SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 104 (EziSew crossover bra)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1688 times 
Reviewed by:Lhan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lhanstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/06 2:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
Just to add a comment - for the first time in many years I went and had a professional bra fitting at a local lingerie shop yesterday - and discovered I was doing two things wrong - I was wearing the wrong size, and I was not putting them on properly. The old 'hoist' technique (getting my breasts in place properly inside the cups), which I thought I was doing, I was not doing anywhere near enough, and I had my straps too loose. As well, rather than 14B, I am actually 14C, and I need more support than non-underwire bras can provide. LeeAnn Burgess says this kind of thing in her book "Making Beautiful Bras", and the advice did finally make me do something about it. It will change the direction I have for further bra making. So watch this space!
12/30/06 1:16 AM
ryansmumAria said...
BRAVO! You are brilliant.
12/25/06 6:44 PM
Lhan said...
Thank you folks for your helpful and supportive comments. Fuzzygalore, I think your comments are excellent - I am confused by my cup size, as all the measurements I do say I am an ample B cup, but the bras I have made all tend to look too big in the cup for me. I suspect I need to alter the upper cup piece a little, and your suggestion of altering/easing in the elastic on the front edge of the cups is along the same lines - possibly the two together would be perfect. Soft stiffening in the side seams is also an excellent suggestion - I hadn't thought of that. The hook and eye thing I think was partly the device itself and partly the way I treated it. Something was not right. I won't use that particular kind again. Nice to see the antipodes used for the north! Btw, are you really in California, France (your Bio says you are)? The 'Booby Traps' and 'Beautiful Bras' websites both offer nice kits, which they will post anywhere, so that might help with supplies. Wouldn't have included this embroidered net though.
12/25/06 1:27 AM
Lhan said...

12/25/06 1:22 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great review and nice bra! It's great to see you back on PR!
12/24/06 3:50 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thanks for your helpful and detailed review. I'd love to make my own lingerie, but haven't gotten around to it yet. After reading your review I think it would be best to start would be with a pair of panties.
12/24/06 9:44 AM
Dale C said...
excellent review. I've seen the Ezisew patterns online, but haven't ordered. They have some nice styles. Both bras look pretty good, I will have to work on some as well as I have difficulty finding a good fitting bra... I'm in between small and too small. :) Your reviews have been very helpful.
12/24/06 6:37 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Another good job, and a bra anyone would be pleased to wear :-). Looking at the pictures, I'd say this one has cups a -teeny- bit too large, that's why you're getting not as much support as would seem likely? Or maybe I'm mistaken and what you'd need would be to ease the cross-over elastic a tiny bit more, so that the cup is held more firmly at the edge?

I also wonder whether a small bit of stiffening in the side seams would get rid of those side wrinkles and help keep the whole thing more structured? Just a bit of horsehair braid would work I think, not actual boning which probably wouldn't work well with your tendancy to have 'side breasts' (I know it well, mine do the same :-)).

I like how the sides of the back are high and give you good coverage, that must be comfortable. But I wonder whether you might do well with more hooks in the center? Would probably have to wait beyond the next kit to experiment with that :-). Meanwhile, the back closure seems very asymmetrical, when you add a bit to the lower band, maybe you could add it principally to the right side of the back to counteract that?

Really nice fabric in any case, and you're a lucky woman to be living in Australia near all those great supplies those of us at the antipodes can only drool over :-).
12/24/06 4:11 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now