SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Veranda Dress (Veranda Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1807 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/02 4:54 AM
Last Updated:1/2/05 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, I'm so glad you reviewed this one. I've been eyeing this pattern, thinking it would be a great jumper. Your picture convinced me I - okay, WE were right. Great outfit! I especially appreciate the info about the skirt's being cut crossgrain. Again, thanks for the helpful review.
11/21/02 8:34 AM
susanbb said...
I thought jumpers were out...WRONG! This looks great!
11/21/02 10:16 AM
Tee Jay said...
Are finished garment measurements given? I'm wondering what the hip width is for various sizes. Would this pattern be too oversized for a short person? It looks fabulous on you!
11/21/02 10:41 AM
Margaret said...
This looks great on you! It's nice that your photo shows how low the pockets are, too. Thanks for this review.
11/21/02 12:13 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks everyone. Teri, the finished garment measurements are not given. I did a flat pattern measurement first which showed there to be plenty of design ease. On the small size, the hip is 45". That is also the bust as it is straight up and down. I am short (5'3) and left it long because I was afraid it might look boxy on me if shorter.
11/21/02 1:43 PM
said...
thanks for the excellent review, ann. i will have to consult again if i ever get time to make this dress. it looks seriously cute on you!
11/21/02 2:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You do such lovely work, Anne. This is adorable! You look like a cute little WWI British schoolgirl.
11/21/02 3:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rustybobn said...
Ann, the patterns and fabrics you choose are great! I've loved this pattern since I first spotted it on the SW website. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/21/02 6:32 PM
Nan said...
Ann, this is a great casual chic outfit on you. I like the fabric choice too
11/21/02 6:39 PM
Amanda L said...
Totally, totally cute! And not a pattern I looked at before your review. Linen for the summer? Smashing!
11/21/02 9:47 PM
Tee Jay said...
Ann Smith--You are only 5'3"? You look so tall in your pictures! I thought 5'7" or so. Oh, now there is hope for me! I loved looking at all your clothes. Thanks for sharing!
11/22/02 12:07 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I agree, you have a tall person's proportions. I never would have guessed that we were the same height. Your dress looks great, very expensive boutique.
11/22/02 3:34 PM
Julia Graham said...
Ann, in your bio you say you don't think you're very good at sewing yet ... If _you're_ not very good, then I might as well give up! And I've been sewing for 20 years and have completed my share of ambitious projects. You do beautiful work and are apparently undaunted by more complex-looking things. Great pictures, too!
12/1/02 11:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your compliments everyone. Julia, I think my feelings about skill at sewing come from the fact that there is so much to know and I have a hard time remembering it all. It amazes me how I can make the same mistake repeatedly. I love to try challenging or unusual projects but I do this knowing that they often fail. It's rewarding anyway.
12/2/02 5:14 PM
Julia Graham said...
re mistakes, me too. The simplest things, like sewing something that needs to be turned and forgetting to leave an opening... after 20 years!! I think the challenging ones that fail are well-compensated by the challenging ones that work so much better than you ever hoped -- those are such fun. I enjoy your reviews very much!
12/22/02 9:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice.
1/2/05 4:15 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
The instructions could be a lot better, especially as it's from an independent pattern maker. Thanks for reviewing this and working hard to update your photo albums!
1/2/05 11:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 5273

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3420

photo
by: BrendaJoyc...

Review