Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1753 (3-piece suit) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 3064 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/07 4:48 AM
Last Updated:1/1/07 4:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Awsome! Thanks for this review and all the valuable info on it.
1/1/07 6:01 AM
Lhan said...
What a lovely review! I like to make things for DH too, and deplore the lack of patterns. I have made him only a collarless jacket without any real tailoring, but it has been a huge success, and now your review inspires me to try something a bit more ambitious. I think your points about bearing with mistakes and not allowing them to overwhelm the process is great. The jacket looks good (your pictures are a bit small on my screen so it is a bit hard to tell). I love the pose, complete with friend!
1/1/07 7:31 AM
julesberry said...
Lhan - thanks for the comments. Sorry the pictures are a bt scruffy but it isn't the weather for this suit yet and Japanese houses don't have central heating, so husband threw it on and I quickly snapped a few shots for the review. Hope to update the pictures sometime when the suit is actually in use.
1/1/07 7:47 AM
julesberry said...

1/1/07 8:01 AM
Sewliz said...
What a great jacket you made! I have seen many good looking garments with superfeatherweight tailoring in ladies' RTw lately. It would be fun to do some snoop shopping in Japan. I like the cute rodent accessory, much better than an alligator bag.
1/1/07 9:18 AM
janlorraine said...
I am really excited to read your review since I am getting ready to make my husband a suit jacket too. I agree with you wholeheartedly about fusible interfacing; I never want to change the "hand" of a fabric and I do not trust glue to last for the long haul. I also like the idea of making an "unconstructed" jacket that will have a softer feel. I have come to dislike the over-padded look of men's suiting these days. I am planning to use Chanel techniques on my husband's jacket: it will look like a suit, but feel like a sweater (I hope). Thanks again! jl
1/1/07 9:22 AM
zoezmommy said...
Impressive! Very courageous of you! Thanks for your detailed review.
1/1/07 9:54 AM
BeckyC said...
Your husbands suit jacket looks wonderful -- rat and all! Your DH is so lucky that you have the knowledge and resources to make a custom jacket to his specification. The fit looks wonderful too! Great review.
1/1/07 10:33 AM
Kay Y said...
Great work on this jacket, and an entertaining and informative review. Keep on sewing (now you can try a jacket for yourself!
1/1/07 11:13 AM
sewbehind said...
Very nice. The rat is the perfect finishing touch!
1/1/07 11:32 AM
Elona said...
You went at it boldly, and the result is quite elegant. Congratulations. The rat adds an interesting touch, too. Seldom does a rat get on-camera time in a fashion shoot.
1/1/07 12:08 PM
frame said...
Great looking jacket. Great review.Thanks.
1/1/07 1:20 PM
Skymom said...
Wants to look like a rhinoceros?! How funny! Well, thanks to your skill, he looks much better than a rhino, although I do see the sophisticated rumpled effect he apparently was after. I also love the rat. My husband had a pet rat once, and it was the most adorable pet--until DH developed an allergy, and rat went to live a very pampered life in a middle school science class.
1/1/07 1:23 PM
CSM--Carla said...
What an informative review, Julesberry!!!! Beautiful work and nice look on that handsome guy! Also referred back to your previous reviews--very thorough and helpful! Thank you! Carla
1/1/07 1:36 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Great review! Thorough & informative - really appreciated.
1/1/07 2:35 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
When I lived in Paris, my male friends would often wear long pleated tailored shorts, classic blazers, leather oxfords, leather belts and a polo or button down shirt with them. They looked at the same time classic, country club and stylish. But, I've never seen this look in the states. Perhaps it's popular in certain cities or parts of the country. Where is this style most seen? And, what sort of shoes and socks and shirt will your husband wear with these? I can see an upscale black tshirt or similar tone polo perhaps, but what on his feet?
1/1/07 7:30 PM
julesberry said...
popoagiesmiles - See previous review of the shorts linked to in the review for photos including the sort of clothes husband is likely to wear with the suit. As for where it is popular in the USA I have no idea (do Americans ever wear suits?) but it seems pretty common on the catwalks (eg see men.style.com)! Never seen anyone dress like this here (Japan) - husband intends to be the first. :-)
1/1/07 10:40 PM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you for the review of both the jacket and Kenneth King's Tailored Jacket book. I love the jacket. . .and the cute little tailed critter too. :-)
1/2/07 9:26 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I can see why this took so much time. Lovely, and he's cute too
1/2/07 9:31 AM
LornaJay said...
Wow!
1/2/07 3:50 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the jacket; this looks like a great alternative to other options. Nice fashion accessory (pet).
1/9/07 9:00 AM
Tom P said...
Great jacket. You might try one of the old-school Greist or Singer buttonhole attachments to get your machine to make keyhole buttonholes. That's what I did, and it works pretty well. It's a pain to switch the whole thing over, but I get pretty good results. The attachments run about $10 on eBay. I like the older style that don't use the machine's built-in zigzag stitch, as I think the ends of the buttonholes come out a little better.
8/9/07 9:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us