SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 09-2006-410 (Blouse)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1052 times 
Reviewed by:Kathi R
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kathi Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/06 8:49 PM
Last Updated:12/1/06 8:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
threadbearer said...
Thankyou for your review and for the great idea about cutting the side pieces on the bias!
8/1/07 9:37 PM
Elaray said...
I just finished a wearable muslin of this pattern. I wish I'd seen your review first. I love the idea of the DPC placket. When I make the "real shirt" I'll have to remeber to do that.
3/7/07 11:05 AM
artist1lisa said...
I realy like this shirt.It looks so professional and smart.The stripe detail is a great designer move.You did a fantastic job.
12/5/06 9:03 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Love your shirt ... and the multi fabric muslin is really helpful to see all the design lines
12/3/06 4:52 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, inspirational stuff. I know what you mean about special design lines for plus sizes, thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 10:00 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, inspirational stuff. I know what you mean about special design lines for plus sizes, thanks for a great review.
12/2/06 9:52 PM
beangirl said...
So classy! I love your blouse, it looks wonderful! Ok, next time you WILL model it yourself, right? Right.
12/2/06 8:33 PM
Kathi R said...
Good catch on the date of the issue -- I guessed since I can't read the magazine I'm working from the website doesn't indicate the date of the current issue.
12/2/06 6:35 PM
SueV said...
Very nice Kathi, you did a great job. Love the way you did the stripes and the buttons too! Thanks for sharing
12/2/06 4:34 PM
LauraTS said...
Oops, double post
12/2/06 1:56 PM
LauraTS said...
I love the side panels on the bias with stripes, looks really together. Re Burda Plus - I thought they only did 2 issues a year, neither in December...?
12/2/06 1:10 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I love this!! And I am SO copying it. It was already on my list, but I really like it with the stripes.
12/2/06 11:32 AM
cecelia said...
Nice styling in the shirt for plus sizes, and I love your muslin--there is a use for my scraps!
12/2/06 10:18 AM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you for this review. Excellent work on the blouse. Also, thank you for posting the picture of your muslin. I just had a "why haven't I thought of that??" moment.
12/2/06 9:20 AM
blue mooney said...
What a nice shirt! This is a great basic-with-a-twist pattern. I love the way you handled those stripes.
12/2/06 7:42 AM
Caitycat said...
Mmmm, my copy of Burda Plus came today, and I'm convinced that this shirt is a must-sew! You're so right - it's fantastic to see a plus pattern with real style lines and flattering curves.
12/2/06 7:32 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely blouse. Really like the look of the style.
12/2/06 7:27 AM
Ruth C said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this--I'm planning to sew this after I get the Christmas stuff done. Your blouse is lovely! By the way: did you have to do any kind of full bust adjustment? I usually need one and have been trying to figure out how to do it on this pattern.
12/2/06 0:59 AM
KarmenG said...
Great job with the stripes! Your blouse looks fabulous, and the sleeve placket is very crisp and precise. And I like the button placement. Congrats! Like you, I feel those pattern lines can be overwhelming but it looks like you mastered the process.
12/2/06 0:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This one is on my list too. Did you have to do many alterations? I'd love to see you wearing it as the magazine never shows it very well on the model. Why I can't figure out. Yours looks great.
12/1/06 11:50 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very classy! I have had my eye on this one too--glad that it really looks as great as it does in the magazine. Great job!
12/1/06 11:34 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! Great looking final project. Wonderful use of the stripes. I saw where you had made the muslin and was glad to see that this pattern fit well. I can't wait to make myself. Thanks for the detailed review. I didn't realize it had a sleeve placket, though...gulp!
12/1/06 10:52 PM
Vonnevo said...
Kathi this is a masterpiece !! Definitely has that top end style. First the Burda jeans and now the Burda WOF blouse. I can forsee this will be a great basic pattern for many shirts to come. Congratulations :)
12/1/06 10:13 PM
ryan's mom said...
I love how you handled those stripes! It sure makes for an eye-catching blouse and unique blouse.
12/1/06 10:04 PM
ACB said...
Love it, great use of stripes.
12/1/06 9:33 PM
licarritc said...
I saw your muslin and thought it was great! The real thing is very classy. Burda seems to understand that we are bigger but we still have a shape and they design for that.
12/1/06 9:25 PM
mClones said...
Your shirt looks so smart. I love how you handled the stripes.
12/1/06 9:20 PM
mastdenman said...
Ooooh, I like your shirt. I guess that means that I have to dig this one out and try it. I never have any shirts that I really like.
12/1/06 9:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now