SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 505 (Swing Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1502 times 
Reviewed by:annsew65
photo

 
 
About annsew65star
WV USA
Member since: 4/9/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/02 10:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Ann, this is beautiful! How do you think this top will work in a woven? Also thanks for the tip about the Design Plus Tape!
11/24/02 11:06 PM
annsew65 said...
Diane, yes, it would probably work in a woven - but it would probably need to be a very soft, drapey fabric. This is one of those styles that could overwhelm you if it isn't really drapey!
11/24/02 11:15 PM
Nan said...
Ann, it looks super on you! I guess I'm just going to have to break down and buy it! Nan
11/24/02 11:47 PM
mary barker said...
Ann - I have a piece of faux suede that I got from LouiseCutting when we first met at the Chantilly expo 2 years ago that I've been wondering what to do with. It's very soft and drapey - now I know!! Only now I have to buy another pattern ;) -oh well!!
11/25/02 8:39 AM
annsew65 said...
Mary, that's the story of my life! Always another pattern or piece of fabric. My only problem is not enough time to get them all done. When I retire, I'll have plenty of time but no need! I'll just have to make a point of dressing every day and going somewhere!!!
11/25/02 11:16 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
A very beautiful shirt and the color is great, gongrat's Ann!!
11/25/02 3:03 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, my Swing Shirt is almost done; only the buttonholes are left to be done. I love this shirt, too. I used a crinkly-textured almost-slinky knit that drapes like yours does. It looks luxurious, but hides a great many "sins". And the hemline is so interesting! A real designer-boutique kind of look....What other fabrics are you considering using for more of these?
11/25/02 11:03 PM
annsew65 said...
Thanks, Marita and Karla, for your nice compliments! Karla, I haven't made any plans just yet for the second in this series! I really moved this up in my list of things to make ahead of several others that have been waiting in the wings, if you know what I mean, but I have a cobalt blue slinky that I've been thinking about using "one of these days" that I think would be great! I feel that it definitely needs a fabric with lots of soft, drapey qualities - especially if you aren't pencil-thin, which I'm not!!! Please add your review and picture when your finished with your version! I'd love to see it!
11/26/02 4:21 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Ann, you did a wonderful job, and the shirt looks fabulous on you!
11/26/02 12:29 PM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
I made this shirt out of ultrasuede light and love the fit. I did have to re-engineer the sleeves from the elbow down because I didn't realize how tight the forearm fit was. I cut a separate flounce with a slit for the elbows down and get a ton of compliments every time I wear it. I think any fabric with a nice drape would work for this pattern. Stretch is not needed, but be sure that you give youself enough room in the forearm area...cheryl
11/27/02 11:30 PM
Tee Jay said...
What am I doing wrong, there's an otophoto home page but no pictures?
12/22/02 12:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Same here, Teri. Ugh! I always have trouble with ofoto. Ann, your shirt sounds very pretty - I'll have to check later to see if I can get into Ofoto.
12/23/02 11:31 AM
Mini said...
I couldn't see the picture when I clicked on the green button, but when I logged in to my Ofoto account it was there. It's a very flattering shirt, which I didn't expect from the pattern illustration. I like the color too.
12/23/02 11:03 PM
annsew65 said...
Thanks, ladies, for your comments and I'm sorry for the problems with Ofoto. I've never really figured out what my problem has been, but I'm hoping to get things updated after all the Christmas rush and get the picture done through another photo website! Wish me luck. This very unsavvy computer nerd may have help from her grandsons in the next day or two! In the meantime, I love the shirt and it's very comfortable! I used the size medium and because of the style, it fits me!
12/24/02 5:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Buy Now