SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB011MA (Madison Bags)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1515 times 
Reviewed by:JulieT
photo

 
 
About JulieT
AR USA
Member since: 4/6/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/8/06 11:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendydarby said...
Gorgeous bag - love the colors. Well done!
11/2/08 5:21 PM
Jasmine54 said...
Great looking handbag!
3/29/08 7:20 PM
sadamson said...
This is a terrific bag, and you sewed it so well! I think using the peltex was a great idea, and so was adding the flap. I am So going to make this bag!
12/6/07 5:59 PM
Tesla121 said...
Great looking bag and I love the colorful lining!
11/12/06 2:55 PM
gaz-mom said...
that's a beautiful bag! hard to believe it's the same pattern.
11/9/06 11:25 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome bag!!!
11/9/06 9:56 PM
Diane E said...
Now that is one fine looking handbag!
11/9/06 9:47 PM
JDpenelope said...
Great looking bag. When I made a bag, I also opted to sew the strap into the seam allowance for a cleaner look. Is peltex similar to fusible fleece? Your bag looks nice and firm. (I used FF to add body to my bag.)
11/9/06 5:38 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great bag - thanks for the extra pix.
11/9/06 4:45 PM
AuntieShel said...
What a cute bag!!
11/9/06 3:09 PM
Dale C said...
Nice bag! I haven't sewn many bags and haven't heard of peltex. I'll have to check that out.
11/9/06 1:44 PM
happy2btara said...
Nice job Julie, This pattern is on my list to buy. I have a couple by Amy B. I need to get busy and make them. Cant wait!
11/9/06 12:24 PM
JulieT said...
Thank you all for such nice comments! I do think the home dec fabric and the stiffening with peltex brought it up a notch above casual to a little more sophisticated! I can't wait to get a go at making the short handled one for myself! Too many projects on the table..lol
11/9/06 12:00 PM
patsijean said...
This is a nice take on Amy Butler bags, which often seem to casual to me. I like your bag very much.
11/9/06 10:14 AM
Deepika said...
wow! Love that bag. I even like it more than the one on the pattern envelope. I think I might have to "steal" your idea of a flap and a shoulder strap. Too good! Thanks for your review.
11/9/06 9:35 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Looks Great - very cute :-)
11/9/06 8:06 AM
OP Gal said...
I like yours better than the ones in the pictures. Great job on a good-looking bag.
11/9/06 7:35 AM
motomoda said...
Wow - this looks way better better than a store bought bag! I haven't made any bags yet myself but you have inspired me to give it a go! Agree that the striped lining is a great idea.
11/9/06 5:27 AM
Loreli said...
A very nice bag Julie. Very neat!
11/9/06 3:59 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Julie, that's a glorious bag.
11/9/06 3:27 AM
Reggies Mom said...
Julie, so professional. I love the "surprise" lining....how cool is that! Nice job.
11/9/06 0:35 AM
Lori V said...
Julie, what a wonderful bag.
11/9/06 0:04 AM
Nancywin said...
I really like your bag! I have this pattern, but yours looks so much nicer - now I am inspired!
11/8/06 11:29 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your purse looks great, Julie!
11/8/06 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6111

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Butterick 5613

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now