SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2006-131 (Tee w/vertical seaming)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1486 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Last Updated:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said...
It's a super t-shirt and the seaming is really sharp. As always, your reviews are great. I learn something every time I read your posts. Thanks.
12/15/06 9:03 AM
moss said...
the shirt is beautiful but HOLY COW look at all that fabric in your closet! :)
12/15/06 9:09 AM
Loreli said...
Wow, I like it. Its on my list to do.
12/15/06 9:45 AM
cecelia said...
Debbie, I really like the pattern and your changes to it came out so well. I'm also jealous at how organized your stash is!
12/15/06 10:19 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Debbie, I love this top! The seamlines are very flattering indeed! I can see this in a plain colour with contrast coverstitch for a very sporty look or even some piping on the outside seams. I've been following on your blog but have been unable to leave a comment since you changed to beta.
12/15/06 10:27 AM
PVA said...
Oh, Debbie, that fabric is beautiful -- I love paisleys! Thanks for yet another detailed review. That pattern is great! The reversed coverstitch on the seams is a wonderful touch!
12/15/06 10:56 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debbie, you look beautiful in this top. It fits great.
12/15/06 11:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Once again, you've taken a simple style and made it very, very special. Well done.
12/15/06 11:44 AM
Christen said...
Debbie, I always enjoy reading your reviews. However, this time I'm totally envying your stash! My dresser pales in comparison to your closet.
12/15/06 11:54 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking top as I love paisley, too. Ditto all comments above on your stash!!
12/15/06 1:41 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous everything Debbie ! ! ! ! The variations for this top are endless. I have always admired it and plan on tweaking it for me some day..but as you mentioned, the To Sew List for BWOF gets very long.
12/15/06 1:46 PM
Liane M said...
Fabulous, just fabulous!! I love reading your reviews. I have this magazine and I never even gave this tee a sceond thought until I read your blog! Now I HAVE to make this. I'm thinking about using a wonder cotton lycra from Timmel with a little contrasting coverstitching for the topstitch embellishment. I can think of so many variations to use with this pattern. Thanks again for bringing to my attention and working out all the bugs! Edited to correct my typos
12/15/06 2:09 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, I really like this top, particularly what you did with the seaming. Very noice touch!
12/15/06 3:54 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top and I love the creative topstitching. Makes me wish I could lay my hands on a copy of that magazine. Also, I love it when you show your finished garment in front of your stash, so I can show the picture to DH and say, "See? I told you my stash is pitiful!"
12/15/06 3:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I like how you did the decorative coverstitching over the seams.
12/15/06 6:05 PM
artist1lisa said...
Very nice.Flattering fit.I must try it.
12/15/06 7:12 PM
Erica B. said...
an adorable top. I heart the seaming!
12/15/06 7:25 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful t-shirt! I really like the "topstitching"
12/15/06 7:36 PM
Izzie said...
Great top! I love the fabric and the coverstitch detail.
12/15/06 7:50 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Debbie.
12/15/06 10:49 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
It's not "just" a T. Very stylish. I learned great tips from your excellently written review. Great pics also.
12/15/06 11:06 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Debbie, this is a fantastic review. I love hearing now only what you did, but WHY. Thanks for sharing your 'process'!
12/16/06 5:40 AM
Elaray said...
Great review. This style is on my "To Sew" list. I'm going to make sure it gets moved closer to the lop of my list. Your results look great.
12/16/06 5:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the top. Great suggestion on checking the paisley print layout, second back photo really shows this. As always great job on the pattern and review.
12/16/06 6:55 AM
Deb Fox said...
Deb, as always, you are the sewing Goddess! What a wonderful top. I always look forward to your reviews. I am always so inspired by your willingness to share so much information, and your work is always superb. I am just on the edge of plus size, but I absolutely love the lines of this T and will try it myself. Ditto on the thoughts about Burda. I have magazines from 2000 that I still use because the styles are just so fashion forward.
12/16/06 7:02 AM
cathy45 said...
Another great top--this one is really flattering to you. Love the coverstitching.
12/16/06 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review as usual. Lovely top.
12/16/06 8:29 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, really nice top. The seaming shows perfectly. Makes me wonder if I should get BWOF.
12/16/06 8:56 AM
Marji said...
Great top and excellent info in your review. Love what you did with the topstitching.
12/16/06 9:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Debbie. the coverstich is a great detail. Also - I'm just curious - why is there a center back seam? Is there shaping on that seam? I can't recall ever seeing a center back seam on a t-shirt.
12/16/06 9:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Debbie, Fantastic top! What BWOF magazine did this top come from? I would like to find a copy of this issue. This is a great top and you look wonderful in it.
12/16/06 10:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Carolyndh, Burda WOF reviews follow a naming formula ... if you look at the top of this review, you'll see the pattern "number" is 01-2006-131. That means it's issue 01/2006 and design #131. HTH.

Phyllis, Burda uses CB seams in tees every now and then. This one doesn't have any shaping per se, but the seam would make it easy to incorporate a sway back adj if one needed it. I toyed with cutting it on the fold -- and after the print layout mishap cursed myself for not doing so -- but I do like the seam for the extra bit of detail it adds.
12/16/06 11:08 AM

mrspenguin said...
If that's your fabric stash in the background of your muslin, I am envious! I like how you "topstitched."
12/16/06 12:58 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Debbie, do you think this pattern would lend itself to panels of different fabric? or even just the contrast side panels?
12/16/06 4:21 PM
candyo said...
This is a great style! And no FBA- fabulous!
12/17/06 7:52 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Lurv the fabric ... and thank goodness you had enough to recut the back. Now I'm going to have to hunt down a back issue of this issue. They're so fashion forward, that I counted on that when I got WoF every month.
12/17/06 5:17 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
This is a great top. Love the print, and now am lusting after a coverstitch machine!
12/18/06 10:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute T. I like the seaming with the bust shaping. Wish I had that pattern.
12/18/06 6:48 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Very flattering. I like the vertical lines going in at the mid-section. It's slenderinzing, but still shows off the feminine cuves of the bust.
12/23/06 11:58 AM
mClones said...
Debbie, I just caught a glimpse of your T on the sidebar. Love it. Do you know how I can get this issue?
1/21/07 12:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

My Image Magazine M1262

photo
by: westmoon

Review
New Look 6006

photo
by: MissMarnie

Review
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now