Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4849 (Fast and Easy Women's Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1942 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/06 5:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
The proportions are really nice on this. I think the combination of the empire waist and the below the knee skirt length actually makes you look taller. Where are you finding these quality cotton lawns that you are buying up?
11/26/06 5:52 PM
Rhoda K said...
Nice looking dress and looks good on you, but what is a duro? I've never heard of that before.
11/26/06 6:16 PM
trinicity said...
wow, this looks really good
11/26/06 6:18 PM
Donna H said...
I'm not a fan of the duro dress, but yours looks really flattering on you! I agree...no kimono sleeves. Thanks for this informative review. It DOES look really great.
11/26/06 6:31 PM
jlg said...
This looks very nice on you. Great job.
11/26/06 6:39 PM
tlmck3 said...
I like the closer fit of this one much more than the billowing duros out there. I also like it in the lower contrast, more somber colors. Looks much more adult. (Not having back ties helps, too!) If anyone notices your 1/4" difference in the waistband, there is nothing "casual" about their observation and they should probably be slapped!
11/26/06 6:40 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking dress!
11/26/06 7:08 PM
sewbehind said...
Nice dress and the fabric is beautiful.
11/26/06 7:27 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I would have expected a Duro dress to overwhelm your petite frame, but you tweaked this pattern to be just right and very flattering! At the risk of sounding like a broken record, Silk Road Fabrics has lots of gorgeous cotton lawns.
11/26/06 7:57 PM
Sharon M said...
This Duro version looks really nice on you!
11/26/06 8:42 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...your dress is beautiful. Great job. :)
11/26/06 9:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I am another non Duro fan, but yours is lovely. I think being more fitted and no gathers makes it look good.
11/26/06 9:16 PM
rosephreak said...
This is lovely. I like the proportions on you, and i'm eager to get the right fabric and do this myself. Thank you for the great review, and I'll note the banding issue as well.
11/26/06 9:17 PM
Liana said...
It looks very nice on you, and I agree that it's your print that makes the difference. Very nice!
11/26/06 9:19 PM
KarmenG said...
Very pretty!! I really like this dress on you. Good review too.
11/26/06 11:06 PM
PVA said...
Great going, Sue -- the usual Duro has such a folkwear look & this absolutely does not! As someone else said, you tweaked this pattern just right. That & your fabric combination results in a very stylish lovely look. Thanks for the review.
11/27/06 0:11 AM
Kathi R said...
The dress looks great -- I made a duro with kimono sleeves and think you made the right decision on using a set in sleeve; your dress has a much more polished appearance. Nice job.
11/27/06 1:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think your dress looks great. I like this better than the McCall's version.
11/27/06 5:14 AM
Nickle said...
Your dress looks great on you, like the fabric.
11/27/06 7:40 AM
AnneM said...
I agree on the neck band; they should have included it. One of the best looking Duro dresses I've seen.
11/27/06 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
That looks lovely on you. Great fabric choices and excellent proportions for your frame
11/27/06 9:40 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice dress. I love your fabric choices
11/27/06 10:02 AM
coolobreeze said...
Another beautiful creation!
11/27/06 10:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Looks great. We have seen this dress and its many versions before, but I always like to hear different takes on a pattern. Thanks for your remarks on the back facing and change in directions. Do they think that no one sees the back of the dress? All of the rtw that I have seen have a back matching facing
11/27/06 12:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful ! You have given this pattern the drSue treatment and it's fabulous ! Thank you for another excellent review :)
11/27/06 5:48 PM
ACB said...
Very nice, great job.
11/27/06 9:09 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great dress on you! I like the dark contrasts (bands, shoes) with your hair color.
11/29/06 7:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us