SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B4659 

Viewed 866 times 
Reviewed by:Oddstray
photo

 
 
About Oddstray
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/06 11:42 PM
Last Updated:12/22/06 11:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Helen near Sydney said...
Oddstray, I think your shirt looks beautiful, you've obviously remembered a thing or two to get it to turn out so well. I like the fabric choice for this project, it almost has a vintage look to it Did you topstitch the collar?
12/23/06 2:33 AM
PattyU said...
I love your shirt. I think it looks very classic, and would be great to wear to a variety of places.
12/23/06 7:47 AM
carolynw said...
Looks good - congrats on your first review. Obviously you do remember a lot from your former sewing days!!
12/23/06 8:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love the style of this pattern--princess seams and curved hemline especially! Your top looks so nice on you!
12/23/06 9:35 AM
slanden99 said...
Great job getting out of a very long sewing slump. I've been wanting to try this pattern too. I like the collar on it.
12/23/06 9:56 AM
KempCorr said...
Very nice. It look good on you. I've been looking for something like this.
12/23/06 10:39 AM
Sharon M said...
Welcome back to sewing and congrats on your first review. This blouse does have nice lines to it with the princess seaming and the curved hemline.
12/23/06 11:14 AM
Kathi R said...
Nice job on your first project, sounds like you are on your way to pefecting patterns for a new wardrobe --- we are looking forward to many more reviews.
12/23/06 11:50 AM
Lhan said...
I think you are very brave to start back into sewing with a revered princess line shirt - among my less favorite things to sew. The lines suit you, and I relate very much to your comments about changes to the body shape. Like you I used to sew to the pattern, and have not quite adapted fully to the changes in fit I need to pay attention to. Is the fabric resistant to pressing? I thought if not, it might look even better with a really thorough pressing of all those lines of sewing. I also suspect that the shoulder line is low on you - the pattern looks as though the seam should be on the point of the shoulder, although the drawings are inconsistent. An adjustment here might improve fit in your subsequent, no doubt many, shirts! Cheers.
12/30/06 1:30 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for this review. I have this pattern and requested a review of it. It is a style I find very flattering, but have not tried to sew yet. i am going to pull it out and take a careful look at the corner issue. With the letter B in front of the pattern number in your title, B4659, the PR search system is not able to connect the review with the request. I think the preference is to leave the Bs and Vs out of pattern numbers.
12/30/06 9:37 PM
AnneM said...
Pretty top, nice looking collar. This looks very nice on you. Congrats on your 1st garment in a while.
1/3/07 4:42 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I have this pattern and I'm currently working on it. My fit muslin showed me that the shoulder length is somewhat longer than the envelope pictue indicates. Thanks for reviewing this - it's given me a good start basis. You should be very proud of your first garment in decades.
1/9/07 1:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Kwik Sew 3466

photo
by: JudyMac

Review
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 5454-1000

photo
by: SJ Kurtz

Review