SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7754 (Misses shirts)

Viewed 1089 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/06 0:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenniapple said...
I looked through many of the projects you've posted on your website and I am really impressed. You are really talented! Thanks for the inspiration!
4/1/07 1:48 AM
OP Gal said...
Thanks for the review. I've looked at this pattern several times and wondered if it was good. Your shirt looks great, BTW.
12/5/06 7:26 PM
mClones said...
Very nicely made, Nikki. It didn't seem very loose-fitting so I started looking at your photo and the pattern photo more closely and did see the dropped shoulder. This closer examination made me wonder whether the draping from your shoulder to shoulder is caused by the crispness of the material or by the smaller neck. I just picked up some striped cotton shirting too and am inspired.
12/4/06 9:04 PM
Nikki said...
Haha, I didn't even notice that there were supposed to be shoulder pads, I guess I wasn't really looking at the instructions. No, I didn't use them - why would you want shoulder pads in a shirt of this style? Luckylibbet, I'd say go ahead and try it, maybe in an inexpensive fabric first, and/or with a helpful book like DPC's _Shirtmaking_
12/4/06 2:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking blouse and looks to fit you beautifully. thanks for the review
12/4/06 1:40 PM
Re Becca said...
Nice, classic shirt! It looks good on you. You are right, those are some big pockets!
12/4/06 1:30 PM
ACB said...
I love the classic look, great job.
12/4/06 1:07 PM
carolynw said...
Nice looking shirt Nikki - another one to add to my stash!! Thanks for such a helpful review.
12/4/06 9:23 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great shirt! Would you recommend this pattern to someone who's an experienced sewist, but never has done classic shirts? I'm wondering if I should try this one... I love all the collar variations.
12/4/06 9:18 AM
Marji said...
Looks like you decided not to put in the shoulder pads? It's amazing that with a pattern for a shirt that is this classic they don't put in a regular placket at the sleeve cuff. great review, thanks
12/4/06 8:58 AM
BeckyC said...
You look great in this blouse. After the adjustment you want to make it looks like a great pattern to use again and again.
12/4/06 8:26 AM
sandrasdaughter said...
Nice - a very classic look!
12/4/06 7:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice blouse, Nikki! It looks like it would be a very versatile wardrobe staple.
12/4/06 7:09 AM
CarolynGM said...
Well done, Nikki. Looks very professional. Did you omit the shoulder pads? It looks like it in the picture.
12/4/06 6:41 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you Nikki, and it looks beautifully made.
12/4/06 5:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5778

photo
by: JennyQNY

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

More Info
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info