SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7754 (Misses shirts)

Viewed 1089 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/06 0:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Very pretty on you Nikki, and it looks beautifully made.
12/4/06 5:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done, Nikki. Looks very professional. Did you omit the shoulder pads? It looks like it in the picture.
12/4/06 6:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice blouse, Nikki! It looks like it would be a very versatile wardrobe staple.
12/4/06 7:09 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Nice - a very classic look!
12/4/06 7:37 AM
BeckyC said...
You look great in this blouse. After the adjustment you want to make it looks like a great pattern to use again and again.
12/4/06 8:26 AM
Marji said...
Looks like you decided not to put in the shoulder pads? It's amazing that with a pattern for a shirt that is this classic they don't put in a regular placket at the sleeve cuff. great review, thanks
12/4/06 8:58 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great shirt! Would you recommend this pattern to someone who's an experienced sewist, but never has done classic shirts? I'm wondering if I should try this one... I love all the collar variations.
12/4/06 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking shirt Nikki - another one to add to my stash!! Thanks for such a helpful review.
12/4/06 9:23 AM
ACB said...
I love the classic look, great job.
12/4/06 1:07 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice, classic shirt! It looks good on you. You are right, those are some big pockets!
12/4/06 1:30 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking blouse and looks to fit you beautifully. thanks for the review
12/4/06 1:40 PM
Nikki said...
Haha, I didn't even notice that there were supposed to be shoulder pads, I guess I wasn't really looking at the instructions. No, I didn't use them - why would you want shoulder pads in a shirt of this style? Luckylibbet, I'd say go ahead and try it, maybe in an inexpensive fabric first, and/or with a helpful book like DPC's _Shirtmaking_
12/4/06 2:25 PM
mClones said...
Very nicely made, Nikki. It didn't seem very loose-fitting so I started looking at your photo and the pattern photo more closely and did see the dropped shoulder. This closer examination made me wonder whether the draping from your shoulder to shoulder is caused by the crispness of the material or by the smaller neck. I just picked up some striped cotton shirting too and am inspired.
12/4/06 9:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the review. I've looked at this pattern several times and wondered if it was good. Your shirt looks great, BTW.
12/5/06 7:26 PM
jenniapple said...
I looked through many of the projects you've posted on your website and I am really impressed. You are really talented! Thanks for the inspiration!
4/1/07 1:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 276600-1001

photo
by: meggipeg

Review