SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 426 (Shirred Top and Princess Wrap)

59 more reviews
Viewed 1174 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing Chick
photo

 
 
About Sewing Chickstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/22/03
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/06 4:55 PM
Last Updated:11/19/06 4:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
Lovely!
11/19/06 4:59 PM
khurtdvm said...
that's gorgeous!
11/19/06 5:05 PM
librarylady said...
Wow! Beautiful. And a pattern that will work for you and your daughter is worth its weight in gold.
11/19/06 6:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
COH, this really is a great looking top! I may have to go with this pattern. Are the edges of the neckline finished by folding over and topstitching or are there facings? Thanks for your review. Carla
11/19/06 6:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely! I like your fabric choice; it makes the perfect evening top. I'm wearing my top as I type :) and I agree about the gathers.
11/19/06 6:15 PM
Carolyndh said...
I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet! Your looks very impressive.
11/19/06 6:16 PM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
11/19/06 7:55 PM
Marji said...
Thanks for writing this review. I just ordered that pattern yesterday, and now I"m really glad I did. It looks fantastic.
11/19/06 8:48 PM
Erica B. said...
love this top too. Great pairing.
11/19/06 11:28 PM
BeckyC said...
I love your fabric choice for this pattern. It is so elegant. I have this pattern in my stash and must dust it off.
11/20/06 8:29 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Carla, you serge the edges and then topstitch. Initially, I used the stretch stitch on my sewing machine, but didn't like the look, so I just topstitched. I didn't think the twin needles would look good on the velvet.
11/20/06 9:06 AM
AnneM said...
This looks to be a really nice pattern; I like the style. And nice to know it hides a little stomach fluff.
11/20/06 10:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. I can't believe you made it in a hour! And we still have "coming out" balls in Kansas City, too, so it's not just a Southern thing.
11/20/06 5:58 PM
Tee Jay said...
Smashingly beautiful top! I always thought of it as casual--but now I see you can really dress it up.
12/1/06 8:23 AM
LilD said...
Very helpful review
3/16/07 2:22 PM
AnnS said...
I love this in the stretch velvet! I made the other top (the shirred boat neck) a year and a half ago when the pattern first came out, but I must make this one in a brown stretch velvet after seeing your version!
1/5/08 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 8603

photo
by: SewLuva

Review
Decades of Style 3005

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now