SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> LaRue Bag (La Rue Bag)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1458 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/21/06 8:43 PM
Last Updated:12/22/06 12:35 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, your bag turned out just wonderful. In fact, I think I like it best of all the versions, including mine. I love all your embellishments!
12/21/06 8:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it!! Your embellishments are fabulous-o. Brilliant idea to put a bead topper on the tassel.
12/21/06 9:08 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Just stunning! I love the whole look! Thank you for the great review...I need to download this pattern.
12/21/06 9:51 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful! I love it!
12/21/06 10:03 PM
krystalkaes said...
Ahhh. . .love it! Beautiful.
12/21/06 10:16 PM
PVA said...
A great result, Phyllis -- I like your idea of a facing instead of the round binding. Your embellishments are wonderful! Thanks for the review.
12/22/06 1:22 AM
runnerchicki said...
Your bag is gorgeous!
12/22/06 3:00 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 4:30 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 4:32 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 5:06 AM
Tany said...
That's a wonderful version of the La Rue Bag! Thank you for all the tips!
12/22/06 5:32 AM
Nancy K said...
This is fabulous. How many sq. ft do I need to buy to make this? I also would like to know how you did the facing.
12/22/06 7:03 AM
Marji said...
Thanks for all the detail on the construction (more on the diva blog). Absolutely stunning!
12/22/06 8:14 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Okay that's IT - I have to make this bag - I was holding out but with all the beautiful versions out there - and yours with its wonderful detailing - I'm on the bandwagon!
12/22/06 8:18 AM
maiaj said...
Beautiful, I would love to see this bag in real life!
12/22/06 12:41 PM
AnneM said...
Nice bag, congrats on yoru venture into using a new fabric. It's nice to know that this hobby will keep me learning for a long time, since you are still trying new things as well. (I just have more new things to try than you do.)
12/22/06 1:01 PM
Tiner W said...
Fabulous bag!
12/22/06 1:50 PM
marciae said...
Great bag - wonderful review.
12/22/06 1:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly groovy bag, Phyllis!
12/22/06 2:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly groovy bag, Phyllis!
12/22/06 3:06 PM
SansSouci572 said...
That is a bag for a diva! The way you laid the studs out and that chain--it seems to have a dynamic energy thing going on, for lack of a better word---purse fung shui?
12/22/06 3:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Phyllis, it's beautiful. I know you'll get lots of compliments when you carry it.
12/22/06 4:39 PM
Pyrose said...
Wow, this bag is awesome! I love the embellishments you added onto there. Wow! Don't know what else to say but....wow!....
12/22/06 4:55 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous. So great I might have to make one even though I don't think it would be nearly as great as yours.
12/22/06 7:26 PM
Georgene said...
Phyllis this is just wonderful. What a great version you have made - love the studs, the tassel, everything!
12/23/06 12:11 PM
Maychi said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love it!
12/24/06 5:43 AM
Nancy K said...
How did you treat the outside of the armhole?
12/31/06 11:47 AM
jean2Lr said...
I am making a LaRue bag. I'm having trouble with the binding. How do you make a facing like PhyllisC suggested? I need help. This is for my nurse at my Chemo Clinic and I really want it to look neat and finished. Help! Also, is a zipper really needed? And is the other side sewed all the way to the top or just past the o rings? I am confused.
4/28/07 5:12 PM
greenolives said...
I've read that other people are having issues finding out how to do the round facing? Can anyone help me out with the same?
5/4/07 11:57 AM
greenolives said...

5/4/07 1:14 PM
greenolives said...

5/4/07 8:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 97642-1000

photo
by: lynne1nor

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now