SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4789-Twist dress (Butterick)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1724 times 
Reviewed by:knottygnome
photo

 
 
About knottygnomestar
NY USA
Member since: 3/30/05
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/06 2:57 PM
Last Updated:4/5/12 8:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Littlehuntingcreek said...
My 22 year old daughter was looking over my shoulder and she said - mom, can you make one of those for me? we both love the print - very fashion forward. It looks great on you :)
3/20/07 4:55 PM
Soliel said...
New version is very cute!!! Love that pinky knit! Old version is MOD and cute, too, just thought I'd comment on the "update".
3/20/07 1:19 PM
Kelly D. said...
I'm joining everyone who says, "It's not too loud!" Wear it with pride, it's a great dress. Thanks for the review.
3/20/07 12:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I am 62 and I would wear this dress in a heartbeat if I had your figure. Well done!
11/26/06 3:01 PM
Sharon M said...
This dress is great! and especially love the fabric.
11/26/06 2:50 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very unique dress! Not all figures can pull off a print like this, but it looks great on you.
11/26/06 1:13 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress, looks great on you
11/26/06 9:50 AM
AnneM said...
Well, you will definitely stand out in a crowd with that fabric. If you don't get wear out of it, turn it into a top to wear with jeans. The style looks nice, & in a different fabric the dress would look different.
11/26/06 9:49 AM
carolynw said...
A real knock out - wear it often - bet there will be a lot of heads turning!!
11/26/06 8:56 AM
Ann Smith said...
That's a WOW dress. Please wear it!!
11/26/06 0:47 AM
Jan B. said...
This dress is sharp! It looks great on you and will be very versatile!
11/26/06 0:29 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I LOVE the dress and the fabric!!! Glad to know it was easy to put together.
11/26/06 0:15 AM
Erica B. said...
Very cute dress. I love the fabric -- very Pucci-esque!
11/25/06 10:52 PM
VtMartha said...
OK, don't snicker. I bought that fabric and I am over 60! And I'm inspired by your review.
11/25/06 7:35 PM
Melody said...
I love what you've accomplished. I personally don't think it's too loud, I have that fabric (and pattern, hmm) as well and I love seeing it as a twist dress. It looks great on and looks really cute with your black boots. It's very "InStyle" magazine. My fashionista friends would be envious.
11/25/06 7:22 PM
bunz said...
What an awsome result from a simple pattern!! I agree that the fabric is terrific, but you have to feel comfortable wearing it out.
11/25/06 6:31 PM
Pyrose said...
I really like the twist top and your fabric choice is cool. I think you look awesome in this dress.
11/25/06 4:28 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
What's age got to do with loudness? I know plenty of women in their 40s who would wear this dress in a heartbeat or two or three! This dress rocks in a Betsy Johnson sort of way (she'd like it and she's certainly past the abovementioned number).
11/25/06 4:10 PM
ACB said...
I am in total agreement with the others, it's looks awesome, (by the way I have this fabric from Lucy's somewhere in my stash), and in Miami we love wild bold colors (South Beach). You can label it as resort wear!
11/25/06 4:09 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
I don't think the dress is too loud at all. I too am in my mid-forties, much older than you I'm sure. But, I would wear this with nice makeup and plain black accessories. I would definitely wear it for social occasions such as going to lunch or dinner, going to a baby or wedding shower, etc. Because I live in a warm climate, "hot pastels" are definitely appropriate for non-work clothing. Some work places would also be fine to wear this to. Seriously, because the style is relatively simple, I would not consider this print too loud for you. Your black hair and smooth skin looks great with this print.
11/25/06 3:28 PM
Donna H said...
Awesome dress! Great job on it, too. Yeah, I'm in my mid 40's...I'd have to tone it WAY down!! LOL. Great review.
11/25/06 3:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now