SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> Sew U skirt (Built By Wendy Sew U Skirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1354 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/06 7:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt. Is the book worth it for someone who is not a beginner?
12/5/06 8:15 PM
LBJ said...
It's really pretty, I love the fabric. I didn't know you could zig zag a hem on velvet. From the picture you can't even see it.
12/5/06 8:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I just love your skirt, and that fabric is to die for! Kashi is the best- I need to get down to NYC to see him again soon!
12/5/06 8:30 PM
drsue said...
Man, I love that fabric!!! Great job on this skirt.
12/5/06 8:43 PM
ACB said...
That is absolutely beautiful!
12/5/06 8:55 PM
ACB said...

12/5/06 8:55 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Great skirt, I'm glad to hear it sewed up so well.
12/5/06 8:56 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! Yeah, Kashi is definitely the best. I bought this fabric from him sight unseen, because he knows what I like, and he assured me I'd like this fabric. Lisette - For me, the book is 'worth it', even though I've been sewing for over 20 years. But that said, quite frankly I didn't learn a thing, techically, from the book. When I say it was 'worth it' for me, I'm talking enjoyment in reading and in following Wendy's process. Having read the book, I'd buy it again, if that helps you.
12/5/06 9:02 PM
bunz said...
Turned out a real stunner, Barbara! Leave it Kashi to find the best fabric:-)
12/5/06 11:02 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'll jump on the bandwagon - great skirt, and Kashi came through once again on fabric. Both are beautiful.
12/5/06 11:10 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous fabric, great fit.
12/6/06 0:22 AM
patsijean said...
I like the skirt and the fabric is beautiful. Good job.
12/6/06 1:41 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely skirt - great use of your fabric. Nice to hear about the book, which looks great for young people. In fact, I might get it for my niece.
12/6/06 7:59 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful skirt!
12/6/06 8:01 AM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great! Thanks for pointing out this book.
12/6/06 10:01 AM
cindy-lou said...
I have this book too and just finished my first version of this skirt. I love this book. I'm an advanced beginner and love her explanations of things and her hip sense of style. Now I understand WHY it's so important to staystitch, etc... I also like the order in which she does the construction. It makes on-the-fly alteration really easy. BEAUTIFUL SKIRT! Everyone will want one.
12/10/06 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 3790

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 125587-1008

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now