SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B4919 (Misses Dress Retro '52)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1632 times 
Reviewed by:VintageRose
photo

 
 
About VintageRose
NY USA
Member since: 10/7/06
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/06 3:08 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bindu1 said... (1/31/11 10:05 PM) Reply
I bet the dress is gorgeous - I have just ordered this pattern- I didn't buy it last year when it was in the stores and it had been in the back of my mind. Well let me tell you, I think it comes really close to the Issa Dress that Kate Middleton wore for her Royal Engagement last last year. I understand what you mean by simplifying the bodice pieces - and how because you maybe cut the front on the fold you didn't allow for the seam that should have been there hence it was a little too wode for you - thanks for that warning! I think that unless that middle seam shapes the bodice in any way, I agree it is probably not necessary... I cannot wait to sew this up for summer! Please post photos
MissCelie said... (12/9/06 5:15 PM) Reply
I just picked this up, I'd love to see a photo
Stephanie C. said... (11/23/06 3:12 AM) Reply
I'm making this next week for my dd's Winter Ball. I'd love to see how yours turned out. I plan to follow the pattern, as I'm not good with making adjustments.
vespabelle said... (11/16/06 5:55 PM) Reply
What do you mean by using only two bodice pieces? did you cut the front bodice on a fold? or did you eliminate the facing pieces?
SBanks said... (11/15/06 6:09 PM) Reply
Great! I just bought this one. I'd love to see a picture of yours!
OP Gal said... (11/15/06 4:45 PM) Reply
Can't wait to see the pictures. Sizing up 2 sizes is quite an accomplishment in my book. Congratulations and thanks for the review.
chrisquilts_2 said... (11/15/06 9:26 AM) Reply
wow! I want to see the picture!!
Danvillegirl said... (11/15/06 5:19 AM) Reply
Good first review. Very helpful information. Can't wait to see your dress. I love these vintage looks.
vespabelle said... (11/14/06 8:36 PM) Reply
I'm going to start making this in a few days. I can't to see what your dress looks like.
ACB said... (11/14/06 6:53 PM) Reply
Wow, sounds lovely!
JulieT said... (11/14/06 9:23 AM) Reply
I'm a sucker for circle skirts too! Can't wait to see photo's.
mastdenman said... (11/14/06 9:11 AM) Reply
Waiting patiently for photos. This sounds interesting. DD likes vintage dresses.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Butterick 5619

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details