SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1079 (Gathered-collar blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2010 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/06 0:31 AM
Last Updated:11/27/06 8:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 39 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynD said...
Debra-this top is utterly fantastic. I hope you wear it to some fabulous event. Buut it is the kind of top that will look good with jeans, too. You always make the most lovely things. I don't think I am ready for Marfy but your idea of a gathered collar could be adapted to other patterns, possibly. Just beautiful.
11/27/06 1:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
So beautiful. How wonderful when a struggle ends in such a success.
11/27/06 2:04 AM
redsquid said...
Thanks, Debra - I have this pattern in my stash, and your tips on construction, especially the collar, will be very helpful! ~Linda (redsquid)
11/27/06 2:20 AM
Ingiepops said...
Wow, this is just gorgeous. I've seen similar collars in recent Knipmodes in a jacket version, and have thought about making this style for our next winter. Thanks for a very thorough review.
11/27/06 4:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, very attractive velvet blouse.
11/27/06 5:12 AM
motomoda said...
This is lovely - I need more practice before tackling this but thanks for the review
11/27/06 5:43 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely, luxurious blouse. Very helpful lesson in sewing with velvet also.
11/27/06 6:52 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Absolutely LOVELY! And in velvet, too! (after working the last six months on a velvet project, I feel your pain)
11/27/06 7:16 AM
Vonnevo said...
Another besutiful garment Debra :)) Thank you for sharing and writing an excellent review.
11/27/06 7:34 AM
blue mooney said...
Wonderful for the holidays & afterwards, too. So luxurious in velvet. Dyeing the fabric and everything - you really went all out for this one and it was worth it!
11/27/06 7:47 AM
Marji said...
Beautiful results for your work. Thank you too for the very thorough review. This pattern had not been on my radar, but may make it to my to-make list this Spring, seeing what you've done with it.
11/27/06 7:48 AM
Marji said...
Beautiful results for your work. Thank you too for the very thorough review. This pattern had not been on my radar, but may make it to my to-make list this Spring, seeing what you've done with it.
11/27/06 7:48 AM
Kay Y said...
My goodness - what a lovely shirt. The velvet looks luscious at the gathered collar and cuffs. Thanks for the detailed pics.
11/27/06 8:31 AM
cecelia said...
Debra, this is going to look so nice with your red hair, and I admire anyone who has the courage to use a "Marfy!" If I may ask, what color was the fabric before you dyed it, and what kind of dye did you use?
11/27/06 8:37 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I opened up the picture and thought, "I have to have that." It is just beautiful.
11/27/06 8:45 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I opened up the picture and thought, "I have to have that." It is just beautiful.
11/27/06 8:50 AM
Sharon M said...
Debra - what a beautiful blouse! While the fabric may have been challenging to work with the end result is stunning and well worth it. I'm sure you will receive lots of compliments when you wear this one. I especially like the ruffled collar in the silk rayon velvet. I didn't realize that Dharma Trading carried silk rayon velvet - what did you use to dye it with?
11/27/06 9:05 AM
Sharon M said...
Debra - what a beautiful blouse! While the fabric may have been challenging to work with the end result is stunning and well worth it. I'm sure you will receive lots of compliments when you wear this one. I especially like the ruffled collar in the silk rayon velvet. I didn't realize that Dharma Trading carried silk rayon velvet - what did you use to dye it with?
11/27/06 9:05 AM
christine A said...
This blouse is breathtaking! I would love to have such talent!
11/27/06 9:07 AM
rmardel said...
Debra, the blouse is fabulous and it looks like the kind of thing that you can get a LOT of use out of. It sounds like a lot of work, but the result seems to be worth the effort. Enjoy! and thanks for the review.
11/27/06 9:31 AM
Karen6790 said...
I know working with velvet can be a pain, but this top is so worth it - I can't imagine it would look quite as fabulous in any other fabric. The gathered cuffs and collar make it look really special.
11/27/06 9:46 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Stunning! I thank you for your detailed review as well. Any information about a MArfy pattern is welcommed!
11/27/06 9:46 AM
LBJ said...
I would Love love love to see a picture of you in this gorgeous blouse! With your hair color I bet it's devasting! Thanks for the great review, the tips on velvet, and the inspiration!
11/27/06 10:24 AM
BeckyW said...
Incredible blouse!!!
11/27/06 10:30 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
That blouse is so lush in velvet. Debra, your projects always floor me with their beauty and workmanship.
11/27/06 10:41 AM
Liana said...
Beautiful! I too noticed that pattern right away, and it's wonderful to see it done so well. Great job, and you will knock them dead!
11/27/06 11:17 AM
Nancy K said...
Thanks for the great, as usual, review. It is a beautiful blouse and despite problems you always manage to pull it off. After I read one of your Marfy review s I keep saying I'm going to try one. this is worth sewing, but probably not in velvet! I have a question about your fabric dyeing. What dye do you use and was this velvet washed before you bought it or did you washi it? Did you hand dye or do it in the washing machine?
11/27/06 12:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
OMG, positively stunning! You must have the patience of a saint. My forays using velvet--mostly for scarves--have convinced me to leave it to others with much more perseverance than I. Fabulous blouse!!!
11/27/06 12:12 PM
zinnia said...
Ooooh, another beautiful garment you have created! The Velvet top is gorgeous.
11/27/06 12:20 PM
sewbehind said...
I knew this was yours! The colour tipped me off. Very lovely. It will be a long time before I attempt Marfy. Kudos to you for succeeding.
