SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1211 (Santa Monica T)

47 more reviews
Viewed 887 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynD
photo

 
 
About CarolynDstar
NJ USA
Member since: 12/31/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/06 1:30 PM
Last Updated:11/21/06 1:33 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmemagpie said...
I wonder if it was the fabric that caused the ride-up problem. Thanks for your critique; I will double check measurements before I make this.
9/20/07 5:24 PM
LiZ said...
Sorry that you had fit issues with this tops.I bet that your friend likes her top.
3/24/07 5:24 PM
broderie said...
Great Copy has a looser fitting raglan you might try.
3/23/07 10:38 PM
lindrix said...
Hi Carolyn, I have very square shoulders and just gave up on this top after four muslins. I keep adding "squareness" to the shoulders by widening the neck and upper sleeve then making the shoulder dart wider to try to emulate a squarish shoulder seam; it just never came together despite having enough room by my measurements. I'd fold up the pattern and give it away to a sloped shoulder sewing sister.
11/23/06 1:37 PM
AnneM said...
Not a permanent solution, but try wearing a slippery camisole underneat to prevent friction. I have had the same problem w/ some other tops I have made (haven't tried this one). Also - depending on how stiff your fabric is, it can make a difference. I'm voting w/ everyone else, though: a different pattern will probably work better w/ your figure.
11/22/06 11:23 AM
Sewing Chick said...
I think you may be right about the shoulders. I have made this top numerous times, and it works great for me. However, I have sloping shoulders. I love the TS fit. Actually, I like it better than LH even though I sew both frequently. Just goes to show all body shapes are very different and prone to different types of patterns. Thank goodness for dressforms and fitting books!
11/22/06 10:29 AM
tlmck3 said...
I'm 5'8" and TS/Loes Hinse patterns are super easy to sew but hell to fit IMHO, if you are tall. And, her shoulder drafting is always straight across from the base of the neck, I think. The Barcelona dress is a nightmare I'm still trying to recover from trying to fit last summer. I almost wept when I first pinned the bodice tissue on my DTD and the bottom edge was at my bust point! It's not just you.
11/22/06 0:15 AM
CarolynD said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. I will put up the Textile Studio patterns that didn't work for me up for sale at some point! They are nice looking on other people.
11/21/06 9:25 PM
Liane M said...
This pattern didn't work for me either. I'm shorter and heavier than you and I had the same problem. My shoulders are rather square too. Glad its not just me!
11/21/06 7:23 PM
Liane M said...
This pattern didn't work for me either. I'm shorter and heavier than you and I had the same problem. My shoulders are rather square too. Glad its not just me! I have had better luck with Loes Hinse patterns. I tend to think that her style of drafting is less fitted and therefore works on several body types.
11/21/06 7:22 PM
Kay Y said...
I agree with Leslie in Austin that the shoulders, not the bust, are the culprit here. You have wider and/or squarer shoulders than the pattern is built for, and the raglan sleeve as built does not have enough horizontal room at the shoulders so it rides up until it finds the amount of room it needs lower down on the sleeve.
11/21/06 7:05 PM
NancyDaQ said...
FYI, the Bergman Blouse is Loes Hinse not Textile Studios. Some of the older Textile Studios patterns were designed by Loes, but I don't think the Santa Monica T is one of them.
11/21/06 6:55 PM
CarolynD said...
Yes, the other pattern I bought from them, the Barcelona dress, needed about 2" lengthening in the torso for it to hit where it looked like it should from the picture. I love their styles, they look really pretty in the pix, just so far it hasn't worked out. I am 5'7", not super tall but probably taller than the norm. And I am fuller busted. I am going to try the Bergman blouse and see how that goes.
11/21/06 5:44 PM
LBJ said...
Yeah, finally I get to weigh in on textile studio patterns, everyone seems to like like them but me. I have tried several, and they all look dreadful on me. I decided they are not for tall, thin women. It's not you, it's them!
11/21/06 5:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
Oh, Carolyn, that stinks. Doing all that work and having it not cooperate is the worst. I'm not sure about the shoulder issue, but if you try KwikSew's raglan patterns (I have 2 of them), be sure to cut the neckline a little narrower because it's very wide.
11/21/06 4:32 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, definitely I'd go with the shoulder slope! I've made things that were too tight in the bust often, and they -never- behaved like this. Then again, I have narrow sloping shoulders :-).
11/21/06 3:09 PM
Lee-Lee said...
Hi, Carolyn - I agree with Leslie in Austin that your square shoulders are a likely culprit. If the fit was better better suited to the natural shape of your shoulders, the shirt would fall naturally from there and no FBA is likely needed. There was a Threads article a couple of issues ago on just how critical shoulder slope is to good fit.
11/21/06 2:55 PM
Mini said...
I think the pattern photo and the fit descrition on the envelope don't really match very well. Regarding the neckline, the boat or square neckline is not good for some figure types, so you might have better luck with a raglan pattern with a scoop or v-neck. Good raglan patterns can be hard to find, but Kwik Sew usually has more than the other pattern companies. (Watch out though-they can run large in the shoulders).
11/21/06 2:23 PM
Kath said...
I have made a couple of these. If I do again I am going to lower the front at neck. I added a little width to the front piece and then serged it while stretching the fabric in the bust area. I made them in shedded mesh knits and I get lots of nice comments on them. The shedded mesh knits weigh nothing and are perfect for this top.
11/21/06 2:17 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I'm going to venture a wild guess, Carolyn, and then wait for the experts to weigh in: could it be a shoulder slope (square) issue? Your shoulders--like mine--are very square--and I regularly have this problem in RTW shirts that have plenty of bust room.
11/21/06 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Controlled Exposure 35

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

More Info
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info