SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (crossover top)

80 more reviews
Viewed 1975 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:11/9/06 10:18 PM
Last Updated:8/15/08 11:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Instant gratification=instant beauty. It looks great and I love your fabric.
11/9/06 10:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
Kay, I struggled with the "pulling" problem, too, but finally fixed it. What I had to do is cut a curve into the front edges. I took out 2" on each side! It's hard to explain, but started the curve from the original place at the shoulder, curved in 2" and then back out to the original spot on the other side. Imagine the front band attached farther into the front across the chest (I don't know if that makes any sense) I can tell from your picture that you have the same problem, I had. There is just too much fabric across the chest. I thought I must have the strangest shape ever to have to make that adjustment, but have struggled with the same problem with all of the wrap tops I have tried and that fixed it. I wore my Jalie top today and thought I could have moved the band over even a bit more. Let me know if this makes no sense and I'll see if I can explain it better. Try it by putting the band up over your bust to see how it would look if the fabric crossed over more, you'll see the lines go away. HTH
11/10/06 0:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fix suggestion jemgirlca. I have not made this top but my first thought was you need to add a smooch more SA at the hip area on front piece. I have a similar problem with a Vogue pattern. So may want to try jemgirlca recommendation. Nice fitting top, Kay.
11/10/06 5:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good job, Kay. I've worn the one I made only a few times because I have a terrible time with the front gaping when I wear it. Maybe jemgirlca's fix would help that problem too.
11/10/06 6:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very pretty top, and though I can see the pull, it's not very objectionable, in my opinion, and I doubt that many people would notice. In addition to the suggestions already given, I wonder if a more lightweight and stretchier fabric might also help.
11/10/06 8:54 AM
Liana said...
This is very nice on you, and I could see this in a luxury knit with some of your lovely suits.
11/10/06 11:03 AM
stitchwitch said...
What a lovely top Kay! I too have had the pulls at the side where the bands go in to the side seam. I tried doing an FBA to reduce any pulling but to no avail - still don't know the way round this one. Seems difficult to solve - you need the front bands to be snug enough to stop gaping but not too tight that they pull at the side.
11/10/06 11:08 AM
Erica B. said...
Love the top!
11/10/06 3:10 PM
ACB said...
Very pretty top.
11/10/06 3:15 PM
edube said...
I had the same problem with the pull on my top, which was a good quality c/l from EOS with a slightly "beefy" weight. I was hoping it might not be as much of a problem with a lighter weight. Incidentally, I also made one up in a size 3 for my dgd. Although she is no more active than the average kid, I found the design to be quite impractical for a child, although it was cute on her. She had a hard time getting in and out of it and the "gap" part was always falling open. So even though it's available for a child, I wouldn't recommend it.
11/10/06 6:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful top and so easily made so you say!
11/10/06 7:09 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Great top Kay!! I love this pattern too for the same reason--instant gratification--and have gotten more positive comments on this than on any thing else I wear. Thanks for sharing. Carla
11/10/06 11:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
It's a very smart look, Kay, and both the fabric and the pattern give it a distinctive stylishness. I like it!
8/15/08 10:52 PM
Dee2 said...
What great tops! Both are very pretty & the fit looks perfect too.
8/15/08 10:52 PM
Re Becca said...
e careful, knit-top instant gratification can be addictive. This looks great on you! I may have to get this one too.
8/15/08 10:53 PM
knitlitcamper said...
great top! & it looks fantastic on you! I have a similar pattern from Vogue in my stash, I think I will try it after seeing your great top!
8/15/08 11:28 PM
SansSouci572 said...
That turned out great!!
8/15/08 11:49 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Both tops are beautiful.
8/15/08 11:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking tops and love your fabrics. I guess I'll have to give this pattern a try and will keep this in my favorites to review the fitting problems, just in case!
8/16/08 8:12 AM
shesflipped said...
This looks great on you! Great fabric, too! I made this top last winter~I may need to pull it out again...I really like the look of doing the binding in the same fabric as the shirt.
8/16/08 8:19 AM
Lori V said...
This is so cute, I need to make it again.
8/16/08 8:38 AM
Amanda S. said...
I love this top! Nice fabric choice, too.
8/16/08 9:45 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for reminding me about this pattern! Now that I see your pic it looks JUST like an Ann Taylor top I bought deeply discounted on sale recently....now I must make a few more. I have the pattern and like you.....what am I waiting for?? Thanks again
8/16/08 10:11 AM
sewtime said...
Instant gratification, and I see why! You look great in your new top!
8/16/08 3:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, if your yellow one was a wearable muslin from 2006, then it was WAY wearable. :o)) What a fantastic top this is. You look GREAT in it, and black and white will never go out of style.
8/17/08 0:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking top. How ingenious to shorten the left front hem by only 2.5 cm so you can catch only one layer in the hem. I must try that next time.
8/17/08 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: Steph A

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-120

photo
by: wexford

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now