Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: Sew U skirt (Built By Wendy Sew U Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1354 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/06 7:02 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt. Is the book worth it for someone who is not a beginner?
12/5/06 8:15 PM
LBJ said...
It's really pretty, I love the fabric. I didn't know you could zig zag a hem on velvet. From the picture you can't even see it.
12/5/06 8:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I just love your skirt, and that fabric is to die for! Kashi is the best- I need to get down to NYC to see him again soon!
12/5/06 8:30 PM
drsue said...
Man, I love that fabric!!! Great job on this skirt.
12/5/06 8:43 PM
ACB said...
That is absolutely beautiful!
12/5/06 8:55 PM
ACB said...

12/5/06 8:55 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great skirt, I'm glad to hear it sewed up so well.
12/5/06 8:56 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! Yeah, Kashi is definitely the best. I bought this fabric from him sight unseen, because he knows what I like, and he assured me I'd like this fabric. Lisette - For me, the book is 'worth it', even though I've been sewing for over 20 years. But that said, quite frankly I didn't learn a thing, techically, from the book. When I say it was 'worth it' for me, I'm talking enjoyment in reading and in following Wendy's process. Having read the book, I'd buy it again, if that helps you.
12/5/06 9:02 PM
bunz said...
Turned out a real stunner, Barbara! Leave it Kashi to find the best fabric:-)
12/5/06 11:02 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'll jump on the bandwagon - great skirt, and Kashi came through once again on fabric. Both are beautiful.
12/5/06 11:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous fabric, great fit.
12/6/06 0:22 AM
patsijean said...
I like the skirt and the fabric is beautiful. Good job.
12/6/06 1:41 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely skirt - great use of your fabric. Nice to hear about the book, which looks great for young people. In fact, I might get it for my niece.
12/6/06 7:59 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful skirt!
12/6/06 8:01 AM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great! Thanks for pointing out this book.
12/6/06 10:01 AM
cindy-lou said...
I have this book too and just finished my first version of this skirt. I love this book. I'm an advanced beginner and love her explanations of things and her hip sense of style. Now I understand WHY it's so important to staystitch, etc... I also like the order in which she does the construction. It makes on-the-fly alteration really easy. BEAUTIFUL SKIRT! Everyone will want one.
12/10/06 9:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3348 Girls Dresses
photo
Review by SandraB on 7/21/08
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6799 Pattern
New Look 6799 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3542
photo
Review by CA Eisenho... on 1/20/08
Read Review

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us