SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1631 times 
Reviewed by:VintageRose
photo

 
 
About VintageRose
NY USA
Member since: 10/7/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/06 3:08 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bindu1 said...
I bet the dress is gorgeous - I have just ordered this pattern- I didn't buy it last year when it was in the stores and it had been in the back of my mind. Well let me tell you, I think it comes really close to the Issa Dress that Kate Middleton wore for her Royal Engagement last last year. I understand what you mean by simplifying the bodice pieces - and how because you maybe cut the front on the fold you didn't allow for the seam that should have been there hence it was a little too wode for you - thanks for that warning! I think that unless that middle seam shapes the bodice in any way, I agree it is probably not necessary... I cannot wait to sew this up for summer! Please post photos
1/31/11 10:05 PM
MissCelie said...
I just picked this up, I'd love to see a photo
12/9/06 5:15 PM
Stephanie C. said...
I'm making this next week for my dd's Winter Ball. I'd love to see how yours turned out. I plan to follow the pattern, as I'm not good with making adjustments.
11/23/06 3:12 AM
vespabelle said...
What do you mean by using only two bodice pieces? did you cut the front bodice on a fold? or did you eliminate the facing pieces?
11/16/06 5:55 PM
SBanks said...
Great! I just bought this one. I'd love to see a picture of yours!
11/15/06 6:09 PM
OP Gal said...
Can't wait to see the pictures. Sizing up 2 sizes is quite an accomplishment in my book. Congratulations and thanks for the review.
11/15/06 4:45 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
wow! I want to see the picture!!
11/15/06 9:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Good first review. Very helpful information. Can't wait to see your dress. I love these vintage looks.
11/15/06 5:19 AM
vespabelle said...
I'm going to start making this in a few days. I can't to see what your dress looks like.
11/14/06 8:36 PM
ACB said...
Wow, sounds lovely!
11/14/06 6:53 PM
JulieT said...
I'm a sucker for circle skirts too! Can't wait to see photo's.
11/14/06 9:23 AM
mastdenman said...
Waiting patiently for photos. This sounds interesting. DD likes vintage dresses.
11/14/06 9:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 2284

photo
by: tenlilelve...

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info