SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6567 (Misses Dress)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1656 times 
Reviewed by:slanden99
photo

 
 
About slanden99starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/14/05
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 39 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/06 4:13 PM
Last Updated:11/30/06 4:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
I vote "Keep At It"...It's a cute dress and will look great the next time you sew it. Thanks for all the details in your review.
11/30/06 4:26 PM
Donna H said...
I vote "Keep At It"...It's a cute dress and will look great the next time you sew it. Thanks for all the details in your review.
11/30/06 4:26 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I like that neck line on you and you did a wonderful job "altering" it. I know where you are coming from on an easy pattern becoming a project...but your dress really looks cute on you!
11/30/06 5:03 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very thorough review. Thank you!! (You could also look at leopard shoes, if that's "your thing"... Sure is mine!) Have fun at Christmas outings, all "prettied up"!
11/30/06 5:20 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress looks lovely--your fixes worked well. I recently had the same fitting problems with a different N.L. princess-style pattern--on a student's 20-something figure that theoretically would be quite close to their fit model. The photo of the model on the pattern envelope shows the same bunchiness around the upper bust. Maybe it's the way the N.L. sloper is designed.
11/30/06 5:58 PM
carolynw said...
Oh what a beautiful and graceful dress - looks so nice on you. Wonderful job on a pattern that seems to have given you quite a time of it!!
11/30/06 6:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
It's a very classic style, so I think it was worth your time and effort to alter it to fit. Now that you've got it looking so nice on you, I hope you'll make many more.
11/30/06 6:54 PM
SexiSadi said...
I think it's a nice dress. Nice color.
11/30/06 7:10 PM
drsue said...
It was just too big on you. This is why I like to start with size 4's. smaller is better.
11/30/06 10:10 PM
patsijean said...
I really like this red dress on you. Now that you have the pattern adjusted to fit you well, use your favorite method to make it permanent. It will be a quick, attractive and versatile pattern now that it is fixed.
12/1/06 0:22 AM
Patti B said...
Of course you need red shoes! All of your efforts were worth it but how frustrating to have to do them. I'm about to decide that NL dress patterns just run short so it's definitely something to watch out for.
12/1/06 9:10 AM
Nancy K said...
I think that you are unrealistic if you expect that a pattern will fit you out of the envelope. Also, check the size you are using. The muslin was just too big aside from other fitting issues. You might be happier with the fit of a European pattern, as they have less ease. Now that you know that you have a high bust and narrow shoulders. You will need to do these adjustments on any pattern regardless of the brand. You should flat measure your pattern before cutting it out even for a muslin. You can also pin and try on the pattern before cutting the muslin. You should do length before width adjustments. This is not that hard to do and after a while it doesn't take that long to do. I think that your shoulders are even narrower than you have adjusted for. The shoulder seam seems a bit off the shoulder to me. That said, the dress looks good on you and you should be proud of yourself for persevering! Remember that the more fitted the dress the more it has to be right on in fit.
12/1/06 9:35 AM
pterion said...
I think it actually looks quite nice on you. A great style and color for you. You certainly put a lot of work into it, now go buy yourself some pretty shoes to match!
12/1/06 9:54 AM
slanden99 said...
Nancy- I actually do NOT have a high bust--I have only run into this problem twice before (with a LH pattern and Ottobre woman). My upper chest and shoulders are usually only 1 size smaller than my back--not 4 sizes. Yes, the shoulders are still slightly wide, but I don't think it's worth resetting the sleeves for 1/4 inch. The back fit me quite well except for the length adjustment. I listed my adjustments in the order I thought of them, not the order I actually did them--you were assuming wrongly. I don't think I'm unrealistic, just practical--I'll stick with patterns where I don't need to redraft the entire front to make it fit me (such as McCalls, Butterick, and especially Vogue). I always expect to narrow the front slightly, do an SBA, and widen for my tummy. I find muslins more accurate than pin-fitting. Next time, be a little kinder in your comments.
12/1/06 10:24 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Sladen, I think it looks lovely, red's one of my favorite colors. Could someone please point me to a link with instructions on how to do a SBA?
12/1/06 5:46 PM
dreamdesigner said...

12/1/06 5:47 PM
OP Gal said...
The dress looks great on you. Sorry you had so much trouble with the pattern.
12/1/06 6:20 PM
slanden99 said...
dreamdesigner--this webpage has pattern alterations http://www.cahe.nmsu.edu/pubs/_c/c-228.html , but for princess seams a SBA is different. Fold out 1/2 inch from the center front at the bustline. For the side front, trim away some of the excess curve, then cut along the bustline to the side seamline. Make a hinge at the side seam by clipping through the seam allowance, then overlap the top and bottom of the pattern piece by 1/2 inch at the side front seamline (where it attaches to the center front). The 1/2 inch will taper to nothing as you go closer to the side seams. (1/2 inch is for going down one cup size). Bustline=horizontal line that goes through the bust apex (where the most amount of curve is at the side front) Hope this helps.
12/2/06 9:35 AM
Sewshot said...
Congratulations on producing a very pretty dress. I'm especially interested in your experience with the fit of this pattern, since I have been struggling with an opposite problem on a Burda pattern, where the bust length is much shorter than the fitting chart indicates. I measured the flat pattern before making a muslin, and realized that the point of the bust dart would be above the fullest part of the bust, so had to lengthen where you shortened. I'm learning a lot by having to make these changes, but frustrated that the fitting chart doesn't match the pattern! Two muslins I've made bear the measurements out.
12/3/06 1:40 AM
AnneM said...
Love your dress, lost track of your adjustments! This is a great style, & I will have to try it. I seem to have trouble w/ New Look as well, so I'll probalby try a DIFFERENT version of the style. :) They must not work that well for our shape (I'm a little larger than you but in the same ballpark).
12/6/06 4:51 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Sladen, I'm a little slow on the uptake here. Thank you for the website for the bust adjustment. I think I already had that site bookmarked, but I'm not most organized. Thanks again!
12/10/06 1:35 PM
U. Chicago said...
Thank you so much for the comprehensive review! New Look does seem to run a bit big. I have a similar problem with a small bust yet broad-ish shoulders. Your careful recounting of all your adjustments will save me a lot of heartache. Or else I'll just try McCall's 8572 instead.
7/22/07 7:47 PM
Marie05 said...
It really turned out great! Looks like it could get lots of use. I love the red colotr! It's simple yet elegant! I'll keep the adjustments in mind for when I start mine.
12/14/07 10:37 PM
Celeste said...
I love the color too but it looks like you still could have gone down one size. After years and years of sewing am I beginning to learn to go down a size if you are anywhere near a petite or have small shoulders, etc... you can always widen in the waist, hip area but it's so important that the shoulders and bust are right.
3/12/08 8:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review
McCall's 8777

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now