Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2679 (Sport Jackets for Women) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1709 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/06 8:11 PM
Last Updated:11/30/06 8:11 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Very slick looking!
11/30/06 8:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
I'm amazed that you made this in 2.5 hours! It is really cute and definitely not bland.
11/30/06 8:26 PM
crisford said...
Very nice job on your jacket! I have this pattern waiting on my sewing table. On one hand, I wonder if all the pattern pieces are really necessary, on the other hand, I like all the sporty seams, and nice shaping design. Love the multi-sizing on the Jalie patterns-- I will be making one for my 5-year old daughter first!
11/30/06 8:30 PM
SewingSkater said...
crisford- if you dont want to make all the pieces, I definitely think you could put the front 3 pieces together (overlap the seam allowances) and cut as one piece. You wouldn't get the pockets, but it would be quicker and you'd get a fast idea of how it fits.
11/30/06 8:32 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
That looks great, Leslie! Love the color blocking and that cool above bust seam. Can you believe I'm only just now tracing off my jacket pattern and you've already finished yours?! (Actually, there's no surprise in that...you're a speed demon!)
11/30/06 8:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome jacket! Finished in 2.5hours - you must sew as fast as you skate. :)
11/30/06 9:02 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I has missed this pattern ... I may have to pick this one up! I love the lines of this jacket and you did a wonderful job! I wonder if I could make this with a waterproof outer layer ...
11/30/06 9:30 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That looks fabulous! And I learned about a new to me fabric. Thanks.
11/30/06 9:45 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I loved this jacket when I first saw it and it looks ever better now that I've seen it made up! Thanks for the review - your jacket looks great.
11/30/06 10:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
You said it best: "the look is really sporty." It looks like high-end sportswear. Great job!
11/30/06 10:04 PM
Mrs.Moos said...
It is nice to see you posting --haven't seen anything from you lately! Great job on the jacket--but your stuff always turns out great. Those colors are good on you too!
11/30/06 10:04 PM
Pyrose said...
2.5 hours?! Okay, now I'm jealous! You look marvelous in your jacket. Love the colors. I also need to work on my topstitching....it's downright terrible!
11/30/06 10:07 PM
SewingSkater said...
Hi Lorna - I'm guessing you could definitely make it with a waterproof outer layer... just size up a bit to account for the loss of stretch. I'm thinking about making this one in Malden's windbloc fabric....
11/30/06 10:31 PM
CarolynD said...
Very cute and smart looking jacket.
11/30/06 11:22 PM
sew obsessed said...
Great jacket-great review. It's nice to see you posting again. I have missed reading your reviews. Love the colors on you.
11/30/06 11:43 PM
frame said...
Great jacket. Beautiful color.
11/30/06 11:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous SewingSkater !!! I too have missed you and your reviews. Thanks for sharing :))
12/1/06 2:17 AM
keelyb1 said...
Wonderful jacket - and 2.5 hours, Wow!
12/1/06 5:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Looks great on you! I'm just amazed that fleece can look so stylish! :)
12/1/06 6:53 AM
Nickle said...
Great looking jacket, looks comfy.
12/1/06 7:18 AM
slanden99 said...
Wow, that's a great jacket. I like the blue/black color combo with the black zippers and thread--looks very professional
12/1/06 9:40 AM
suzanrossi said...
Very nice! Fits like a dream and very sharp lines. I too find topstitching rather terrifying. I read an article recently that had suggestions - loosening the tension, adjusting pressure foot (lighter). I wasn't using topstitching thread or needle. I had less puckering but puckers were still a problem around curves I noticed. Anybody got suggestions??
12/1/06 9:50 AM
pterion said...
What a terrific looking jacket. The lines on this Jalie style are so much more flattering than the similar KwikSew jacket pattern I just bought. Might have to pick this one up.
12/1/06 9:57 AM
mrspenguin said...
Very cozy and feminine looking. Great job!
12/1/06 10:35 AM
Donna H said...
Very cool jacket! Love your fabric choices.
12/1/06 12:06 PM
Janime said...
Cool jacket!
12/1/06 1:00 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket! And so good to see a new review from you Leslie!
12/1/06 1:29 PM
KarenP said...
Wow! Seeing your review makes me want to go out and sew myself a powerstretch sport jacket! Yours looks fantastic.
12/1/06 2:46 PM
ACB said...
Great job, it looks so detailed!
12/1/06 3:10 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fab jacket!
12/1/06 5:30 PM
jnamcd said...
Awesome!
12/1/06 6:16 PM
Erica B. said...
great looking jacket.
12/1/06 7:35 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket looks great on you and looks so comfy. I love the detail of the above bust curved seam. It's good to see you reviewing again.
12/1/06 8:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket.
12/2/06 9:00 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great jacket! It looks really cozy and stylish. The shaping is great.
12/4/06 1:10 PM
AnneM said...
Looks perfect in the picture! I'm still laying out my pattern in 2.5 hours! (Ok, I'm exaggerating slightly. But not much.)
12/6/06 5:00 PM
Athene said...
You look great in this jacket. Thank you for the very helpful review.
6/3/07 2:12 AM
chango said...
Thanks for the review, it looks really great on you! I had this pattern in my hand today, but I put it back at the last minute to buy something else, I will go back and buy it, can't wait to try it myself!
3/28/09 7:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5472
photo
Review by PittyPat on 12/1/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 2002 Sewing for Beginners Wrap Skirt
photo
Review by celeste on 5/29/06
Read Review

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8517 Pattern
Burda 8517 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6741 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us