SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Pants)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:Moxie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Moxie
Member since: 11/1/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/6/06 6:39 PM
Last Updated:12/6/06 6:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TigerEyess said...
Definetly looks like you need to take in the center back/crotch seam. While wearing the pants, put a pin on the seam where there starts to be too much fabric. Starting where the crotch curve flattens out at the inseam/crotch seam junction, stitch the back crotch curve deeper, blending back to the original seam where you placed your pin. (Did that make any sense?) Another good idea is to buy a flexible ruler from an office depot and mold it to your crotch shape - trace it onto paper, and you have a great comparison to what shape your back crotch curve should be.
9/15/07 2:13 PM
StephanieW said...
Thanks for posting the feedback... I purchased this pattern today before reading any feedback, and am glad to hear that I chose a good wardrobe basic.
1/15/07 9:21 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your pants look really nice! Keep on tweaking (like we all do) and you'll have that perfect pair before you kow it.
12/7/06 4:17 PM
edube said...
Do you have Pants for Real People (from the FFRP authors)? That's the bible as far as I'm concerned (although I have yet to make a perfect pair of pants myself). Other than that, I think you're amking great progress.
12/7/06 2:56 PM
pterion said...
I know that you are still working on fit, but I have to say, they look pretty darn good to me! Good luck with the tweaking, you certainly seem to be off to a great start.
12/7/06 9:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing your fitting adventure. I have yet to make a decent fitting pair of pants. But I truly like seeing what steps others go through and the excellent advice given by many here. I can't wait to see your next pair!
12/7/06 5:14 AM
jewelea said...
Moxie, I can sympathize. I went on a pants perfecting quest a few years ago, and one of the problems is that by making several alterations, it's difficult to isolate the effect of each one. I like to make an actual muslin which I can mark on, cut apart, insert a piece of fabric, whatever, to try out what various alterations will do. You might want to start anew, with no alternations except for width and length and then see what adding the wedge will do, for example, without any other alteration to the crotch/back seam. I would suggest that you could scoop out the hook of the crotch more which should eliminate the wedgie. I just made these pants in a size 14 but went to the size 16 cutting line on the crotch. Anyway, what I simply want to say is that I found I was over-altering and making things worse. I read everything I could find about pants fitting and learned a lot, but I also found it confusing to try to assimilate the different approaches, techniques and explanations. One of the most helpful things for me was a one-hour seminar by Peggy Sagers at a sewing show I attended. I know she has a video about pants fitting which you might check out. (Silhoutte Patterns). Good luck!
12/6/06 11:04 PM
carolynw said...
Hope I am not wrong and that you are open to suggestions re improving the fit? I am certainly no expert but it looks like you need to take in the CB seam quite a bit - starting at the crotch and then taper out to the waist - there seems to be just too much fabric around the rear. The onlyother comment I would make re tweaking the pattern is that you could shorten the front fly. I think you are off to a really good start in getting a good fit - congratulations - this is not an easy thing to achieve.
12/6/06 9:17 PM
Donna H said...
Your pants look great but I can understand why you're still "tweaking" them. Very good job.
12/6/06 7:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 3789 / 3990

photo
by: Sew Shy

Review