SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3450 (Misses Tops and Skirt)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1097 times 
Reviewed by:2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewingstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/06 7:01 PM
Last Updated:11/15/06 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Holmar said...
I love your beautiful top, it looks great on you. Very pretty fabric and it fits you perfectly...well done!
8/31/11 6:57 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very cute on you!!!
1/9/10 9:44 PM
Nancywin said...
Great choice of fabric - I would have never picked this pattern either, but I really like your top. I'll have to look at this one again!
11/24/06 9:33 PM
CaraSkates said...
I'll probably just make the small. Depending on the bra I get a measurement as small as 36" and I'd like this to be fitted so...I'll start from there! I'm making the skirt too (out of a print velvet, the top will be solid black to be more versitale.). Just have to finish the little sis's matching dress, then I can start mine!
11/16/06 8:22 PM
2BSewing said...
Hi Clin...wouldn't that be a hoot if our fabric was the same? Oh yeah...the tummy bulges. If I hold in my gut while I'm taking the picture, I guess you guys don't see it. :)
11/16/06 7:03 PM
2BSewing said...
Hi Leslie in Austin...the answer is yes. Now, don't be sulking. :) CaraSkates...I think you'll be fine with your stretch velvet (definitely w/4-way stretch). You could trace your pattern between a Small and Medium on the side seams and then stitch the 1/4" seam. If it's a bit loose, you can always take the sides in. Just a thought. Also, you might think about adding stay tape or elastic around the neckline if you think you'll need it to support the velvet fabric. I think this would be beautiful in velvet. Now, you got me thinking... :)
11/16/06 6:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
The black and beige slinky print is lovely, and I really like the v neckline, too. You are right to store your slinky garments flat -- They will last longer that way and won't stretch out. You're inspiring me--I'm going shopping for some print slinky!
11/16/06 6:48 PM
CaraSkates said...
This is terrific! I need to pick up this pattern to make my Christmas outfit. If the small bust is 36" and I'm about 36.5-37" should I make the size small? I was thinking of making a medium but I would hate for it to be too big. I prefer fitted but not super tight clothes. I will be using a 4way stretch velvet. Any advice?
11/16/06 5:06 PM
ACB said...
I love it, you look great in it.
11/16/06 9:57 AM
AnneM said...
What a great fit.
11/16/06 9:14 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Never would have looked twice at that pattern based on envelope illustration, but your version is inspiring! Love the fabric. If you tell me that's a G-Street find, I'll just go sulk in the corner.
11/16/06 8:33 AM
carolynw said...
Just ordered this from PR - should be here today or tomorrow. I swear my fabric is almost identical to yours - will post review. This is weird in a nice way!! Don't know about your tummy bulges - can't see any - so hope it does same for mine
11/16/06 8:26 AM
OP Gal said...
You look great in your outfit. I don't see any tummy bulges, so the top either does a great job of hiding them or the bulges are smaller than you think.
11/16/06 8:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This looks great on you. I just purchased this pattern and hope mine turns out as nice as this.
11/16/06 5:33 AM
Rhoda K said...
Love your top and fabric. I'll have to give this top a try. Thanks for a very good review. What tummy bulges??
11/15/06 11:08 PM
2BSewing said...
(duplicate entry). Ooooops. :)
11/15/06 7:24 PM
2BSewing said...
Hi Donna H...I just fold the fabric over 3/8" to create a narrow hem and then sew a narrow zig zag around the hem. Personal experience with this v-neck pattern, I don't using any elastic or stabilizer. Also, it depends on the fabric. Since this slinky is drapey and heavy on me, it lays flat. If the neckline was round, I would add elastic to the neckline to hold the shape. I have found 1/4" knitted elastic to work great. :)
11/15/06 7:23 PM
Donna H said...
All the tops look great. Question: you sew a narrow hem on neck and armhole. How? Clear elastic? Are you just folding under and stitching a narrow hem? Any stabilizer? Thank you!
11/15/06 7:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Carol's Zoo 1

photo
by: ssssdeb

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5625

photo
by: Futuralon

Review