SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5007 (Jacket)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1385 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 267 (patterns: 232)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/06 11:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said... (12/4/06 11:22 PM) Reply
It is fabulous!
ryansmumAria said... (12/4/06 11:18 PM) Reply
It is fabulous!
Annika said... (12/4/06 10:38 PM) Reply
I tried this pattern and it turned into a wadder because I too had problems with the bust not working out right. Also, I'm probably the last person on earth who would look good in something so boxy...Yours looks a thousand times better than mine did, but I do agree, there's something funky about the front that needs to be altered.
Katharine in BXL said... (12/4/06 1:39 PM) Reply
I like the other collar version better too--this one seems a trifle cool for fall weather with that open collar. But your trial turned out quite wearable (especially if you don't button it or try driving!)
ACB said... (12/4/06 1:09 PM) Reply
Love your jacket. I think the fabric is great. Great review!
Leslie in Austin said... (12/4/06 11:09 AM) Reply
So excited to see that fabric used for such a cute jacket. I was coveting it, too.
melgosews said... (12/4/06 11:06 AM) Reply
Nikki, great jacket! I think this collar really balances out the hip area. I bet this cord fabric is scrumptious in person. Thanks for the review!
pterion said... (12/4/06 10:08 AM) Reply
This jacket looks terrific. It's a great style and I love the fabric you chose for it.
carolynw said... (12/4/06 9:30 AM) Reply
I like this Nikki - maybe it doesn't fit as you want but it looks really good. Perhaps a 10 is too small in the chest area? I like your review because you and I seem to have the same problem in the bust area (I refer to that as my lacking in development top) and wider hips so to avoid too much fiddling with jackets I usually go for the more boxy type. This one appeals to me.
SouthernStitch said... (12/4/06 9:27 AM) Reply
Thanks for this review - really cute jacket.
moss said... (12/4/06 8:05 AM) Reply
that jacket looks really cute in the picture. I'm glad to see that fabric used, also, because I had eyed it on fabric mart too. :)
ryan's mom said... (12/4/06 7:16 AM) Reply
Great jacket, Nikki! Thanks for the review too. I'm almost finished with a corduroy wearable muslin (no lining) of this pattern too. Agreeing with your neckline comment although mine was not lined--I had to grade the seam and cover it with same color bias binding handstitched in at the neckline. I can understand how the lining would really show up if it was not a closely matched color with the fashion fabric.
ryan's mom said... (12/4/06 7:15 AM) Reply
Great jacket, Nikki! Thanks for the review too. I'm almost finished with a corduroy wearable muslin (no lining) of this pattern too. Agreeing with your neckline comment although mine was not lined--I had to grade the seam and cover it with same color bias binding handstitched in at the neckline. I can understand how the lining would really show up if it was not a closely matched color with the fashion fabric.
Heatherrique said... (12/4/06 1:18 AM) Reply
Definitely a gorgeous jacket. You look fabulous in it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Tessuti Fave top

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Vogue Patterns 1257

photo
by: Marnie D

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details