SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1632 times 
Reviewed by:VintageRose
photo

 
 
About VintageRose
NY USA
Member since: 10/7/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/06 3:08 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bindu1 said...
I bet the dress is gorgeous - I have just ordered this pattern- I didn't buy it last year when it was in the stores and it had been in the back of my mind. Well let me tell you, I think it comes really close to the Issa Dress that Kate Middleton wore for her Royal Engagement last last year. I understand what you mean by simplifying the bodice pieces - and how because you maybe cut the front on the fold you didn't allow for the seam that should have been there hence it was a little too wode for you - thanks for that warning! I think that unless that middle seam shapes the bodice in any way, I agree it is probably not necessary... I cannot wait to sew this up for summer! Please post photos
1/31/11 10:05 PM
MissCelie said...
I just picked this up, I'd love to see a photo
12/9/06 5:15 PM
Stephanie C. said...
I'm making this next week for my dd's Winter Ball. I'd love to see how yours turned out. I plan to follow the pattern, as I'm not good with making adjustments.
11/23/06 3:12 AM
vespabelle said...
What do you mean by using only two bodice pieces? did you cut the front bodice on a fold? or did you eliminate the facing pieces?
11/16/06 5:55 PM
SBanks said...
Great! I just bought this one. I'd love to see a picture of yours!
11/15/06 6:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Can't wait to see the pictures. Sizing up 2 sizes is quite an accomplishment in my book. Congratulations and thanks for the review.
11/15/06 4:45 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
wow! I want to see the picture!!
11/15/06 9:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Good first review. Very helpful information. Can't wait to see your dress. I love these vintage looks.
11/15/06 5:19 AM
vespabelle said...
I'm going to start making this in a few days. I can't to see what your dress looks like.
11/14/06 8:36 PM
ACB said...
Wow, sounds lovely!
11/14/06 6:53 PM
JulieT said...
I'm a sucker for circle skirts too! Can't wait to see photo's.
11/14/06 9:23 AM
mastdenman said...
Waiting patiently for photos. This sounds interesting. DD likes vintage dresses.
11/14/06 9:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

StyleArc Melissa Blouse

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info