Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1627 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:VintageRose
photo
About VintageRose
NY USA
Member since: 10/7/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/06 3:08 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Waiting patiently for photos. This sounds interesting. DD likes vintage dresses.
11/14/06 9:11 AM
JulieT said...
I'm a sucker for circle skirts too! Can't wait to see photo's.
11/14/06 9:23 AM
ACB said...
Wow, sounds lovely!
11/14/06 6:53 PM
vespabelle said...
I'm going to start making this in a few days. I can't to see what your dress looks like.
11/14/06 8:36 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Good first review. Very helpful information. Can't wait to see your dress. I love these vintage looks.
11/15/06 5:19 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
wow! I want to see the picture!!
11/15/06 9:26 AM
OP Gal said...
Can't wait to see the pictures. Sizing up 2 sizes is quite an accomplishment in my book. Congratulations and thanks for the review.
11/15/06 4:45 PM
SBanks said...
Great! I just bought this one. I'd love to see a picture of yours!
11/15/06 6:09 PM
vespabelle said...
What do you mean by using only two bodice pieces? did you cut the front bodice on a fold? or did you eliminate the facing pieces?
11/16/06 5:55 PM
Stephanie C. said...
I'm making this next week for my dd's Winter Ball. I'd love to see how yours turned out. I plan to follow the pattern, as I'm not good with making adjustments.
11/23/06 3:12 AM
MissCelie said...
I just picked this up, I'd love to see a photo
12/9/06 5:15 PM
bindu1 said...
I bet the dress is gorgeous - I have just ordered this pattern- I didn't buy it last year when it was in the stores and it had been in the back of my mind. Well let me tell you, I think it comes really close to the Issa Dress that Kate Middleton wore for her Royal Engagement last last year. I understand what you mean by simplifying the bodice pieces - and how because you maybe cut the front on the fold you didn't allow for the seam that should have been there hence it was a little too wode for you - thanks for that warning! I think that unless that middle seam shapes the bodice in any way, I agree it is probably not necessary... I cannot wait to sew this up for summer! Please post photos
1/31/11 10:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8750 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 10/3/11
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2794 Sweetheart Top
photo
Review by kathigarn on 9/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6970 Pattern
Burda 6970 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.92
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us