Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2006-131 (Tee w/vertical seaming) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1486 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Last Updated:12/15/06 8:50 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said...
It's a super t-shirt and the seaming is really sharp. As always, your reviews are great. I learn something every time I read your posts. Thanks.
12/15/06 9:03 AM
moss said...
the shirt is beautiful but HOLY COW look at all that fabric in your closet! :)
12/15/06 9:09 AM
Loreli said...
Wow, I like it. Its on my list to do.
12/15/06 9:45 AM
cecelia said...
Debbie, I really like the pattern and your changes to it came out so well. I'm also jealous at how organized your stash is!
12/15/06 10:19 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Debbie, I love this top! The seamlines are very flattering indeed! I can see this in a plain colour with contrast coverstitch for a very sporty look or even some piping on the outside seams. I've been following on your blog but have been unable to leave a comment since you changed to beta.
12/15/06 10:27 AM
PVA said...
Oh, Debbie, that fabric is beautiful -- I love paisleys! Thanks for yet another detailed review. That pattern is great! The reversed coverstitch on the seams is a wonderful touch!
12/15/06 10:56 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Debbie, you look beautiful in this top. It fits great.
12/15/06 11:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Once again, you've taken a simple style and made it very, very special. Well done.
12/15/06 11:44 AM
Christen said...
Debbie, I always enjoy reading your reviews. However, this time I'm totally envying your stash! My dresser pales in comparison to your closet.
12/15/06 11:54 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking top as I love paisley, too. Ditto all comments above on your stash!!
12/15/06 1:41 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous everything Debbie ! ! ! ! The variations for this top are endless. I have always admired it and plan on tweaking it for me some day..but as you mentioned, the To Sew List for BWOF gets very long.
12/15/06 1:46 PM
Liane M said...
Fabulous, just fabulous!! I love reading your reviews. I have this magazine and I never even gave this tee a sceond thought until I read your blog! Now I HAVE to make this. I'm thinking about using a wonder cotton lycra from Timmel with a little contrasting coverstitching for the topstitch embellishment. I can think of so many variations to use with this pattern. Thanks again for bringing to my attention and working out all the bugs! Edited to correct my typos
12/15/06 2:09 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Debbie, I really like this top, particularly what you did with the seaming. Very noice touch!
12/15/06 3:54 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top and I love the creative topstitching. Makes me wish I could lay my hands on a copy of that magazine. Also, I love it when you show your finished garment in front of your stash, so I can show the picture to DH and say, "See? I told you my stash is pitiful!"
12/15/06 3:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I like how you did the decorative coverstitching over the seams.
12/15/06 6:05 PM
artist1lisa said...
Very nice.Flattering fit.I must try it.
12/15/06 7:12 PM
Erica B. said...
an adorable top. I heart the seaming!
12/15/06 7:25 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful t-shirt! I really like the "topstitching"
12/15/06 7:36 PM
Izzie said...
Great top! I love the fabric and the coverstitch detail.
12/15/06 7:50 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, Debbie.
12/15/06 10:49 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
It's not "just" a T. Very stylish. I learned great tips from your excellently written review. Great pics also.
12/15/06 11:06 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Debbie, this is a fantastic review. I love hearing now only what you did, but WHY. Thanks for sharing your 'process'!
12/16/06 5:40 AM
Elaray said...
Great review. This style is on my "To Sew" list. I'm going to make sure it gets moved closer to the lop of my list. Your results look great.
12/16/06 5:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the top. Great suggestion on checking the paisley print layout, second back photo really shows this. As always great job on the pattern and review.
12/16/06 6:55 AM
Deb Fox said...
Deb, as always, you are the sewing Goddess! What a wonderful top. I always look forward to your reviews. I am always so inspired by your willingness to share so much information, and your work is always superb. I am just on the edge of plus size, but I absolutely love the lines of this T and will try it myself. Ditto on the thoughts about Burda. I have magazines from 2000 that I still use because the styles are just so fashion forward.
12/16/06 7:02 AM
cathy45 said...
Another great top--this one is really flattering to you. Love the coverstitching.
12/16/06 8:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review as usual. Lovely top.
12/16/06 8:29 AM
AnneM said...
Great job, really nice top. The seaming shows perfectly. Makes me wonder if I should get BWOF.
12/16/06 8:56 AM
Marji said...
Great top and excellent info in your review. Love what you did with the topstitching.
12/16/06 9:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Debbie. the coverstich is a great detail. Also - I'm just curious - why is there a center back seam? Is there shaping on that seam? I can't recall ever seeing a center back seam on a t-shirt.
12/16/06 9:35 AM
Carolyndh said...
Debbie, Fantastic top! What BWOF magazine did this top come from? I would like to find a copy of this issue. This is a great top and you look wonderful in it.
12/16/06 10:14 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Carolyndh, Burda WOF reviews follow a naming formula ... if you look at the top of this review, you'll see the pattern "number" is 01-2006-131. That means it's issue 01/2006 and design #131. HTH.

Phyllis, Burda uses CB seams in tees every now and then. This one doesn't have any shaping per se, but the seam would make it easy to incorporate a sway back adj if one needed it. I toyed with cutting it on the fold -- and after the print layout mishap cursed myself for not doing so -- but I do like the seam for the extra bit of detail it adds.
12/16/06 11:08 AM

mrspenguin said...
If that's your fabric stash in the background of your muslin, I am envious! I like how you "topstitched."
12/16/06 12:58 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Debbie, do you think this pattern would lend itself to panels of different fabric? or even just the contrast side panels?
12/16/06 4:21 PM
candyo said...
This is a great style! And no FBA- fabulous!
12/17/06 7:52 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Lurv the fabric ... and thank goodness you had enough to recut the back. Now I'm going to have to hunt down a back issue of this issue. They're so fashion forward, that I counted on that when I got WoF every month.
12/17/06 5:17 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
This is a great top. Love the print, and now am lusting after a coverstitch machine!
12/18/06 10:27 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Cute T. I like the seaming with the bust shaping. Wish I had that pattern.
12/18/06 6:48 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Very flattering. I like the vertical lines going in at the mid-section. It's slenderinzing, but still shows off the feminine cuves of the bust.
12/23/06 11:58 AM
mClones said...
Debbie, I just caught a glimpse of your T on the sidebar. Love it. Do you know how I can get this issue?
1/21/07 12:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Other Hot Scott Cargo Shorts
photo
Review by debbielnix on 5/23/10
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-106
photo
Review by jennybaxt on 2/22/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1675 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1675 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1259 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1259 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us