11/27/06 12:35 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a beautiful color. I love the gathered upper collar. What a unique and stylish design detail.
11/27/06 1:04 PM
Re Becca said...
You dyed the velvet too? You must expand on this, I have ordered dye for a silk project of my own and I am searching for tips? At what stage did you do the dyeing? Waht did you dye it in to get such an even result?
11/27/06 1:07 PM
Erica B. said...
That top is beautiful, a definite show-stopper!
11/27/06 1:28 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - you did a terrific job despite the challenges Marfy can create. I love the pattern and like you have seen this ruffled collar on quite a few outfits in the stores - It would be wonderful in a light fabric as you plan!! Have to attend a summer wedding so I will keep this pattern in mind. Thanks for such a thorough and helpful review.
11/27/06 1:42 PM
Donna H said...
Sheesh...with all these comments, I echo each one and can only add...OOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHH!!
11/27/06 2:13 PM
ceedee said...
Way too advanced a pattern for me but wanted to comment on how gorgeous it is. If it were for sale, I'd buy it. Ummm......is it for sale? lol You'll be a show stopper wherever you wear it. Very special blouse!
11/27/06 2:37 PM
drsue said...
A lot of work but the results are amazing! Fabulous!
11/27/06 3:01 PM
mrspenguin said...
Beautiful as usual. Thanks for sharing.
11/27/06 3:44 PM
maryfrana said...
Stunning -- both the color and the design. I love it.
11/27/06 6:54 PM
Riordan said...
Exquisite!! The ruffles are gorgeous in that luxurious velvet! Lovely color, too.
11/27/06 7:14 PM
Debra H said...
Several of you asked about the fabric and dye so here we go...the fabric from Dharma Trading is 82% rayon and 18% silk which is about the usual mix for this blend. The backing is mostly silk while the fuzzy nap is rayon. This means that they recommend a dye for rayons moreso than silk. I used the Procion MX dye that they sell in color 47 (chartreuse). The fabric comes white and ready to dye. I opted to dye the uncut yardage as I have seen several friends have BAD experiences dying pre-sewn garments at home. It is VERY hard to do this at home without special experience...and I do not have it. I followed Dharma's recommended tub/vat dye process because I really did not have enough yardage to do a full machine load and it is hard to know how much dye to add at various levels of the washing machine. I followed Dharma's recommendation to pre-wash the yardage in the machine with Synthrapol first. Then, I followed the rest of the instructions. Color 47 is one of those that requires hotter temps than some and more rinsing to get out extra dye, so keep that in mind. Someone here mentioned silk fabric and I would suggest a different dye for that...Dharma would provide the best guidance for silk as it depends on what kind of silk and if you are painting or marbling versus making it all one color.
11/27/06 8:07 PM
ACB said...
I'm speechless, beautiful work, and an excellent review.
11/27/06 8:26 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Debra, I was just clicking on pictures of styles I liked, and I knew the moment I saw this top that it was yours. Aside from the color which seems to suit you, the extra style you add to any pattern is hard to miss! Wow!
11/27/06 8:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debra, this is gorgeous! Well done!
11/27/06 9:31 PM
2muchfabric said...
Wow. What can I say that hasn't already been said? Your work is incredible. Thanks for another great review.
11/27/06 10:42 PM
luvzdogz said...
I'm speechless! The job you did on this is awesome, and now I find out that you dyed the velvet too? Unbelievable.
11/27/06 11:30 PM
lmg said...
Just stunning! I have this pattern and had some of the same issues with the collar and cuffs. Thanks for all the detailed information!
11/27/06 11:59 PM
sewsally said...
I love this blouse. You may have convinced me to try a Marfy pattern.
11/28/06 1:08 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Debra! I always recognise your work as you have such a distinctive, unqiue style.
11/28/06 2:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Debra! I always recognise your work as you have such a distinctive, unqiue style.
11/28/06 2:54 AM
AnneM said...
Oooh, aaaah. That looks fantastic. I hate the Marfy line drawings; your blouse gives a better idea of what to expect. Fantastic job, and great info in your review.
11/28/06 8:34 AM
seams_sew said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color and the collar and cuffs! How long did it take you to do this?
11/28/06 8:37 AM
seams_sew said...
Beautiful blouse! I love the color and the collar and cuffs! How long did it take you to do this?
11/28/06 8:56 AM
OP Gal said...
Truly stunning top. Thanks for all the detail in the review. Though it will probably be a while before I tackle a Marfy, your clear description of many steps are always useful to keep in mind for similar projects.
11/28/06 9:00 AM
memmy said...
A really great job Debra. Thanks for the review. I was wondering if i could use my trusty shirt maker pattern and create the collar and cuffs like this ?? What do you think . I think that the collar edge is on the fold isnt it?? I have seen gathered collars like this where the gathering is mounted onto a flat undercollar. I saw this on a really beautiful coat with ahuge rounded peter pan style collar. Is there ay shaping on the seam which attached to the garment?? Thanks for you insights I am printing this review off to keep
11/28/06 8:42 PM
Debra H said...
Memmy and others...I think you could make your own version of this collar by making the seams to be gathered about 60% longer than usual. It was a shaped edge but hard to describe. I would be happy to email a photo of the upper collar piece to anyone who contacts me about it.
11/28/06 10:11 PM
memmy said...
my email is mari@wrhc.com.au. Thanks for that
11/30/06 6:03 PM
SBanks said...
The fabric is such a gorgeous shade! I love dyeing and discharging fabrics. I love what you did with such a stylish pattern, even though it probaby was not designed for velvet!
12/2/06 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now