SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4606 (Easy Endless Options)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1216 times 
Reviewed by:Jeans
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jeans
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/2/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/06 4:52 AM
Last Updated:1/18/07 7:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Lovely fabric, colour combination and outfit. I agree, shortening the sleeves a tad will be a good alteration and that's any easy one. Thanks for sharing :)))
11/27/06 7:40 AM
cecelia said...
Jeans, I just got back into sewing after a long dry spell too. Just take your time and enjoy. There are so many new things to learn now, but it's worth it.
11/27/06 8:42 AM
Mini said...
Don't worry about the facings-they wil get easier. Microfiber and other synthetics can be hard to press properly and don't respond to shaping as well as natural fiber or blended fabrics, so that may account for the difficulty. Rayon, cotton, or linen fabrics and blends would be great for this pattern. Your project still turned out well, and now you have a good basic pattern that can be used again and again:).
11/27/06 10:14 AM
PKPudlin said...
I have this pattern too and love it. Very nice choice of fabrics and colors - they go together well! Don't worry about alterations - shortening hems and sleeves is easy, and you'll be back up to speed in no time. Nice job!
11/27/06 11:10 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your outfit is lovely! And now that you know how it fits, you can make those alterations next time. I must agree with Mini, some of the synthetics don't hold a press or drape as well as some of the natural fibers--it just depends on the particular fabric. Hope you got the bug and keep on sewing!
11/27/06 12:04 PM
mClones said...
Nice ensemble. There's no reason you can't shorten the sleeves now. Then it will be just perfect!
11/27/06 2:29 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great beginner project (or getting back into it) and it came out nice. Alterations are hard for me and I've been doing them for years now so don't get discouraged. Just keep on sewing and trying out different alterations. You might want to save your good fabric and make up a test garment first. Then you can work out the fitting problems before you sewing into the good stuff. A cheap fabric with the same drape and stretch as your fashion fabric would do nicely for a test garment. Don't sew on facings, collars, hems, etc. into the test garment because you'll be throwing it away after your final garment is completed. Also, invest in a good alterations book like Fit for Real People (FFRP) by Palmer and Alto. It's really the Bible for those who want great fit.
11/27/06 5:58 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I like the sleeve length - very chic!
11/27/06 9:42 PM
Jeans said...
Thanks PRs for all your reply's :-) Thanks for your help Mini & Franatic you are right.... the Microfiber was a bit hard to Iron its got some crepe in it too....I just contuied to Iron till the creases came out....It was no real drama...I might try natural fibers like Mini and Franatic said....thanks for your help and advice gals...Thanks to all... McClones... I think that I will shorten the sleeves.... it's not to late :-)
11/28/06 2:09 AM
AnneM said...
Great outfit! Love the style. And when wearing it, it's hard to tell if sleeves are a little long since you're moving around anyway. Even as-is you probably won't find as nice an outfit in ready-to-wear.
11/28/06 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Jeans it looks good - why not shorten the skirt and sleeves now - it's not too late and if you feel that would make it look better no reason why you shouldn't do it now. Good color combo. Spoke to my relos near Cairns and hear it was near 100 - that's hot!!
11/28/06 9:04 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your jacket looks really nice! Lovely color and style.
11/28/06 4:36 PM
Tesla121 said...
I love the fabric! The sleeves are a tad long, but that's an easy fix, and it probably isn't noticable when you're moving about. Welcome back to the world of sewing!
11/28/06 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8259

photo
by: becca a

Review
Kwik Sew 3290

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now