Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5007 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1382 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/3/06 11:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Definitely a gorgeous jacket. You look fabulous in it!
12/4/06 1:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket, Nikki! Thanks for the review too. I'm almost finished with a corduroy wearable muslin (no lining) of this pattern too. Agreeing with your neckline comment although mine was not lined--I had to grade the seam and cover it with same color bias binding handstitched in at the neckline. I can understand how the lining would really show up if it was not a closely matched color with the fashion fabric.
12/4/06 7:15 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket, Nikki! Thanks for the review too. I'm almost finished with a corduroy wearable muslin (no lining) of this pattern too. Agreeing with your neckline comment although mine was not lined--I had to grade the seam and cover it with same color bias binding handstitched in at the neckline. I can understand how the lining would really show up if it was not a closely matched color with the fashion fabric.
12/4/06 7:16 AM
moss said...
that jacket looks really cute in the picture. I'm glad to see that fabric used, also, because I had eyed it on fabric mart too. :)
12/4/06 8:05 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for this review - really cute jacket.
12/4/06 9:27 AM
carolynw said...
I like this Nikki - maybe it doesn't fit as you want but it looks really good. Perhaps a 10 is too small in the chest area? I like your review because you and I seem to have the same problem in the bust area (I refer to that as my lacking in development top) and wider hips so to avoid too much fiddling with jackets I usually go for the more boxy type. This one appeals to me.
12/4/06 9:30 AM
pterion said...
This jacket looks terrific. It's a great style and I love the fabric you chose for it.
12/4/06 10:08 AM
melgosews said...
Nikki, great jacket! I think this collar really balances out the hip area. I bet this cord fabric is scrumptious in person. Thanks for the review!
12/4/06 11:06 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So excited to see that fabric used for such a cute jacket. I was coveting it, too.
12/4/06 11:09 AM
ACB said...
Love your jacket. I think the fabric is great. Great review!
12/4/06 1:09 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
I like the other collar version better too--this one seems a trifle cool for fall weather with that open collar. But your trial turned out quite wearable (especially if you don't button it or try driving!)
12/4/06 1:39 PM
Annika said...
I tried this pattern and it turned into a wadder because I too had problems with the bust not working out right. Also, I'm probably the last person on earth who would look good in something so boxy...Yours looks a thousand times better than mine did, but I do agree, there's something funky about the front that needs to be altered.
12/4/06 10:38 PM
ryansmumAria said...
It is fabulous!
12/4/06 11:18 PM
ryansmumAria said...
It is fabulous!
12/4/06 11:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by Knitz on 5/15/10
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4643
photo
Review by jessika on 3/5/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 9016 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
McCalls 2818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us