Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4914 (Maggy London Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1929 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:SewingSkater
photo
About SewingSkaterstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/06 11:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
What a beautiful dress! Thanks for the tips on the sizing and caution about slinky. I'm glad you chose it for yours, though. It's perfect and you'll be the belle of any of your holiday events!
12/23/06 12:05 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern, but have been hesitant on making it. Thanks for the review and I love your hair!
12/23/06 12:07 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
The dress looks great! Wonderful review, too--very helpful. You'll look great at holiday parties!
12/23/06 12:08 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Dress looks great, lovely job as always. But *look at your hair*! Cute new do!
12/23/06 12:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty dress! Love your new hairdo, Leslie ... very sophisticated but cute too. Have a blast at the parties.
12/23/06 12:25 PM
Debbie Cook said...
oops. duplicate.
12/23/06 12:25 PM
Erica B. said...
Beautiful dress, great review!
12/23/06 12:26 PM
drsue said...
I love this dress. I bought the pattern even though the smallest size is a bit big for me. I guess its going to be even more of an issue than I was fearing. Oh well.
12/23/06 12:50 PM
LBJ said...
Very flattering. I love the longer sleeves.
12/23/06 12:56 PM
MissCelie said...
It looks wonderful. Great job.
12/23/06 1:02 PM
carolynw said...
This looks really good on you.
12/23/06 1:09 PM
Sharon M said...
Love your hairdo! I just pulled this pattern out this morning and was thinking of tackling it. Yours turned out nicely and you look beautiful in it.
12/23/06 1:44 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
So glad you reviewed this and had such nice results. I have pattern too and plan to make a top with it. Thanks for the tips!!
12/23/06 1:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great look for the holidays. Love your new hair style too!
12/23/06 2:44 PM
Anne S said...
Beautiful. You look spectacular. Thank you for a nice review. Have fun at your parties.
12/23/06 2:46 PM
Leora said...
Gorgeous dress and I love your new style!
12/23/06 2:46 PM
jnamcd said...
Great dress--you look great!
12/23/06 3:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress.
12/23/06 5:41 PM
PegL said...
Your dress is beautiful and you look wonderful!
12/23/06 7:17 PM
Monica G said...
Love the dress. It is the perfect holiday party dress. Have fun.
12/23/06 9:12 PM
PVA said...
Smashing results, I think you did a fantastic job with this! I don't think slinky is that easy to work with, JMO. I think I would like to try this pattern with the very drapey Sophia knit. Hmmmmm Thanks for this review. Hmmmmm! (LOL)
12/23/06 10:14 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a fantastic dress!
12/24/06 8:37 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a great dress. I recently looke at Maggie London's RTW dresses online, and this dress looks every bit as good as the ones I saw.
12/24/06 9:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a great dress. I recently looke at Maggie London's RTW dresses online, and this dress looks every bit as good as the ones I saw.
12/24/06 9:28 AM
Kath in ON said...
This pattern was on my wish list... You have convinced me to get it right away. Great dress!
12/24/06 10:13 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely dress. You certainly look all dressed up for the holidays. Grand job.
12/24/06 10:23 AM
Tesla121 said...
Thanks for the review. I have this pattern and was considering using slinky. Thanks for the heads up. I'm reconsidering my fabric choice now. You look great and I love the new hairstyle!
12/24/06 11:01 AM
MichelleE said...
You can never have enough little black dresses...Looks really cute on you!
12/24/06 11:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress. Like your new hairstyle-new to me anyway.
12/24/06 11:24 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Very cute party dress. The style looks very nice on you.
12/24/06 11:42 PM
AnneM said...
It definitely doesn't look like a dowdy black dress! Very nice.
1/4/07 1:22 PM
Aunt Gail said...
The dress looks great in the slinky black as well as dramatic. NOT High School by any means.
6/15/08 5:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8392
photo
Review by Elle B on 4/16/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3669 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3669 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1874 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6525
photo
Review by Trinity. on 1/13/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us