Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1425 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Moxie
photo
Friend of PR
About Moxie
ID USA
Member since: 11/1/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/06 6:39 PM
Last Updated:12/6/06 6:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna H said...
Your pants look great but I can understand why you're still "tweaking" them. Very good job.
12/6/06 7:23 PM
carolynw said...
Hope I am not wrong and that you are open to suggestions re improving the fit? I am certainly no expert but it looks like you need to take in the CB seam quite a bit - starting at the crotch and then taper out to the waist - there seems to be just too much fabric around the rear. The onlyother comment I would make re tweaking the pattern is that you could shorten the front fly. I think you are off to a really good start in getting a good fit - congratulations - this is not an easy thing to achieve.
12/6/06 9:17 PM
jewelea said...
Moxie, I can sympathize. I went on a pants perfecting quest a few years ago, and one of the problems is that by making several alterations, it's difficult to isolate the effect of each one. I like to make an actual muslin which I can mark on, cut apart, insert a piece of fabric, whatever, to try out what various alterations will do. You might want to start anew, with no alternations except for width and length and then see what adding the wedge will do, for example, without any other alteration to the crotch/back seam. I would suggest that you could scoop out the hook of the crotch more which should eliminate the wedgie. I just made these pants in a size 14 but went to the size 16 cutting line on the crotch. Anyway, what I simply want to say is that I found I was over-altering and making things worse. I read everything I could find about pants fitting and learned a lot, but I also found it confusing to try to assimilate the different approaches, techniques and explanations. One of the most helpful things for me was a one-hour seminar by Peggy Sagers at a sewing show I attended. I know she has a video about pants fitting which you might check out. (Silhoutte Patterns). Good luck!
12/6/06 11:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing your fitting adventure. I have yet to make a decent fitting pair of pants. But I truly like seeing what steps others go through and the excellent advice given by many here. I can't wait to see your next pair!
12/7/06 5:14 AM
pterion said...
I know that you are still working on fit, but I have to say, they look pretty darn good to me! Good luck with the tweaking, you certainly seem to be off to a great start.
12/7/06 9:44 AM
edube said...
Do you have Pants for Real People (from the FFRP authors)? That's the bible as far as I'm concerned (although I have yet to make a perfect pair of pants myself). Other than that, I think you're amking great progress.
12/7/06 2:56 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your pants look really nice! Keep on tweaking (like we all do) and you'll have that perfect pair before you kow it.
12/7/06 4:17 PM
StephanieW said...
Thanks for posting the feedback... I purchased this pattern today before reading any feedback, and am glad to hear that I chose a good wardrobe basic.
1/15/07 9:21 PM
TigerEyess said...
Definetly looks like you need to take in the center back/crotch seam. While wearing the pants, put a pin on the seam where there starts to be too much fabric. Starting where the crotch curve flattens out at the inseam/crotch seam junction, stitch the back crotch curve deeper, blending back to the original seam where you placed your pin. (Did that make any sense?) Another good idea is to buy a flexible ruler from an office depot and mold it to your crotch shape - trace it onto paper, and you have a great comparison to what shape your back crotch curve should be.
9/15/07 2:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1756 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by sewmytime on 10/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-120
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 5/11/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us