Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Onion: 1032: jacket (Jacket for felted wool and kni) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1546 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/06 10:52 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Very beautiful. I love that sweater knit fabric. Thanks for reminding me about Power Sewing. I need to read up on "bagging a lining" again. Enjoy your WARM jacket up there in the cold! (btw it's 7 degrees here in WA). Thanks.
12/2/06 10:57 AM
oracle said...
Very nice. Very, very nice.
12/2/06 11:04 AM
drsue said...
I love your version on this, including the lining idea. this jacket has many possibilities. I'm almost done with my second one.
12/2/06 11:09 AM
Diane E said...
Barbara, I was just wondering when I'd see a new review from you and here you are! This jacket is very pretty. I really love the shape and the lining idea is terrific. Thanks.
12/2/06 11:19 AM
Elona said...
Lovely jacket. Actually, I think your photo is beautiful in itself--what a symphony of Fall colors! Pretty as a picture, as they say.
12/2/06 11:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful! I've been thinking about getting some Onion patterns, and your review cements it!
12/2/06 11:38 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket and colors on you! It defintely says "cute."
12/2/06 11:44 AM
Karen Easter said...
Barbara, I hope that somebody makes a print of this photograph and frames it! Just beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
12/2/06 11:49 AM
Karen Easter said...
Barbara, I hope that somebody makes a print of this photograph and frames it! Just beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
12/2/06 12:05 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks for your nice comments, everyone! Karen, the skirt is Christine Jonson's pattern number 1219. I made the "A Line" skirt, but this version is actually two sizes bigger than my measurements would indicate, as I really wanted a loose drapy look. (The elastic waist, however, was cut to match the size indicated for my measurements - so I ended up with a lot of gathering at the waist, which worked fine for this particular fabric, as it was so floaty.)
12/2/06 12:22 PM
carolynw said...
I love this - Onion patterns just do no grab me from their line drawings and then a see an outfit like this and think I must try it. You look as always wonderful in your outfit!!
12/2/06 12:25 PM
LauraTS said...
Gorgeous fabric and I love how the style looks made up (it's always hard for me to picture from drawings).
12/2/06 1:00 PM
jo37 said...
Great jacket. I need to check out this pattern and fabric.
12/2/06 1:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
oohhh. That is so beautiful -- the jacket, skirt, top, and landscape -- just everything. I have this pattern traced and ready to go but nothing suitable for it in my stash. I hadn't thought to try a sweater knit, so your review gives me some ideas.
12/2/06 1:38 PM
Vonnevo said...
barbara, your jacket is fabulous and so stylish :))
12/2/06 2:09 PM
Erica B. said...
Barbara, your jacket is fantastic.
12/2/06 2:33 PM
Jan B. said...
Your ensemble is so pretty as is the setting. Onion should use your photo for their envelope illustration. They'd sell many more patterns.
12/2/06 2:52 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you for showing us this jacket made up in the knit fabric. The whole outfit is beautiful.
12/2/06 3:19 PM
LMH said...
Hmm, I know what pattern I'm getting! Your jacket (and the skirt) looks wonderful.
12/2/06 3:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
You look so cuddly! Love the whole outfit.
12/2/06 5:22 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, love the style and color.
12/2/06 5:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely jacket! It looks warm and has lots of shape. The whole outfit is lovely.
12/2/06 5:55 PM
2BSewing said...
Barbara...Your jacket is wonderful. Love the fabric and color on you. Great pictures. I am patiently waiting for my "Power Sewing" to arrive from Taunton. I also like your top. What pattern did you use for that?
12/2/06 7:08 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh - I love it! That is so cool, and retro in a very modern way at the same time.
12/2/06 7:22 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful jacket and the color is divine. Thanks for the info on lining it.
12/2/06 7:39 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful jacket and the color is divine. Thanks for the info on lining it.
12/2/06 7:42 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking jacket.
12/2/06 8:40 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very sleek looking sweater jacket/coat! I like the looks of what you are wearing with the coat also. Nice combination.
12/2/06 9:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice!
12/2/06 10:35 PM
frame said...
Beautiful.
12/2/06 10:56 PM
BeckyC said...
Your jacket is beautiful on you! The combination of the lovely sweater knit fabric and pattern are fabulous. Thanks for the great review.
12/2/06 11:16 PM
krystalkaes said...
Beautiful!
12/3/06 3:02 AM
rmardel said...
Greaet jacket. It looks so lovely on you and the entire outfit is so chic and stylish and still comfy cuddly looking! I had been eyeing that pattern, eyeing Onions patterns in general but hadn't yet taken the plunge. Now I must.
12/3/06 8:06 AM
pamici said...
This is a gorgeous outfit, and I love what you did with your top -- Clever!
12/3/06 8:24 AM
mudcat said...
Lovely jacket.
12/3/06 1:09 PM
ACB said...
Very chic, great review.
12/3/06 3:13 PM
xela said...
Loved your outfit so much I jumped to Onion a purchased featured pattern and a few others. Hope mine turns out as beautiful as your. What does NAYY mean? Thanks
12/3/06 4:26 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks Xela - NAYY means, "No Affiliation Yadda Yadda". It's a shorthand expression to say that the recommendation for the product mentioned is wholly impartial.
12/3/06 6:36 PM
AnneM said...
Love your description of the look. And it is cute. Looks great in that fabric.
12/4/06 3:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1283 Dress
photo
Review by meli88a on 2/21/12
Read Review

Colette Laurel Pattern (1025)
Colette Laurel Pattern (1025)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0148 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0148 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9103 1-Hour Dress
photo
Review by QuikSew on 5/12/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us