Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2449 (crossover top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1968 times 77 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:11/9/06 10:18 PM
Last Updated:8/15/08 11:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Instant gratification=instant beauty. It looks great and I love your fabric.
11/9/06 10:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
Kay, I struggled with the "pulling" problem, too, but finally fixed it. What I had to do is cut a curve into the front edges. I took out 2" on each side! It's hard to explain, but started the curve from the original place at the shoulder, curved in 2" and then back out to the original spot on the other side. Imagine the front band attached farther into the front across the chest (I don't know if that makes any sense) I can tell from your picture that you have the same problem, I had. There is just too much fabric across the chest. I thought I must have the strangest shape ever to have to make that adjustment, but have struggled with the same problem with all of the wrap tops I have tried and that fixed it. I wore my Jalie top today and thought I could have moved the band over even a bit more. Let me know if this makes no sense and I'll see if I can explain it better. Try it by putting the band up over your bust to see how it would look if the fabric crossed over more, you'll see the lines go away. HTH
11/10/06 0:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting fix suggestion jemgirlca. I have not made this top but my first thought was you need to add a smooch more SA at the hip area on front piece. I have a similar problem with a Vogue pattern. So may want to try jemgirlca recommendation. Nice fitting top, Kay.
11/10/06 5:26 AM
CarolynGM said...
Good job, Kay. I've worn the one I made only a few times because I have a terrible time with the front gaping when I wear it. Maybe jemgirlca's fix would help that problem too.
11/10/06 6:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very pretty top, and though I can see the pull, it's not very objectionable, in my opinion, and I doubt that many people would notice. In addition to the suggestions already given, I wonder if a more lightweight and stretchier fabric might also help.
11/10/06 8:54 AM
Liana said...
This is very nice on you, and I could see this in a luxury knit with some of your lovely suits.
11/10/06 11:03 AM
stitchwitch said...
What a lovely top Kay! I too have had the pulls at the side where the bands go in to the side seam. I tried doing an FBA to reduce any pulling but to no avail - still don't know the way round this one. Seems difficult to solve - you need the front bands to be snug enough to stop gaping but not too tight that they pull at the side.
11/10/06 11:08 AM
Erica B. said...
Love the top!
11/10/06 3:10 PM
ACB said...
Very pretty top.
11/10/06 3:15 PM
edube said...
I had the same problem with the pull on my top, which was a good quality c/l from EOS with a slightly "beefy" weight. I was hoping it might not be as much of a problem with a lighter weight. Incidentally, I also made one up in a size 3 for my dgd. Although she is no more active than the average kid, I found the design to be quite impractical for a child, although it was cute on her. She had a hard time getting in and out of it and the "gap" part was always falling open. So even though it's available for a child, I wouldn't recommend it.
11/10/06 6:16 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful top and so easily made so you say!
11/10/06 7:09 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Great top Kay!! I love this pattern too for the same reason--instant gratification--and have gotten more positive comments on this than on any thing else I wear. Thanks for sharing. Carla
11/10/06 11:41 PM
Karen8320 said...
It's a very smart look, Kay, and both the fabric and the pattern give it a distinctive stylishness. I like it!
8/15/08 10:52 PM
Dee2 said...
What great tops! Both are very pretty & the fit looks perfect too.
8/15/08 10:52 PM
Re Becca said...
e careful, knit-top instant gratification can be addictive. This looks great on you! I may have to get this one too.
8/15/08 10:53 PM
knitlitcamper said...
great top! & it looks fantastic on you! I have a similar pattern from Vogue in my stash, I think I will try it after seeing your great top!
8/15/08 11:28 PM
SansSouci572 said...
That turned out great!!
8/15/08 11:49 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Both tops are beautiful.
8/15/08 11:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking tops and love your fabrics. I guess I'll have to give this pattern a try and will keep this in my favorites to review the fitting problems, just in case!
8/16/08 8:12 AM
shesflipped said...
This looks great on you! Great fabric, too! I made this top last winter~I may need to pull it out again...I really like the look of doing the binding in the same fabric as the shirt.
8/16/08 8:19 AM
Lori V said...
This is so cute, I need to make it again.
8/16/08 8:38 AM
Amanda S. said...
I love this top! Nice fabric choice, too.
8/16/08 9:45 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for reminding me about this pattern! Now that I see your pic it looks JUST like an Ann Taylor top I bought deeply discounted on sale recently....now I must make a few more. I have the pattern and like you.....what am I waiting for?? Thanks again
8/16/08 10:11 AM
sewtime said...
Instant gratification, and I see why! You look great in your new top!
8/16/08 3:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, if your yellow one was a wearable muslin from 2006, then it was WAY wearable. :o)) What a fantastic top this is. You look GREAT in it, and black and white will never go out of style.
8/17/08 0:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking top. How ingenious to shorten the left front hem by only 2.5 cm so you can catch only one layer in the hem. I must try that next time.
8/17/08 10:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 5520 Knight Costume
photo
Review by migander on 11/6/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other MailOrder705
photo
Review by Andreahg on 7/8/10
Read Review

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us