SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1003 (Soho Pant)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1620 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/06 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Thanks all for your comments! I will play with the various adjustments and see what improves the look. I will definitely wear these -- just looking for the zen of pants patterns. clin, ha ha ha; no one has ever said that I might have a flat derriere. DH says that the pants look better than they photographed -- nice, huh?
11/29/06 9:21 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Patti, these look absolutely great on you! I don't think you need either the FED or the CB. I'm thinking you need to add a wedge adjustment to high hip (front and back) for more sideseam length over the hips. Try wriggling the sides down just a bit at the waist and see what those (slight) wrinkles do. I can't really see the front darts well enough to guess at those.
11/29/06 7:34 AM
amberanne said...
i have ordered the pattern and cannot wait to try it.
11/28/06 4:52 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:48 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
These look great on you. I'm intrigued by this pattern now -- like I need another pants pattern! I'm inclined to agree with Mini's assessment of the back fit.
11/28/06 1:19 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Hi Patti, I would try the fisheye alteration first - I re-read both "clown butt" and "fisheye" and it looks like fisheye address the more vertical lines while clown butt addresses horizontal bagginess right at the top of the thighs. But frankly - the only people who would ever notice are ultra picky fitting gurus - I think those slacks look great and fit pretty dang well as they are! And they look sooooo comfortable.
11/28/06 11:34 AM
Donna H said...
I echo everyone else....these are really great looking. I love the color, too. Very pretty! I vote to stay away from the aquarium AND the circus!!
11/28/06 11:12 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:26 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:25 AM
Mini said...
This looks really, really good on you-very classic and flattering. Yes, the back leg on this pattern is too big for many figures. That's typical of an American pants draft. Possible solutions: the afore-mentioned clown butt adjustment, tracing a back leg from a European pattern with a more sculpted backleg (Burda or Neue Mode if you have one), using a smaller size in back, or leaving it alone because nobody else will notice when the front looks this good;).
11/28/06 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
They look good Patti - I really have no tried and true solution for the back problem you think you have. Perhaps a more drapey fabric ? and tho you say you have "saddlebags" I wonder if you have a flat derriere (ah French) - however, I think you are being too hard on yourself as they look terrific as is!
11/28/06 8:56 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and the slimmer leg is right back in style! I can't help on solving the back-fit, but they certainly are wearable as-is.
11/28/06 8:36 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the others' comments. They are truly a nice pair of pants. I think you aught to try either Diane's or Debbie's method to make them even better fit, but IMHO these look good.
11/28/06 5:11 AM
bunz said...
Gosh, you look so happy, Patti! And the pants look great on you;-)
11/27/06 10:30 PM
BeckyC said...
Patti -- Your pants look great on you! I'm intrigued by this pattern as it has an elastic waist, plus a invisible zipper which makes for a perfect and comfortable fit -- sounds good to me. For your fitting questions, why don't you post it on the boards? I bet you'll get some great pointers.
11/27/06 10:26 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Patty nice job on these pants!!! This is one of my favorite patterns too!! I automatically do the clown butt RX on all my LH patterns now and they turn out SO well!! This is exactly how the "hind-end" of my pants looked before the fix. Thanks again DianeE for the tip! Thank you for this helpful review, Patty. Carla
11/27/06 10:22 PM
Mermie said...
Patti, I think they look great! Great job on these pants. I think I'm going to try the same plan. Pick a pants pattern and work on the same pattern until the pants are a perfect fit.
11/27/06 9:44 PM
drsue said...
They look pretty darn good to me! Great pair of pants.
11/27/06 9:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

McCall's M5241

photo
by: ak21

Review
Simplicity 3875

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

More Info