Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 104 (EziSew crossover bra) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 1673 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/06 2:00 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Another good job, and a bra anyone would be pleased to wear :-). Looking at the pictures, I'd say this one has cups a -teeny- bit too large, that's why you're getting not as much support as would seem likely? Or maybe I'm mistaken and what you'd need would be to ease the cross-over elastic a tiny bit more, so that the cup is held more firmly at the edge?

I also wonder whether a small bit of stiffening in the side seams would get rid of those side wrinkles and help keep the whole thing more structured? Just a bit of horsehair braid would work I think, not actual boning which probably wouldn't work well with your tendancy to have 'side breasts' (I know it well, mine do the same :-)).

I like how the sides of the back are high and give you good coverage, that must be comfortable. But I wonder whether you might do well with more hooks in the center? Would probably have to wait beyond the next kit to experiment with that :-). Meanwhile, the back closure seems very asymmetrical, when you add a bit to the lower band, maybe you could add it principally to the right side of the back to counteract that?

Really nice fabric in any case, and you're a lucky woman to be living in Australia near all those great supplies those of us at the antipodes can only drool over :-).
12/24/06 4:11 AM

Dale C said...
excellent review. I've seen the Ezisew patterns online, but haven't ordered. They have some nice styles. Both bras look pretty good, I will have to work on some as well as I have difficulty finding a good fitting bra... I'm in between small and too small. :) Your reviews have been very helpful.
12/24/06 6:37 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thanks for your helpful and detailed review. I'd love to make my own lingerie, but haven't gotten around to it yet. After reading your review I think it would be best to start would be with a pair of panties.
12/24/06 9:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great review and nice bra! It's great to see you back on PR!
12/24/06 3:50 PM
Lhan said...

12/25/06 1:22 AM
Lhan said...
Thank you folks for your helpful and supportive comments. Fuzzygalore, I think your comments are excellent - I am confused by my cup size, as all the measurements I do say I am an ample B cup, but the bras I have made all tend to look too big in the cup for me. I suspect I need to alter the upper cup piece a little, and your suggestion of altering/easing in the elastic on the front edge of the cups is along the same lines - possibly the two together would be perfect. Soft stiffening in the side seams is also an excellent suggestion - I hadn't thought of that. The hook and eye thing I think was partly the device itself and partly the way I treated it. Something was not right. I won't use that particular kind again. Nice to see the antipodes used for the north! Btw, are you really in California, France (your Bio says you are)? The 'Booby Traps' and 'Beautiful Bras' websites both offer nice kits, which they will post anywhere, so that might help with supplies. Wouldn't have included this embroidered net though.
12/25/06 1:27 AM
ryansmumAria said...
BRAVO! You are brilliant.
12/25/06 6:44 PM
Lhan said...
Just to add a comment - for the first time in many years I went and had a professional bra fitting at a local lingerie shop yesterday - and discovered I was doing two things wrong - I was wearing the wrong size, and I was not putting them on properly. The old 'hoist' technique (getting my breasts in place properly inside the cups), which I thought I was doing, I was not doing anywhere near enough, and I had my straps too loose. As well, rather than 14B, I am actually 14C, and I need more support than non-underwire bras can provide. LeeAnn Burgess says this kind of thing in her book "Making Beautiful Bras", and the advice did finally make me do something about it. It will change the direction I have for further bra making. So watch this space!
12/30/06 1:16 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

McCall's 5972
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 4/26/11
Read Review

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8120 MISSES' BLOUSE
photo
Review by sarahinlaf... on 11/15/09
Read Review

McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us