Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 505 (Swing Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1495 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:annsew65
photo
About annsew65star
WV USA
Member since: 4/9/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/24/02 10:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Ann, this is beautiful! How do you think this top will work in a woven? Also thanks for the tip about the Design Plus Tape!
11/24/02 11:06 PM
annsew65 said...
Diane, yes, it would probably work in a woven - but it would probably need to be a very soft, drapey fabric. This is one of those styles that could overwhelm you if it isn't really drapey!
11/24/02 11:15 PM
Nan said...
Ann, it looks super on you! I guess I'm just going to have to break down and buy it! Nan
11/24/02 11:47 PM
mary barker said...
Ann - I have a piece of faux suede that I got from LouiseCutting when we first met at the Chantilly expo 2 years ago that I've been wondering what to do with. It's very soft and drapey - now I know!! Only now I have to buy another pattern ;) -oh well!!
11/25/02 8:39 AM
annsew65 said...
Mary, that's the story of my life! Always another pattern or piece of fabric. My only problem is not enough time to get them all done. When I retire, I'll have plenty of time but no need! I'll just have to make a point of dressing every day and going somewhere!!!
11/25/02 11:16 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
A very beautiful shirt and the color is great, gongrat's Ann!!
11/25/02 3:03 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, my Swing Shirt is almost done; only the buttonholes are left to be done. I love this shirt, too. I used a crinkly-textured almost-slinky knit that drapes like yours does. It looks luxurious, but hides a great many "sins". And the hemline is so interesting! A real designer-boutique kind of look....What other fabrics are you considering using for more of these?
11/25/02 11:03 PM
annsew65 said...
Thanks, Marita and Karla, for your nice compliments! Karla, I haven't made any plans just yet for the second in this series! I really moved this up in my list of things to make ahead of several others that have been waiting in the wings, if you know what I mean, but I have a cobalt blue slinky that I've been thinking about using "one of these days" that I think would be great! I feel that it definitely needs a fabric with lots of soft, drapey qualities - especially if you aren't pencil-thin, which I'm not!!! Please add your review and picture when your finished with your version! I'd love to see it!
11/26/02 4:21 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Ann, you did a wonderful job, and the shirt looks fabulous on you!
11/26/02 12:29 PM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
I made this shirt out of ultrasuede light and love the fit. I did have to re-engineer the sleeves from the elbow down because I didn't realize how tight the forearm fit was. I cut a separate flounce with a slit for the elbows down and get a ton of compliments every time I wear it. I think any fabric with a nice drape would work for this pattern. Stretch is not needed, but be sure that you give youself enough room in the forearm area...cheryl
11/27/02 11:30 PM
Tee Jay said...
What am I doing wrong, there's an otophoto home page but no pictures?
12/22/02 12:33 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Same here, Teri. Ugh! I always have trouble with ofoto. Ann, your shirt sounds very pretty - I'll have to check later to see if I can get into Ofoto.
12/23/02 11:31 AM
Mini said...
I couldn't see the picture when I clicked on the green button, but when I logged in to my Ofoto account it was there. It's a very flattering shirt, which I didn't expect from the pattern illustration. I like the color too.
12/23/02 11:03 PM
annsew65 said...
Thanks, ladies, for your comments and I'm sorry for the problems with Ofoto. I've never really figured out what my problem has been, but I'm hoping to get things updated after all the Christmas rush and get the picture done through another photo website! Wish me luck. This very unsavvy computer nerd may have help from her grandsons in the next day or two! In the meantime, I love the shirt and it's very comfortable! I used the size medium and because of the style, it fits me!
12/24/02 5:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 3/11/12
Read Review

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by rennaissan... on 7/11/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6808 Pattern
New Look 6808 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us