Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: LaRue Bag (La Rue Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1455 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/21/06 8:43 PM
Last Updated:12/22/06 12:35 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, your bag turned out just wonderful. In fact, I think I like it best of all the versions, including mine. I love all your embellishments!
12/21/06 8:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it!! Your embellishments are fabulous-o. Brilliant idea to put a bead topper on the tassel.
12/21/06 9:08 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Just stunning! I love the whole look! Thank you for the great review...I need to download this pattern.
12/21/06 9:51 PM
Sharon M said...
Beautiful! I love it!
12/21/06 10:03 PM
krystalkaes said...
Ahhh. . .love it! Beautiful.
12/21/06 10:16 PM
PVA said...
A great result, Phyllis -- I like your idea of a facing instead of the round binding. Your embellishments are wonderful! Thanks for the review.
12/22/06 1:22 AM
runnerchicki said...
Your bag is gorgeous!
12/22/06 3:00 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 4:30 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 4:32 AM
Clareew said...
Fabulous bag, the leather looks so soft. Can you explain a bit more about the round facing, I can't quite envisage how it works.
12/22/06 5:06 AM
Tany said...
That's a wonderful version of the La Rue Bag! Thank you for all the tips!
12/22/06 5:32 AM
Nancy K said...
This is fabulous. How many sq. ft do I need to buy to make this? I also would like to know how you did the facing.
12/22/06 7:03 AM
Marji said...
Thanks for all the detail on the construction (more on the diva blog). Absolutely stunning!
12/22/06 8:14 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Okay that's IT - I have to make this bag - I was holding out but with all the beautiful versions out there - and yours with its wonderful detailing - I'm on the bandwagon!
12/22/06 8:18 AM
maiaj said...
Beautiful, I would love to see this bag in real life!
12/22/06 12:41 PM
AnneM said...
Nice bag, congrats on yoru venture into using a new fabric. It's nice to know that this hobby will keep me learning for a long time, since you are still trying new things as well. (I just have more new things to try than you do.)
12/22/06 1:01 PM
Tiner W said...
Fabulous bag!
12/22/06 1:50 PM
marciae said...
Great bag - wonderful review.
12/22/06 1:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly groovy bag, Phyllis!
12/22/06 2:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunningly groovy bag, Phyllis!
12/22/06 3:06 PM
SansSouci572 said...
That is a bag for a diva! The way you laid the studs out and that chain--it seems to have a dynamic energy thing going on, for lack of a better word---purse fung shui?
12/22/06 3:33 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Phyllis, it's beautiful. I know you'll get lots of compliments when you carry it.
12/22/06 4:39 PM
Pyrose said...
Wow, this bag is awesome! I love the embellishments you added onto there. Wow! Don't know what else to say but....wow!....
12/22/06 4:55 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Fabulous. So great I might have to make one even though I don't think it would be nearly as great as yours.
12/22/06 7:26 PM
Georgene said...
Phyllis this is just wonderful. What a great version you have made - love the studs, the tassel, everything!
12/23/06 12:11 PM
Maychi said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I love it!
12/24/06 5:43 AM
Nancy K said...
How did you treat the outside of the armhole?
12/31/06 11:47 AM
jean2Lr said...
I am making a LaRue bag. I'm having trouble with the binding. How do you make a facing like PhyllisC suggested? I need help. This is for my nurse at my Chemo Clinic and I really want it to look neat and finished. Help! Also, is a zipper really needed? And is the other side sewed all the way to the top or just past the o rings? I am confused.
4/28/07 5:12 PM
greenolives said...
I've read that other people are having issues finding out how to do the round facing? Can anyone help me out with the same?
5/4/07 11:57 AM
greenolives said...

5/4/07 1:14 PM
greenolives said...

5/4/07 8:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's M6270
photo
Review by juliesbtw on 6/3/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2795 Hoddie
photo
Review by swirlgurl on 1/4/14
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1355 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us