Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1003 (Soho Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1613 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/06 9:22 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
They look pretty darn good to me! Great pair of pants.
11/27/06 9:38 PM
Mermie said...
Patti, I think they look great! Great job on these pants. I think I'm going to try the same plan. Pick a pants pattern and work on the same pattern until the pants are a perfect fit.
11/27/06 9:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Patty nice job on these pants!!! This is one of my favorite patterns too!! I automatically do the clown butt RX on all my LH patterns now and they turn out SO well!! This is exactly how the "hind-end" of my pants looked before the fix. Thanks again DianeE for the tip! Thank you for this helpful review, Patty. Carla
11/27/06 10:22 PM
BeckyC said...
Patti -- Your pants look great on you! I'm intrigued by this pattern as it has an elastic waist, plus a invisible zipper which makes for a perfect and comfortable fit -- sounds good to me. For your fitting questions, why don't you post it on the boards? I bet you'll get some great pointers.
11/27/06 10:26 PM
bunz said...
Gosh, you look so happy, Patti! And the pants look great on you;-)
11/27/06 10:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the others' comments. They are truly a nice pair of pants. I think you aught to try either Diane's or Debbie's method to make them even better fit, but IMHO these look good.
11/28/06 5:11 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and the slimmer leg is right back in style! I can't help on solving the back-fit, but they certainly are wearable as-is.
11/28/06 8:36 AM
carolynw said...
They look good Patti - I really have no tried and true solution for the back problem you think you have. Perhaps a more drapey fabric ? and tho you say you have "saddlebags" I wonder if you have a flat derriere (ah French) - however, I think you are being too hard on yourself as they look terrific as is!
11/28/06 8:56 AM
Mini said...
This looks really, really good on you-very classic and flattering. Yes, the back leg on this pattern is too big for many figures. That's typical of an American pants draft. Possible solutions: the afore-mentioned clown butt adjustment, tracing a back leg from a European pattern with a more sculpted backleg (Burda or Neue Mode if you have one), using a smaller size in back, or leaving it alone because nobody else will notice when the front looks this good;).
11/28/06 9:18 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:25 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:26 AM
Donna H said...
I echo everyone else....these are really great looking. I love the color, too. Very pretty! I vote to stay away from the aquarium AND the circus!!
11/28/06 11:12 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Hi Patti, I would try the fisheye alteration first - I re-read both "clown butt" and "fisheye" and it looks like fisheye address the more vertical lines while clown butt addresses horizontal bagginess right at the top of the thighs. But frankly - the only people who would ever notice are ultra picky fitting gurus - I think those slacks look great and fit pretty dang well as they are! And they look sooooo comfortable.
11/28/06 11:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
These look great on you. I'm intrigued by this pattern now -- like I need another pants pattern! I'm inclined to agree with Mini's assessment of the back fit.
11/28/06 1:19 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:47 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:48 PM
amberanne said...
i have ordered the pattern and cannot wait to try it.
11/28/06 4:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Patti, these look absolutely great on you! I don't think you need either the FED or the CB. I'm thinking you need to add a wedge adjustment to high hip (front and back) for more sideseam length over the hips. Try wriggling the sides down just a bit at the waist and see what those (slight) wrinkles do. I can't really see the front darts well enough to guess at those.
11/29/06 7:34 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks all for your comments! I will play with the various adjustments and see what improves the look. I will definitely wear these -- just looking for the zen of pants patterns. clin, ha ha ha; no one has ever said that I might have a flat derriere. DH says that the pants look better than they photographed -- nice, huh?
11/29/06 9:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-132 Girls tunic
photo
Review by sandramary on 4/11/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 7500
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 5/12/07
Read Review

Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5209 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2250 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us