Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8594 (Coordinates) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1310 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo
About Tonyastarstar
SC USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/02 0:09 AM
Last Updated:12/1/02 0:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Very thorough review, Tonya! Good job!
12/1/02 1:13 AM
Alana Robson said...
It looks fantastic! It was worth every minute you spent on it. And the matching top, how did you get the stripes to line up with the pants? Thanks for your thorough review, I find that none of the pattern companies have good instructions when it comes to a tailored, fitted suit.
12/1/02 10:29 AM
Rustybobn said...
Nice Suit, Tonya!
12/1/02 1:43 PM
cherry said...
Good job, it looks most professional. I've made this one too, and found it to be extremely close-fitting. After measuring the pattern pieces I went up one size in the jacket and two in the pants. I can only imagine that Burda used a summer-weight suiting with a lot of lycra for it's sample. The pattern instruction you describe - interfacing the hems and so on, are standard for Burda tailored items. I personally liked the second dart running into the pocket, this is a menswear technique, and gives beautiful supple shaping, though I agree it can be a real pain to sew. I aways have to thread-baste all the markings.
12/1/02 4:59 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks for the comments all. :)

Yep, I like that dart too, but it's intimidating at first, cherry. You're right on the great shaping it creates though.

Alana, the Nebraska website said to line up your pattern pieces so that center front and center back are on a stripe. I didn't even notice that the top and the pants matched stripes - I'm assuming that was a result of putting every CF/CB on a stripe. Either that or I'm just twisted the right way, hehe.
12/1/02 11:20 PM

Marita Kinnula said...
Tonya, your suit is truly fantastic, the top is great, and the fabric looks very good, I have to congratulate you. I never do what they say in the instructions, it's better to get some good books and learn from them, then you just need to read the instructions thru once to see if there is anything special in them, and after that you use your head and do the way that suits you best. It's great!!!!:-)
12/2/02 4:29 AM
moushka said...
Tonya, I think it's time to up-date your sewing skills to "advanced." Anyone who can cope with a tailored suit from a Burda pattern in a striped fabric definitely gets to call herself an advanced seamstress! Great review, very flattering suit. Bet you'll wow them at the interviews. Good luck and congratulations on your M.D.
12/2/02 7:31 PM
Julia Graham said...
Unbelievably impressive and lovely! I agree that Burda + suit + stripes = advanced. Especially for pear shapes -- I'm one too and fitting pants is SO hard. :-( Yours look GREAT!
2/22/03 5:37 PM
lisaknitty said...
,
2/9/10 4:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us