SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8594 (Coordinates)

Viewed 1311 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/02 0:09 AM
Last Updated:12/1/02 0:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Very thorough review, Tonya! Good job!
12/1/02 1:13 AM
Alana Robson said...
It looks fantastic! It was worth every minute you spent on it. And the matching top, how did you get the stripes to line up with the pants? Thanks for your thorough review, I find that none of the pattern companies have good instructions when it comes to a tailored, fitted suit.
12/1/02 10:29 AM
Rustybobn said...
Nice Suit, Tonya!
12/1/02 1:43 PM
cherry said...
Good job, it looks most professional. I've made this one too, and found it to be extremely close-fitting. After measuring the pattern pieces I went up one size in the jacket and two in the pants. I can only imagine that Burda used a summer-weight suiting with a lot of lycra for it's sample. The pattern instruction you describe - interfacing the hems and so on, are standard for Burda tailored items. I personally liked the second dart running into the pocket, this is a menswear technique, and gives beautiful supple shaping, though I agree it can be a real pain to sew. I aways have to thread-baste all the markings.
12/1/02 4:59 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks for the comments all. :)

Yep, I like that dart too, but it's intimidating at first, cherry. You're right on the great shaping it creates though.

Alana, the Nebraska website said to line up your pattern pieces so that center front and center back are on a stripe. I didn't even notice that the top and the pants matched stripes - I'm assuming that was a result of putting every CF/CB on a stripe. Either that or I'm just twisted the right way, hehe.
12/1/02 11:20 PM

Marita Kinnula said...
Tonya, your suit is truly fantastic, the top is great, and the fabric looks very good, I have to congratulate you. I never do what they say in the instructions, it's better to get some good books and learn from them, then you just need to read the instructions thru once to see if there is anything special in them, and after that you use your head and do the way that suits you best. It's great!!!!:-)
12/2/02 4:29 AM
moushka said...
Tonya, I think it's time to up-date your sewing skills to "advanced." Anyone who can cope with a tailored suit from a Burda pattern in a striped fabric definitely gets to call herself an advanced seamstress! Great review, very flattering suit. Bet you'll wow them at the interviews. Good luck and congratulations on your M.D.
12/2/02 7:31 PM
Julia Graham said...
Unbelievably impressive and lovely! I agree that Burda + suit + stripes = advanced. Especially for pear shapes -- I'm one too and fitting pants is SO hard. :-( Yours look GREAT!
2/22/03 5:37 PM
lisaknitty said...
,
2/9/10 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Pamela's Patterns #109

photo
by: pt6356

Review
New Look 6909

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now