Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kayla Kennington: 425 (Cross Over Top) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1057 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:moss
photo
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/06 3:17 PM
Last Updated:11/28/06 3:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Great job. I love your fabric combination. That red just elevates the whole thing.
11/28/06 4:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No tracing necessary to add a seam allowance - a rotary cutter with a guide arm, and you can measure and cut at the same time... Very nice coat though :-).
11/28/06 5:21 PM
Elona said...
I would never have spotted this one, at least not from the line drawing on the envelope, but this is really cute. In fact, I just ordered the pattern for a friend of mine; I think she will love it.
11/28/06 6:08 PM
Sanibelle said...
What a wonderful way to wrap oneself up! I've loved all the projects you've shared with us so far.
11/28/06 6:55 PM
AnneM said...
Some interesting patterns in this line. Neat top, makes a fun jacket.
11/29/06 5:51 AM
moss said...
Thanks so much. PatternReview is a great motivator to finish the project and show it off! :)
11/29/06 7:36 AM
seams_sew said...
That looks great! And very comfortable.
12/1/06 8:55 AM
ACB said...
Lovely, beautiful fabric.
12/1/06 3:50 PM
Annika said...
Whoa! How did I miss this review??? Your coat is FABULOUS!
3/9/07 6:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks! Very helpful review.
4/14/09 10:29 AM
Kayla Kennington said...
Hey, Thanks , and sorry about the seams thing! But let me explain; there are quite a few reasons for the lack of seam allowances in my patterns. First; I provide a few different creative seaming construction techniques in each pattern. Each pattern has 3 or 4 complete sets of instructions; each requiring a different seam width. I use 1/4" for my serged seams but when I am working with silks and self-line the panels it helps to have a much wider seam allowance, and then trim it back. Another reason is to leave the opportunity for creative alterations. For instance you have a small piece of gorgeous embroidered silk or hand painted..., but it's only 5 inches wide, without the seam allowances it is easy to cut the panels into two pieces, or tape together one panel and cut the next, then add the seam allowances, therefore being able to use those special treasured fabrics, without having to wait for the perfect size pattern piece to come along. And, as a pattern maker I like to provide 6 sizes in each pattern; however stacking 6 sizes and including the seam allowances sometimes makes it very difficult for the sewer to identify the correct cutting lines. And Personally, or with my students, I/we don't bother to make a new pattern with seam allowances; we just cut approximate 1/4 inch allowance around the edges of the pattern piece (or whatever width)...the patterns are not meant to be "fitted", it there is "fit" it is by ties. BTW the traditional look of Couture Artwear is an "oversize" fit (however I see the same styles moving closer to the body in the last few years). And since there is no "stress" on the seams; I don't feel an accurate seam allowance is necessary. Granted; this is a different way of sewing....I have written quite a few articles for Threads, and have been teaching nationally for the past 7 years. I am trying to communicate new ways of approaching sewing, which is a difficult task to accomplish in one pattern...but thanks again for the review, Kayla
5/17/09 3:06 PM
Kayla Kennington said...
Oh...and BEAUTIFUL piece! Kayla
5/17/09 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us