SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8346 (Misses' Coat)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2060 times 
Reviewed by:Planchet
photo

 
 
About Planchetstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/20/06
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/06 8:43 AM
Last Updated:12/20/06 8:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 12 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
abbythomas said...
A very lovely and very classy coat! I'd buy that from a department store any day! :)
4/18/11 11:16 PM
Hilary said...
*beautiful* coat!! I love the fabric and it looks so well done. Thanks for all the tips!
10/2/07 10:46 AM
mrs.spaceman said...
I have been searching everywhere for a long, floor-length lined coat pattern. Then I found this Vogue pattern, which is exactly what I wanted! I'll have to add some length, but that's not a big deal. I found this site looking for an actual picture of the finished coat. It looks GREAT! I never thought about making it green until I saw your picture. I hope you don't mind if I copy that idea :)
6/26/07 1:16 PM
Bine07 said...
Your coat looks great! I sewed the same one, funny, I too had a special pattern in mind, just like this, but nowhere to find but then Vogue released this pattern and it was completely what I was looking for. I did not like the snaps as well and made buttonwholes. Used white lambswool /cashmere and the large collar. Great to see someone else made it too and with such a professional look
3/27/07 4:47 PM
KerryB said...
Planchett, Your coat is gorgeous! I am inspired and have some nice camel colored wool. I am putting on a velvet paisley collar - at least the top portion. I am nervous about the collar. Have my fabric pre-shrunk and ready to go. Thanks so much for your inspiring review.
2/11/07 5:01 AM
cakehole said...
Beautiful coat, and I came on here looking for a review of that very pattern, so thank you! Thanks for that fabric source, too.
12/27/06 6:46 PM
Ciclista said...
I love your coat! I live in Phoenix and although we only have a couple weeks each year when it's cold enough to wear something like this, it's so beautiful I might still invest the time to make one. I too am a huge fan of LORings
12/22/06 8:47 AM
AnneM said...
Love that coat. Great color, great style, great sewing.
12/22/06 7:59 AM
mrspenguin said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/21/06 3:05 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wonderful-looking coat: color and style are perfect together. Looking forward to many more reviews from you on PR. Enjoy your coat!
12/21/06 3:03 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous coat and what an experience for you. It sounds like you have worked your way through all the problems. It's beautiful and the color is one that many people can wear.
12/21/06 11:01 AM
Nancywin said...
Your coat is lovely and your choice of buttons really give it some punch
12/21/06 9:58 AM
JaneH said...
Beautiful coat!!
12/21/06 8:28 AM
MissCelie said...
This is marvelous!
12/21/06 7:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice coat, lovely green fabric!
12/21/06 5:23 AM
jnamcd said...
I agree with everyone else--this is a great coat! I love the lines of it, and you did a super job--thanks for the review!
12/20/06 11:43 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful coat. Thanks for the review.
12/20/06 10:21 PM
Jan B. said...
Lovely! Terrific sewing job.
12/20/06 9:40 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
12/20/06 9:04 PM
Anne S said...
Beautiful coat. You did a wonderful job tailoring it.
12/20/06 8:30 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent job! Beautiful results, too.
12/20/06 6:43 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful coat!
12/20/06 5:43 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful coat!
12/20/06 5:39 PM
ryan's mom said...
Fabulous coat!
12/20/06 4:55 PM
Zaneta said...
you have done a wonderful job! gorgeous..
12/20/06 4:08 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
It's a beautiful coat. Thanks for pointing this one out.
12/20/06 2:17 PM
Stacy Sews said...
What a gorgeous coat! I love it.
12/20/06 12:45 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. You will wear this for years
12/20/06 12:21 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great looking coat. Congratulations and welcome.
12/20/06 11:52 AM
meanjean said...
Hand-made keyhole buttonholes, wow! Nice job! It's interesting that I saw a few Channel-like jackets in the window of a high-end department store that used those magnetic snaps. They're starting to pop up a lot lately. I like you're choice of doing real buttonholes.
12/20/06 11:47 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty.
12/20/06 11:23 AM
Erica B. said...
beautiful coat, love the green fabric.
12/20/06 11:06 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is simply gorgeous!
12/20/06 10:41 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is a very beautiful coat. I hope you wear it proudly. My Texas winters are not cold enough to do a project like this.
12/20/06 10:12 AM
carolynw said...
I looked at this and thought "what a beautiful coat" I know if I bought this in RTW I would pay $$$$. Wonderful job and hand made buttonholes WOW!!
12/20/06 10:00 AM
Marji said...
Beautiful coat. Kudos for making the hand done buttonholes - which elevate the whole garment to a diff level. Lovely work.
12/20/06 9:53 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very informative review and a very good looking coat. Great job!
12/20/06 9:44 AM
Nickle said...
Your coat is just beautiful, I bet it looks flattering on you. Beautiful fabric too.
12/20/06 9:44 AM
Planchet said...
Thanks so much for your comments on my first review! Yes, Carolyndh, there is only one pattern piece for the under collar- and your advice of trimming off an eighth of an inch from the under collar is such a good idea- I'll definitely try it next time.
12/20/06 9:43 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
What a wonderful first review! And the coat is gorgeous ... just what is needed this time of year! Welcome to Pattern review!
12/20/06 9:13 AM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice! Your coat looks very professional--love the style and the color. I am wondering--is there a separate under collar pattern piece that is slightly smaller in total area than the upper collar? Following info I learned here on PR, lately I have been trimming off 1/8 inch on the seam allowances of patterns when the under collar is the pattern piece and therefore same size as the upper collar.
12/20/06 9:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2825

photo
by: cybperry

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
EvaDress B30-7816

photo
by: XandraReyn...

Review