SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (crossover top)

81 more reviews
Viewed 1978 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:11/9/06 10:18 PM
Last Updated:8/15/08 11:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
Great looking top. How ingenious to shorten the left front hem by only 2.5 cm so you can catch only one layer in the hem. I must try that next time.
8/17/08 10:32 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, if your yellow one was a wearable muslin from 2006, then it was WAY wearable. :o)) What a fantastic top this is. You look GREAT in it, and black and white will never go out of style.
8/17/08 0:55 AM
sewtime said...
Instant gratification, and I see why! You look great in your new top!
8/16/08 3:15 PM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for reminding me about this pattern! Now that I see your pic it looks JUST like an Ann Taylor top I bought deeply discounted on sale recently....now I must make a few more. I have the pattern and like you.....what am I waiting for?? Thanks again
8/16/08 10:11 AM
Amanda S. said...
I love this top! Nice fabric choice, too.
8/16/08 9:45 AM
Lori V said...
This is so cute, I need to make it again.
8/16/08 8:38 AM
shesflipped said...
This looks great on you! Great fabric, too! I made this top last winter~I may need to pull it out again...I really like the look of doing the binding in the same fabric as the shirt.
8/16/08 8:19 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking tops and love your fabrics. I guess I'll have to give this pattern a try and will keep this in my favorites to review the fitting problems, just in case!
8/16/08 8:12 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Both tops are beautiful.
8/15/08 11:54 PM
SansSouci572 said...
That turned out great!!
8/15/08 11:49 PM
knitlitcamper said...
great top! & it looks fantastic on you! I have a similar pattern from Vogue in my stash, I think I will try it after seeing your great top!
8/15/08 11:28 PM
Re Becca said...
e careful, knit-top instant gratification can be addictive. This looks great on you! I may have to get this one too.
8/15/08 10:53 PM
Dee2 said...
What great tops! Both are very pretty & the fit looks perfect too.
8/15/08 10:52 PM
Karen8320 said...
It's a very smart look, Kay, and both the fabric and the pattern give it a distinctive stylishness. I like it!
8/15/08 10:52 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Great top Kay!! I love this pattern too for the same reason--instant gratification--and have gotten more positive comments on this than on any thing else I wear. Thanks for sharing. Carla
11/10/06 11:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful top and so easily made so you say!
11/10/06 7:09 PM
edube said...
I had the same problem with the pull on my top, which was a good quality c/l from EOS with a slightly "beefy" weight. I was hoping it might not be as much of a problem with a lighter weight. Incidentally, I also made one up in a size 3 for my dgd. Although she is no more active than the average kid, I found the design to be quite impractical for a child, although it was cute on her. She had a hard time getting in and out of it and the "gap" part was always falling open. So even though it's available for a child, I wouldn't recommend it.
11/10/06 6:16 PM
ACB said...
Very pretty top.
11/10/06 3:15 PM
Erica B. said...
Love the top!
11/10/06 3:10 PM
stitchwitch said...
What a lovely top Kay! I too have had the pulls at the side where the bands go in to the side seam. I tried doing an FBA to reduce any pulling but to no avail - still don't know the way round this one. Seems difficult to solve - you need the front bands to be snug enough to stop gaping but not too tight that they pull at the side.
11/10/06 11:08 AM
Liana said...
This is very nice on you, and I could see this in a luxury knit with some of your lovely suits.
11/10/06 11:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very pretty top, and though I can see the pull, it's not very objectionable, in my opinion, and I doubt that many people would notice. In addition to the suggestions already given, I wonder if a more lightweight and stretchier fabric might also help.
11/10/06 8:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good job, Kay. I've worn the one I made only a few times because I have a terrible time with the front gaping when I wear it. Maybe jemgirlca's fix would help that problem too.
11/10/06 6:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fix suggestion jemgirlca. I have not made this top but my first thought was you need to add a smooch more SA at the hip area on front piece. I have a similar problem with a Vogue pattern. So may want to try jemgirlca recommendation. Nice fitting top, Kay.
11/10/06 5:26 AM
jemgirlca said...
Kay, I struggled with the "pulling" problem, too, but finally fixed it. What I had to do is cut a curve into the front edges. I took out 2" on each side! It's hard to explain, but started the curve from the original place at the shoulder, curved in 2" and then back out to the original spot on the other side. Imagine the front band attached farther into the front across the chest (I don't know if that makes any sense) I can tell from your picture that you have the same problem, I had. There is just too much fabric across the chest. I thought I must have the strangest shape ever to have to make that adjustment, but have struggled with the same problem with all of the wrap tops I have tried and that fixed it. I wore my Jalie top today and thought I could have moved the band over even a bit more. Let me know if this makes no sense and I'll see if I can explain it better. Try it by putting the band up over your bust to see how it would look if the fabric crossed over more, you'll see the lines go away. HTH
11/10/06 0:45 AM
Donna H said...
Instant gratification=instant beauty. It looks great and I love your fabric.
11/9/06 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-7

photo
by: jent

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5061

photo
by: sewinfranc...

Review