SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1003 (Soho Pant)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1616 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/06 9:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
They look pretty darn good to me! Great pair of pants.
11/27/06 9:38 PM
Mermie said...
Patti, I think they look great! Great job on these pants. I think I'm going to try the same plan. Pick a pants pattern and work on the same pattern until the pants are a perfect fit.
11/27/06 9:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Patty nice job on these pants!!! This is one of my favorite patterns too!! I automatically do the clown butt RX on all my LH patterns now and they turn out SO well!! This is exactly how the "hind-end" of my pants looked before the fix. Thanks again DianeE for the tip! Thank you for this helpful review, Patty. Carla
11/27/06 10:22 PM
BeckyC said...
Patti -- Your pants look great on you! I'm intrigued by this pattern as it has an elastic waist, plus a invisible zipper which makes for a perfect and comfortable fit -- sounds good to me. For your fitting questions, why don't you post it on the boards? I bet you'll get some great pointers.
11/27/06 10:26 PM
bunz said...
Gosh, you look so happy, Patti! And the pants look great on you;-)
11/27/06 10:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the others' comments. They are truly a nice pair of pants. I think you aught to try either Diane's or Debbie's method to make them even better fit, but IMHO these look good.
11/28/06 5:11 AM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and the slimmer leg is right back in style! I can't help on solving the back-fit, but they certainly are wearable as-is.
11/28/06 8:36 AM
carolynw said...
They look good Patti - I really have no tried and true solution for the back problem you think you have. Perhaps a more drapey fabric ? and tho you say you have "saddlebags" I wonder if you have a flat derriere (ah French) - however, I think you are being too hard on yourself as they look terrific as is!
11/28/06 8:56 AM
Mini said...
This looks really, really good on you-very classic and flattering. Yes, the back leg on this pattern is too big for many figures. That's typical of an American pants draft. Possible solutions: the afore-mentioned clown butt adjustment, tracing a back leg from a European pattern with a more sculpted backleg (Burda or Neue Mode if you have one), using a smaller size in back, or leaving it alone because nobody else will notice when the front looks this good;).
11/28/06 9:18 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:25 AM
BethKogut said...
Handsome pair of pants! Nice to see a wardrobe staple that makes the sewing effort (however easy) worthwhile.
11/28/06 9:26 AM
Donna H said...
I echo everyone else....these are really great looking. I love the color, too. Very pretty! I vote to stay away from the aquarium AND the circus!!
11/28/06 11:12 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Hi Patti, I would try the fisheye alteration first - I re-read both "clown butt" and "fisheye" and it looks like fisheye address the more vertical lines while clown butt addresses horizontal bagginess right at the top of the thighs. But frankly - the only people who would ever notice are ultra picky fitting gurus - I think those slacks look great and fit pretty dang well as they are! And they look sooooo comfortable.
11/28/06 11:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
These look great on you. I'm intrigued by this pattern now -- like I need another pants pattern! I'm inclined to agree with Mini's assessment of the back fit.
11/28/06 1:19 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:47 PM
dvazz said...
Looks great to me! I hadn't even realized that there was elastic in this pattern; it looks so smooth. Maybe I can buy one to replace my missing Euro pattern.
11/28/06 1:48 PM
amberanne said...
i have ordered the pattern and cannot wait to try it.
11/28/06 4:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Patti, these look absolutely great on you! I don't think you need either the FED or the CB. I'm thinking you need to add a wedge adjustment to high hip (front and back) for more sideseam length over the hips. Try wriggling the sides down just a bit at the waist and see what those (slight) wrinkles do. I can't really see the front darts well enough to guess at those.
11/29/06 7:34 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks all for your comments! I will play with the various adjustments and see what improves the look. I will definitely wear these -- just looking for the zen of pants patterns. clin, ha ha ha; no one has ever said that I might have a flat derriere. DH says that the pants look better than they photographed -- nice, huh?
11/29/06 9:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-107

photo
by: lbreton

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now