SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4849 (Fast and Easy Women's Dresses)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1944 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/06 5:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
The proportions are really nice on this. I think the combination of the empire waist and the below the knee skirt length actually makes you look taller. Where are you finding these quality cotton lawns that you are buying up?
11/26/06 5:52 PM
Rhoda K said...
Nice looking dress and looks good on you, but what is a duro? I've never heard of that before.
11/26/06 6:16 PM
trinicity said...
wow, this looks really good
11/26/06 6:18 PM
Donna H said...
I'm not a fan of the duro dress, but yours looks really flattering on you! I agree...no kimono sleeves. Thanks for this informative review. It DOES look really great.
11/26/06 6:31 PM
jlg said...
This looks very nice on you. Great job.
11/26/06 6:39 PM
tlmck3 said...
I like the closer fit of this one much more than the billowing duros out there. I also like it in the lower contrast, more somber colors. Looks much more adult. (Not having back ties helps, too!) If anyone notices your 1/4" difference in the waistband, there is nothing "casual" about their observation and they should probably be slapped!
11/26/06 6:40 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress!
11/26/06 7:08 PM
sewbehind said...
Nice dress and the fabric is beautiful.
11/26/06 7:27 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I would have expected a Duro dress to overwhelm your petite frame, but you tweaked this pattern to be just right and very flattering! At the risk of sounding like a broken record, Silk Road Fabrics has lots of gorgeous cotton lawns.
11/26/06 7:57 PM
Sharon M said...
This Duro version looks really nice on you!
11/26/06 8:42 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...your dress is beautiful. Great job. :)
11/26/06 9:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I am another non Duro fan, but yours is lovely. I think being more fitted and no gathers makes it look good.
11/26/06 9:16 PM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. I like the proportions on you, and i'm eager to get the right fabric and do this myself. Thank you for the great review, and I'll note the banding issue as well.
11/26/06 9:17 PM
Liana said...
It looks very nice on you, and I agree that it's your print that makes the difference. Very nice!
11/26/06 9:19 PM
KarmenG said...
Very pretty!! I really like this dress on you. Good review too.
11/26/06 11:06 PM
PVA said...
Great going, Sue -- the usual Duro has such a folkwear look & this absolutely does not! As someone else said, you tweaked this pattern just right. That & your fabric combination results in a very stylish lovely look. Thanks for the review.
11/27/06 0:11 AM
Kathi R said...
The dress looks great -- I made a duro with kimono sleeves and think you made the right decision on using a set in sleeve; your dress has a much more polished appearance. Nice job.
11/27/06 1:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think your dress looks great. I like this better than the McCall's version.
11/27/06 5:14 AM
Nickle said...
Your dress looks great on you, like the fabric.
11/27/06 7:40 AM
AnneM said...
I agree on the neck band; they should have included it. One of the best looking Duro dresses I've seen.
11/27/06 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
That looks lovely on you. Great fabric choices and excellent proportions for your frame
11/27/06 9:40 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice dress. I love your fabric choices
11/27/06 10:02 AM
coolobreeze said...
Another beautiful creation!
11/27/06 10:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Looks great. We have seen this dress and its many versions before, but I always like to hear different takes on a pattern. Thanks for your remarks on the back facing and change in directions. Do they think that no one sees the back of the dress? All of the rtw that I have seen have a back matching facing
11/27/06 12:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! You have given this pattern the drSue treatment and it's fabulous ! Thank you for another excellent review :)
11/27/06 5:48 PM
ACB said...
Very nice, great job.
11/27/06 9:09 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress on you! I like the dark contrasts (bands, shoes) with your hair color.
11/29/06 7:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Jalie 2919

photo
by: j Renee De...

Review

Pattern