the peltex was a great idea, and so was adding the flap. I am So going to make this bag!
12/6/07 5:59 PM
Jasmine54 said...
Great looking handbag!
3/29/08 7:20 PM
wendydarby said...
Gorgeous bag - love the colors. Well done!
11/2/08 5:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by suliabryon on 7/22/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Baby Couture - headband
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/31/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3915 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3915 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3819 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3819 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us