SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4280 (Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1269 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/06 9:36 AM
Last Updated:12/1/06 9:42 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharon M said...
I *knew* I remembered seeing a review using this fabric from you. I just purchased something similar to this from Mill End Textiles in Crystal. I loved your jacket when I first read the review and when I saw that denim I quickly purchased some so I too could make a jacket. Boy, it sure is messy to work with!
9/24/07 2:28 PM
AnneM said...
When I 1st looked at the picture, I thought it was a sweater knit! What a neat jacket, and congrats on finishing it by your deadline. (ETA: I guess I'm not the only one fooled on the fabric in the picture.)
12/2/06 3:34 PM
Elemenopeo said...
This is a cool jacket and fits you so well.
12/2/06 2:06 PM
seams_sew said...
Nice jacket. I saw that fabric at the store and loved it. Thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 8:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Really neat looking jacket! Love the fabric choice and the results. You did agreat job!
12/2/06 7:20 AM
2BSewing said...
Becky...your jacket is beautiful! I love the fabric. You did a great job. Thanks for a wonderful review and providing pictures. :)
12/1/06 10:17 PM
Rhoda K said...
I've never heard of distressed denim, but what a neat jacket. Just gorgeous.
12/1/06 9:58 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great jacket!!! It looks terrific with that unique fabric!
12/1/06 9:57 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great jacket!!! It looks terrific with that unique fabric!
12/1/06 9:56 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful jacket! Very cool fabric and the collar treatment is fab. I thought I saw you at the Mpls expo. And darn...I can't believe I passed on buying some of this denim!
12/1/06 9:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
When I opened up your picture, after I admired the lovely jacket shape, I became intrigued with the fabric. I was so surprised when I read that it was denim! The way you frayed the collar edges is just wonderful. The extra pains you took on interfacing and lining and stabilizing really paid off in a lovely jacket.
12/1/06 8:19 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Very cool fabric! I didn't realize it was denim until I read the review. Great jacket on you!!
12/1/06 6:12 PM
KarenP said...
Cute jacket! This looks like a great pattern.
12/1/06 5:36 PM
carolynw said...
I really like this - it's my kind of jacket style. Your fabric is fantastic. Thanks for such a helpful review
12/1/06 5:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What an unusual jacket and fabric. Great job.
12/1/06 5:10 PM
EmmyNel said...
It is a thrill to see my fellow ASG member and friend posting her great jacket on pattern review -- and I remember the gown the lining material made first. The fit is great -- can't wait to see it at neighborhood group.
12/1/06 3:06 PM
ACB said...
Love your jacket! Your fabric choice is great.
12/1/06 3:03 PM
touran said...
I'd never have guessed that was a denim fabric. It looks textured and snuggly. The jacket looks great on you.
12/1/06 2:22 PM
Vonnevo said...
Becky, your prior preparation and planning really paid off with this beautiful, eye catching jacket. I too thought it was a knit or boucle, it's fabulous. Thank you for detailing your sewing journey, it will help anyone else immensely.
12/1/06 2:00 PM
Carolyndh said...
Like some others I thought the fabric was boucle or sweater knit! Denim looks fantastic this way! I love the effect you have created here.
12/1/06 1:48 PM
cecelia said...
I really like the jacket--it fits you perfectly and sounds like a dream to wear--never would've guessed it's denim though.
12/1/06 1:48 PM
Dale C said...
What a great pattern for playing with. Simple, classic, and quick. I love the way yours came out and I'll look forward to seeing the changes you make to it.
12/1/06 1:32 PM
Janime said...
Cool jacket!
12/1/06 1:06 PM
Erica B. said...
Great jacket!
12/1/06 12:39 PM
Pinkytoo said...
I LOVE IT!! I'm now thinking of making one with a zip front, thanks for the review!
12/1/06 12:05 PM
Donna H said...
WOW, your jacket looks great! When I first saw the thumbnail I thought it was a sweater knit type fabric. Denim!! Just fabulous. I want to sew as great as you do!!! Very very nice. Thanks for all the details. Your drafting and muslins paid off and encourge me to do the same.
12/1/06 11:43 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Hi Becky, I saw the fabric at the expo and you did a beatiful jacket with it! Looks like ColdwaterCreek! Very professional. Excellent review. Thanks for taking the time to detail. I learned a lot from you. Could you tell me which sewing guild you belong to? I am from Bloomington and want to learn to sew like you! , Laurie
12/1/06 11:31 AM
mkhpaintsew said...
Great jacket. It fits so nicely and the fabric is wonderful.
12/1/06 10:59 AM
Mermie said...
I love your jacket and your review is excellent. The fabric is gorgeous.
12/1/06 10:37 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice jacket. The fabric looks very dressy on the picture.(I know you wanted casual) Was surprised to find out it was distressed denim. Cool jacket/cool fabric.
12/1/06 10:23 AM
Nickle said...
Gorgeous jacket- looks great on you. I love the fabric.
12/1/06 10:14 AM
pterion said...
I love love love this jacket! The unusual fabric, the tweaking to get the perfect fit, the lining...it's perfect. Can't wait to see it in embroidered microsuede!
12/1/06 10:11 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautiful! The pattern adjusting knowledge you have acquired is undoubtably one reason this jacket is so becoming!
12/1/06 10:05 AM
ValerieJ said...
I am so impressed with all the alterations you made on this jacket and the time you took to think through all of the little details. Hard to believe this was a "simple" project for you!
12/1/06 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now