Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8165 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Out of Print Classics
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1233 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/02 4:41 AM
Last Updated:6/19/13 4:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sandra said...
Margaret, you are so productive! You are like the sewing version of the U.S. Army. You must do more sewing before 9 a.m. than I do in a month! :) I always enjoy your reviews.
11/24/02 2:03 PM
Margaret said...
Part of it is that I am reviewing some things I sewed before I knew about this site. This dress is one of them, and I think I have about 2 skirts, 2 tops, and a couple of dresses and jumpers left. ;) I am working on a coat right now, but it is going to take a while (lining isn't behaving). I'm happy you enjoy the reviews :)
11/24/02 2:36 PM
Sew Whatever said...
The blue version looks good. Like you said, a good summer type pattern. Very comprehensive review!
6/19/13 5:27 PM
Renren said...
Love the dress! As usual, I enjoy reading your reviews very much. "Shadow" of the pleat--I know exactly what you mean and a very concise way to reference it. Simplicity gave up on telling you how to manage a s/l near--or in--the French dart. Yep, I've seen that in an independent pattern where the drafter glossed over a very tricky step which was odd since everything else was covered so well. Of course! How could you describe in words (or even a diagram) how to do that. (I remember the pattern but I don't want to embarrass anyone unduly.) And the armhole depth being the same for sleeveless/sleeved versions. I've run into that. Except it was a Cynthia Rowley pattern and she had you trim away 5/8 inch for the sleeveless version and I scratched my head--why didn't they draft this pattern right? Then a commenter suggested it was so they could use the same pattern piece for the sleeveless/sleeved version. Of course! So, anyway, thanks for the time you took writing this. It helps reinforce what I have learned and helps trailblaze the way into things I have yet to encounter (French dart, for instance). I also have that pulling with wovens at the sleeve and like you I can't decide if it's because I'm used to the ease of knits or if there's something I might need to do with a woven. (Really don't like that constraint a sleeved woven gives!) And now my comment is longer than your review . . . . eek.
6/20/13 1:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. I love the simple, classic style and the fabric.
6/23/13 7:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-112B Trousers
photo
Review by Squeezylem... on 8/31/08
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Blossom Digital Pattern
In-House Blossom Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3535
photo
Review by born2bead on 4/2/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2153 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3879 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us