SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Material Things> 108 (Fearless Fitted Jacket & Vest)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1181 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/06 11:10 PM
Last Updated:11/10/06 0:53 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmg said...
I just bought this pattern. Thanks for posting this....it sounds very promising. Can't wait to see the finished jacket!
11/9/06 11:25 PM
PVA said...
Nancy, I love this pattern, thanks so much for the review! I really appreciate knowing where the difficulties were. I'm really determined to make the vest 1st. It looks like it would be very flattering!
11/9/06 11:59 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Nancy, this is a very thorough review for a jacket pattern. I have never seen this pattern before. It does look like that it would fit beautifully. Thank you for taking the time to write this. Someday I may be ready to make one! Carla
11/10/06 0:26 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Thank you Nancy, it's just what I needed to know about the pattern. I ordered it yesterday and hope that it's as successfull for me. (I'm closer to the other end of the pattern sizes)
11/10/06 0:31 AM
moss said...
When you say "double" princess seams, do you mean princess seams in the front and the back?
11/10/06 8:05 AM
carolynw said...
Thanks for such a thorough review - hope to see a picture soon!! Kiwi Wendy do post your review as I am likely in the same size range as you and woudl like to know how it fits a larger size person.
11/10/06 8:08 AM
nancy2001 said...
Moss, the pattern has a total of eight princss seams. There are four princess seams in the front and four in the back. In the front, there is a princess seam over the bustline and another princess seam about three inches (on the size 2) from the first. The second princess seam belongs to the side panel. Please see the pattern photo at the top of this page for an illustration that clearly shows the seams on the front of this jacket.
11/10/06 8:30 AM
Rustybobn said...
Can't wait to see the finished jacket! I love the line drawing.
11/10/06 8:35 AM
moss said...
Oh I get it, thanks so much for the explanation.
11/10/06 11:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Nancy, You have a lot of talent and instinctive ability to have just the right knack for how to design, alter pattern pieces and can obviously see the "big picture" well. You are really doing well!
11/11/06 7:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
I'd like to thank all of you for your kind comments. I enjoyed working on the muslin and writing this review (my first), and I hope to update it soon with my report about the real jacket.
11/11/06 11:01 PM
AnneM said...
Nice pattern; I haven't really looked at that line. Glad you did the review. Please update when it is done (with a picture if possible).
11/13/06 1:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 3503

photo
by: cahmad

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review