SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Onion> 1032: jacket (Jacket for felted wool and kni)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1546 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/06 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Very beautiful. I love that sweater knit fabric. Thanks for reminding me about Power Sewing. I need to read up on "bagging a lining" again. Enjoy your WARM jacket up there in the cold! (btw it's 7 degrees here in WA). Thanks.
12/2/06 10:57 AM
oracle said...
Very nice. Very, very nice.
12/2/06 11:04 AM
drsue said...
I love your version on this, including the lining idea. this jacket has many possibilities. I'm almost done with my second one.
12/2/06 11:09 AM
Diane E said...
Barbara, I was just wondering when I'd see a new review from you and here you are! This jacket is very pretty. I really love the shape and the lining idea is terrific. Thanks.
12/2/06 11:19 AM
Elona said...
Lovely jacket. Actually, I think your photo is beautiful in itself--what a symphony of Fall colors! Pretty as a picture, as they say.
12/2/06 11:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful! I've been thinking about getting some Onion patterns, and your review cements it!
12/2/06 11:38 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket and colors on you! It defintely says "cute."
12/2/06 11:44 AM
Karen Easter said...
Barbara, I hope that somebody makes a print of this photograph and frames it! Just beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
12/2/06 11:49 AM
Karen Easter said...
Barbara, I hope that somebody makes a print of this photograph and frames it! Just beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
12/2/06 12:05 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your nice comments, everyone! Karen, the skirt is Christine Jonson's pattern number 1219. I made the "A Line" skirt, but this version is actually two sizes bigger than my measurements would indicate, as I really wanted a loose drapy look. (The elastic waist, however, was cut to match the size indicated for my measurements - so I ended up with a lot of gathering at the waist, which worked fine for this particular fabric, as it was so floaty.)
12/2/06 12:22 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - Onion patterns just do no grab me from their line drawings and then a see an outfit like this and think I must try it. You look as always wonderful in your outfit!!
12/2/06 12:25 PM
LauraTS said...
Gorgeous fabric and I love how the style looks made up (it's always hard for me to picture from drawings).
12/2/06 1:00 PM
jo37 said...
Great jacket. I need to check out this pattern and fabric.
12/2/06 1:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
oohhh. That is so beautiful -- the jacket, skirt, top, and landscape -- just everything. I have this pattern traced and ready to go but nothing suitable for it in my stash. I hadn't thought to try a sweater knit, so your review gives me some ideas.
12/2/06 1:38 PM
Vonnevo said...
barbara, your jacket is fabulous and so stylish :))
12/2/06 2:09 PM
Erica B. said...
Barbara, your jacket is fantastic.
12/2/06 2:33 PM
Jan B. said...
Your ensemble is so pretty as is the setting. Onion should use your photo for their envelope illustration. They'd sell many more patterns.
12/2/06 2:52 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for showing us this jacket made up in the knit fabric. The whole outfit is beautiful.
12/2/06 3:19 PM
LMH said...
Hmm, I know what pattern I'm getting! Your jacket (and the skirt) looks wonderful.
12/2/06 3:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
You look so cuddly! Love the whole outfit.
12/2/06 5:22 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, love the style and color.
12/2/06 5:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket! It looks warm and has lots of shape. The whole outfit is lovely.
12/2/06 5:55 PM
2BSewing said...
Barbara...Your jacket is wonderful. Love the fabric and color on you. Great pictures. I am patiently waiting for my "Power Sewing" to arrive from Taunton. I also like your top. What pattern did you use for that?
12/2/06 7:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh - I love it! That is so cool, and retro in a very modern way at the same time.
12/2/06 7:22 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful jacket and the color is divine. Thanks for the info on lining it.
12/2/06 7:39 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful jacket and the color is divine. Thanks for the info on lining it.
12/2/06 7:42 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket.
12/2/06 8:40 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very sleek looking sweater jacket/coat! I like the looks of what you are wearing with the coat also. Nice combination.
12/2/06 9:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice!
12/2/06 10:35 PM
frame said...
Beautiful.
12/2/06 10:56 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is beautiful on you! The combination of the lovely sweater knit fabric and pattern are fabulous. Thanks for the great review.
12/2/06 11:16 PM
krystalkaes said...
Beautiful!
12/3/06 3:02 AM
rmardel said...
Greaet jacket. It looks so lovely on you and the entire outfit is so chic and stylish and still comfy cuddly looking! I had been eyeing that pattern, eyeing Onions patterns in general but hadn't yet taken the plunge. Now I must.
12/3/06 8:06 AM
pamici said...
This is a gorgeous outfit, and I love what you did with your top -- Clever!
12/3/06 8:24 AM
mudcat said...
Lovely jacket.
12/3/06 1:09 PM
ACB said...
Very chic, great review.
12/3/06 3:13 PM
xela said...
Loved your outfit so much I jumped to Onion a purchased featured pattern and a few others. Hope mine turns out as beautiful as your. What does NAYY mean? Thanks
12/3/06 4:26 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks Xela - NAYY means, "No Affiliation Yadda Yadda". It's a shorthand expression to say that the recommendation for the product mentioned is wholly impartial.
12/3/06 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Love your description of the look. And it is cute. Looks great in that fabric.
12/4/06 3:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8414

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Ottobre Design 303

photo
by: boppingbet...

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now