SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Veranda Dress (Veranda Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1810 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/02 4:54 AM
Last Updated:1/2/05 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katharine in BXL said...
The instructions could be a lot better, especially as it's from an independent pattern maker. Thanks for reviewing this and working hard to update your photo albums!
1/2/05 11:33 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice.
1/2/05 4:15 PM
Julia Graham said...
re mistakes, me too. The simplest things, like sewing something that needs to be turned and forgetting to leave an opening... after 20 years!! I think the challenging ones that fail are well-compensated by the challenging ones that work so much better than you ever hoped -- those are such fun. I enjoy your reviews very much!
12/22/02 9:12 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your compliments everyone. Julia, I think my feelings about skill at sewing come from the fact that there is so much to know and I have a hard time remembering it all. It amazes me how I can make the same mistake repeatedly. I love to try challenging or unusual projects but I do this knowing that they often fail. It's rewarding anyway.
12/2/02 5:14 PM
Julia Graham said...
Ann, in your bio you say you don't think you're very good at sewing yet ... If _you're_ not very good, then I might as well give up! And I've been sewing for 20 years and have completed my share of ambitious projects. You do beautiful work and are apparently undaunted by more complex-looking things. Great pictures, too!
12/1/02 11:23 PM
Cheryl Colehour said...
I agree, you have a tall person's proportions. I never would have guessed that we were the same height. Your dress looks great, very expensive boutique.
11/22/02 3:34 PM
Tee Jay said...
Ann Smith--You are only 5'3"? You look so tall in your pictures! I thought 5'7" or so. Oh, now there is hope for me! I loved looking at all your clothes. Thanks for sharing!
11/22/02 12:07 PM
Amanda L said...
Totally, totally cute! And not a pattern I looked at before your review. Linen for the summer? Smashing!
11/21/02 9:47 PM
Nan said...
Ann, this is a great casual chic outfit on you. I like the fabric choice too
11/21/02 6:39 PM
Rustybobn said...
Ann, the patterns and fabrics you choose are great! I've loved this pattern since I first spotted it on the SW website. Thanks for the detailed review.
11/21/02 6:32 PM
said...
You do such lovely work, Anne. This is adorable! You look like a cute little WWI British schoolgirl.
11/21/02 3:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
thanks for the excellent review, ann. i will have to consult again if i ever get time to make this dress. it looks seriously cute on you!
11/21/02 2:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Ann Smith said...
Thanks everyone. Teri, the finished garment measurements are not given. I did a flat pattern measurement first which showed there to be plenty of design ease. On the small size, the hip is 45". That is also the bust as it is straight up and down. I am short (5'3) and left it long because I was afraid it might look boxy on me if shorter.
11/21/02 1:43 PM
Margaret said...
This looks great on you! It's nice that your photo shows how low the pockets are, too. Thanks for this review.
11/21/02 12:13 PM
Tee Jay said...
Are finished garment measurements given? I'm wondering what the hip width is for various sizes. Would this pattern be too oversized for a short person? It looks fabulous on you!
11/21/02 10:41 AM
susanbb said...
I thought jumpers were out...WRONG! This looks great!
11/21/02 10:16 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, I'm so glad you reviewed this one. I've been eyeing this pattern, thinking it would be a great jumper. Your picture convinced me I - okay, WE were right. Great outfit! I especially appreciate the info about the skirt's being cut crossgrain. Again, thanks for the helpful review.
11/21/02 8:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 6541

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now