SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3434 (Misses Tops)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1466 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/06 6:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MareeAlison said...
I have only recently bought this pattern, hence my late comment. Personally, I like the top on you and the gathered draped droopy bottom is exactly as it's shown on the drawing and is how I imagined it would look. It's a shame you thought it was a wadder.
7/30/07 9:55 PM
Larkin said...
Deepika, I think it looks adorable on you. I understand that the pouch is sew 'out there' but it still looks really cute.
11/27/06 5:33 PM
PVA said...
Deepika, I just wanted to add that I agree this top looks wonderful on you, especially the fabric. I too hope you have more of it or can get more. The empire version of this pattern would be great on you -- much more flattering!
11/27/06 10:55 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wear it when DH isn't around. It's cute on you and looks really comfortable (always a good combo).
11/27/06 10:29 AM
JenniferBee said...
Looks great, wear it when DH is not around:-)
11/27/06 3:50 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I agree it does look good on you. I suppose because it did not turn out how you envisioned you are disappointed?
11/26/06 9:55 PM
OP Gal said...
When I first looked at the picture, I thought it looked great on you. Only when you pointed it out, was the "kangaroo pouch" noticeable. I think it's a keeper.
11/26/06 6:22 PM
Jill Giard said...
This looks great on you. I think maybe you are not used to the silhouette? Even the Kwik Sew photo has a bit of drape in the same place. Sometimes projects that don't seem right just need a bit of time to get used to.
11/26/06 5:53 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments. To be honest if my husband didn't dislike this look so much, I would have at least worn it to the gym or at home on the weekends in summer. I think it's a cute style. and its comfortable too.
11/26/06 10:51 AM
AnneM said...
Cute, definitely wearable even though not your best style. (It wouldn't work for me either.)
11/26/06 9:52 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I have this one lined up. I am thinking you also have to be very tall at least through the torso to pull this one off. I also think these tops are great for slinky, which probably not do that pooch thing. Thanks for the warning.
11/26/06 9:43 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I'm sorry you don't like this top on you. I think it looks great, and you're so slim that no one would ever mistake the "kangaroo pooch" for your actual body. ;-) But I understand how disappointing it is when a finished garment doesn't match our expectations.
11/26/06 9:16 AM
carolynw said...
Deepika - for what it's worth I think it looks great - it is meant to pooch at the front - lots of RTW showing this style. However, if this is not something you feel good in then I guess it is up to you to call the wadder!! I definitely won't try it as I do not have the nice figure you have!!
11/26/06 8:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think the top looks good on you. In looking at the model wearing this one, she too has that "kangaroo pocket" as you call it. I really think that is the intended look. Nonetheless, I bought the same pattern but kept thinking about that poochiness at that area. Not sure if you shorten it if it would help or not. Again I think it looks good on you and probably most people see you from a frontal view more than side.
11/26/06 7:40 AM
Heatherrique said...
Deepika, you really good in this top! A wadder, I do not think so!
11/26/06 0:39 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Bummer it didn't work out for you. I had one of those projects last weekend and still need to review it. It is always so sad when we take time to make something that we don't care for or doesn't flatter my figure. Oh well, that is just how it goes sometimes.
11/26/06 0:08 AM
pterion said...
*double post*
11/25/06 11:13 PM
pterion said...
I thought it looked great too until I saw the close-up. Sorry the style didn't work for you. Nice fabric though.
11/25/06 11:12 PM
Erica B. said...
I think it's really cute and even the RTW version of this style top fits the same way. We are our worst critics and if you hadn't pointed that out, I wouldn't have ever noticed. Still very cute!
11/25/06 10:45 PM
PVA said...
Deepika, thanks for this review! I have the pattern & a fabric I will use as a test/muslin. One other review for this pattern mentions a pouchy effect. I'm probably too short for this one to really be flattering & my really tiny waist deserted me years ago. *However*, having said all that, in Oregon this time of the year we take "layering" very seriously! I'm just dying to try this & I will find a way to post a photo & a review. (There's got to be a way!)
11/25/06 10:28 PM
Carolyndh said...
You look really nice in your drop waist top despite the pouch. My reaction was the same as Vonnevo's--I thought you looked really great! As someone said, can you make something else with this same fabric or get some more of it? The fabric is really flattering on you.
11/25/06 9:04 PM
Vonnevo said...
Deepika, my first impression by clicking on the photo was WOW !!! The overall look and your fabric choice are beautiful. I have seen a lot of RTW tops with joey's pouch look. Thanks an excellent review.
11/25/06 8:55 PM
Diane E said...
I think Yoda, er, I mean, Karla, has said it all well. Indeed there are projects that are just plain disappointing. I've admired this style on others (yours included), and I've wondered how I'd feel wearing it. Your review has given me some very helpful food for thought. Sorry you were let down, and I hope your next project is much more satisfying.
11/25/06 8:42 PM
motomoda said...
Deepika, I think it looks good as well, but I do agree with you about the kangaroo pouch. I can't see a way round it either - I think it is probably just a 'feature' of the style. On the plus side, be grateful that being so slim, you have nothing to put in the pouch! I had ben thinking about making this but I can only imagine what it would look like on me so I'll pass now. Thanks for the review - you have saved me from certain disappointment :)
11/25/06 7:59 PM
dvazz said...
It looks really fabulous except for waistline....which doesn't look all that bad to me, but I realize it probably doesn't flatter as it should. I hope you have some more of that fabric, because it looks great on you!
11/25/06 7:55 PM
BeckyC said...
I think the top looks great on you too. I think the lines from the V-neckline are very slenderizing along with the plaid being at a diagonal. But I certainly wouldn't be happy having a kangaroo pouch at my waist either!
11/25/06 7:52 PM
tlmck3 said...
I disliked this style in the 80s in its first incarnation for exactly the same reason. I don't think it's ever exactly flattering on an adult woman. It's just an awkward proportion and shape...I remember trying it on back then...when I was a tall, underweight and curveless 20-something and my sister told me I looked like a shirt on a stick. I'm not sure who it works for.
11/25/06 7:46 PM
BjP said...
I don't see anything wrong with it, either, but if you aren't comfortable in it, then you were right in letting it go. I made the long-sleeved version and love it, but then I have that "multitude of sins" to hide that Karla referred to. Hee.
11/25/06 7:29 PM
drsue said...
Dee: I think you are too much of an hour glass for this style. I think it only would look good on tallish pencil shaped people. That said, for a style that's not soo good, it's really not all that bad.
11/25/06 6:56 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think this style hides Deepika's darling figure, so I labeled it a "what not to wear" for her. Now, on ME, it would cover a multitude of sins....if it were about 48" longer. As cute as it looks on the envelope and in KS' photo, I think this is a tough one to wear in real life. Thanks, Deepika. One less pattern on my long wish list...
11/25/06 6:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
It looks fabulous from the front, but I see what you mean in the closeup. I think you would have to shorten the fronts a lot to eliminate the sagging, but then you would have a different design. I'm glad you have found a little time to sew!
11/25/06 6:45 PM
Donna H said...
Personally, I think it looks good, too. I wonder that when you shortened the top some it makes those gathers hang right on your waist. In the pattern pic, they hang lower. I think the style of the whole top is to hang longer on the body. But I think your "version" looks fine. Question: Is that really YOU in that pic? You look so young!!
11/25/06 6:31 PM
bunz said...
Actually, I think this looks really great on you, but I understand how if one has a waist, you'd want to show it off!! :-)
11/25/06 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Stretch & Sew 305

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now