Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V8346 (Misses' Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2036 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 12 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:Planchet
photo
About Planchetstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/06 8:43 AM
Last Updated:12/20/06 8:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Very nice! Your coat looks very professional--love the style and the color. I am wondering--is there a separate under collar pattern piece that is slightly smaller in total area than the upper collar? Following info I learned here on PR, lately I have been trimming off 1/8 inch on the seam allowances of patterns when the under collar is the pattern piece and therefore same size as the upper collar.
12/20/06 9:12 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
What a wonderful first review! And the coat is gorgeous ... just what is needed this time of year! Welcome to Pattern review!
12/20/06 9:13 AM
Planchet said...
Thanks so much for your comments on my first review! Yes, Carolyndh, there is only one pattern piece for the under collar- and your advice of trimming off an eighth of an inch from the under collar is such a good idea- I'll definitely try it next time.
12/20/06 9:43 AM
Nickle said...
Your coat is just beautiful, I bet it looks flattering on you. Beautiful fabric too.
12/20/06 9:44 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very informative review and a very good looking coat. Great job!
12/20/06 9:44 AM
Marji said...
Beautiful coat. Kudos for making the hand done buttonholes - which elevate the whole garment to a diff level. Lovely work.
12/20/06 9:53 AM
carolynw said...
I looked at this and thought "what a beautiful coat" I know if I bought this in RTW I would pay $$$$. Wonderful job and hand made buttonholes WOW!!
12/20/06 10:00 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is a very beautiful coat. I hope you wear it proudly. My Texas winters are not cold enough to do a project like this.
12/20/06 10:12 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is simply gorgeous!
12/20/06 10:41 AM
Erica B. said...
beautiful coat, love the green fabric.
12/20/06 11:06 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
12/20/06 11:23 AM
meanjean said...
Hand-made keyhole buttonholes, wow! Nice job! It's interesting that I saw a few Channel-like jackets in the window of a high-end department store that used those magnetic snaps. They're starting to pop up a lot lately. I like you're choice of doing real buttonholes.
12/20/06 11:47 AM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking coat. Congratulations and welcome.
12/20/06 11:52 AM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. You will wear this for years
12/20/06 12:21 PM
Stacy Sews said...
What a gorgeous coat! I love it.
12/20/06 12:45 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
It's a beautiful coat. Thanks for pointing this one out.
12/20/06 2:17 PM
Zaneta said...
you have done a wonderful job! gorgeous..
12/20/06 4:08 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fabulous coat!
12/20/06 4:55 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful coat!
12/20/06 5:39 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful coat!
12/20/06 5:43 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent job! Beautiful results, too.
12/20/06 6:43 PM
Anne S said...
Beautiful coat. You did a wonderful job tailoring it.
12/20/06 8:30 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
12/20/06 9:04 PM
Jan B. said...
Lovely! Terrific sewing job.
12/20/06 9:40 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful coat. Thanks for the review.
12/20/06 10:21 PM
jnamcd said...
I agree with everyone else--this is a great coat! I love the lines of it, and you did a super job--thanks for the review!
12/20/06 11:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice coat, lovely green fabric!
12/21/06 5:23 AM
MissCelie said...
This is marvelous!
12/21/06 7:30 AM
JaneH said...
Beautiful coat!!
12/21/06 8:28 AM
Nancywin said...
Your coat is lovely and your choice of buttons really give it some punch
12/21/06 9:58 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous coat and what an experience for you. It sounds like you have worked your way through all the problems. It's beautiful and the color is one that many people can wear.
12/21/06 11:01 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wonderful-looking coat: color and style are perfect together. Looking forward to many more reviews from you on PR. Enjoy your coat!
12/21/06 3:03 PM
mrspenguin said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/21/06 3:05 PM
AnneM said...
Love that coat. Great color, great style, great sewing.
12/22/06 7:59 AM
Ciclista said...
I love your coat! I live in Phoenix and although we only have a couple weeks each year when it's cold enough to wear something like this, it's so beautiful I might still invest the time to make one. I too am a huge fan of LORings
12/22/06 8:47 AM
cakehole said...
Beautiful coat, and I came on here looking for a review of that very pattern, so thank you! Thanks for that fabric source, too.
12/27/06 6:46 PM
KerryB said...
Planchett, Your coat is gorgeous! I am inspired and have some nice camel colored wool. I am putting on a velvet paisley collar - at least the top portion. I am nervous about the collar. Have my fabric pre-shrunk and ready to go. Thanks so much for your inspiring review.
2/11/07 5:01 AM
Bine07 said...
Your coat looks great! I sewed the same one, funny, I too had a special pattern in mind, just like this, but nowhere to find but then Vogue released this pattern and it was completely what I was looking for. I did not like the snaps as well and made buttonwholes. Used white lambswool /cashmere and the large collar. Great to see someone else made it too and with such a professional look
3/27/07 4:47 PM
mrs.spaceman said...
I have been searching everywhere for a long, floor-length lined coat pattern. Then I found this Vogue pattern, which is exactly what I wanted! I'll have to add some length, but that's not a big deal. I found this site looking for an actual picture of the finished coat. It looks GREAT! I never thought about making it green until I saw your picture. I hope you don't mind if I copy that idea :)
6/26/07 1:16 PM
Hilary said...
*beautiful* coat!! I love the fabric and it looks so well done. Thanks for all the tips!
10/2/07 10:46 AM
abbythomas said...
A very lovely and very classy coat! I'd buy that from a department store any day! :)
4/18/11 11:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Wild Ginger PMB3 Bib Overalls
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/19/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Annika
photo
Review by Char in KS on 2/20/12
Read Review

Burda 7557 Pattern
Burda 7557 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us