Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: LaRue Bag (La Rue Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2917 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/8/06 11:58 PM
Last Updated:2/3/07 8:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Love it! I'm sure your niece will love it too! Thanks for the detailed review. :-)
12/9/06 0:11 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Gorgeous bag Leslie!! Your niece is going to love it.
12/9/06 1:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Impressive work, Leslie. Surely your niece will love this bag.
12/9/06 6:12 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Another great "Leslie" project! I like the bigger tassel.
12/9/06 7:33 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous bag! What a lucky niece!
12/9/06 7:44 AM
BeckyC said...
Your bag is fabulous and your niece will love it! Thank you for all the great tips on the construction of the bag. I love the rhinestone D-ring.
12/9/06 9:24 AM
Carolyndh said...
Love your version of La Rue! I will follow your lead on the binding with mine this weekend! Thanks.
12/9/06 9:25 AM
Lori V said...
Great bay, lucky niece.
12/9/06 9:55 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great looking bag, Leslie. You're niece is lucky, and she'll love it!
12/9/06 10:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another cute LaRue. These bags are, obviously, a hit. Great job.
12/9/06 11:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
Yep - as soon as my leather and nailheads arrive from Ebay I'm gonna start on mine! Your niece will love this Leslie - my daughters want me to scale this bag down to a 10 year old size!
12/9/06 11:20 AM
Jane S said...
Cool looking bag and great instruction notes in your review. Thanks!
12/9/06 11:51 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Impressive! She's sure to love it.
12/9/06 1:53 PM
Sharon M said...
Love it! Another great bag - your niece is lucky.
12/9/06 2:13 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Leslie - I love your new bag! It's really going to be a hit with your niece!
12/9/06 3:12 PM
mudcat said...
Your version of this bag looks great and has actually made me reconsider my opinion of this bag (I wasn't a fan if it). Your choice of fabric was well made. Best rendition I've seen from this pattern.
12/9/06 3:49 PM
Erica B. said...
Leslie, that bag is fabulous.
12/9/06 7:27 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What are the odds....I bought that same upholstery stuff for a LaRue bag. Much as I admire your taste, I'd hate to turn up at a White House function carrying the same thing. You did a great job. Laura Bush will be green with envy.
12/9/06 9:00 PM
pterion said...
Your bag looks terrific, Leslie! Love that embossed suede.
12/9/06 9:41 PM
lmg said...
Wow! can I have one too?
12/9/06 9:44 PM
Kathi R said...
great looking bag -- glad to hear you had no problem with the binding.
12/9/06 11:06 PM
JDpenelope said...
You make the greatest gifts. Can I adopt you into my family?
12/9/06 11:52 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful! It looks picture-perfect. Your niece will be elated.
12/10/06 8:41 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent gift. Good info in your review, as well.
12/10/06 9:29 AM
Nancy K said...
Great job. I really like your review and found it very helpful. I am really tempted to make this my first handbag.
12/10/06 10:03 AM
Georgene said...
Somehow it looks.....Texas. I love your version!
12/10/06 11:33 PM
Karen6790 said...
Another great version of this bag. Now that I have the pattern, I can't wait to get started.
12/11/06 10:36 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Gorgeous as usual Leslie, I was wondering if I could be your neice
12/12/06 7:17 PM
Hilary said...
What a very cool bag-your niece is going to LOVE it! It does look "Texas", doesn't it? :o)
12/15/06 10:09 PM
Clareew said...
Your bag looks really classy. The sleek lines without embellishment are just great.
12/18/06 4:19 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Anoter reat job, Leslie, and what a lucky little vixen! How does she like it?
1/8/07 4:35 PM
BeckyC said...
Absolutely Fantabulous, inside and out!
2/3/07 8:42 PM
j222b said...
Love this one, too.
2/3/07 9:30 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another beautiful bag!
2/3/07 9:57 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Delightful and super informative as usual. Thanks
2/3/07 11:36 PM
KarenP said...
Wow! Gorgeous bag in one of my favorite colors.
2/3/07 11:44 PM
BjP said...
Lovely bag, Leslie! Beautiful combination of lining and fabric!
2/4/07 0:42 AM
Tany said...
Your version of this bag is fabulous! I'm inspired to make one to myself!
2/4/07 11:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Love the blue!
2/4/07 12:07 PM
Sewphie said...
Great bag! Here's the link to the pattern pdf and instructions, since they're no longer on hotpatterns and the pattern is out of print. http://web.archive.org/web/20070110215459/http://www.hotpatterns.com/downloads/larue_bag.pdf
10/19/07 1:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 7825 Skirt and top
photo
Review by JenHSchill... on 8/27/10
Read Review

Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1152 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )
Butterick 5507 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6000
photo
Review by nothy lane on 2/23/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us