SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> quilt (anniversary quilt)

18 more reviews
Viewed 921 times 
Reviewed by:Shannon Gifford
photo

 
 
About Shannon Giffordstar
GA USA
Member since: 3/20/02
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/07 9:40 AM
Last Updated:1/3/07 2:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Shannon Gifford said...
Well, the photo link doesn't work. I'm headed out for a bit (and I'm late:)), but I'll fix it when I get back.
1/3/07 9:41 AM
Princess Jenny said...
WOW! Incredibly lovely. :) I am inspired.
1/3/07 10:45 AM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! Someone just won a quilt contest using this technique -- she made a picture of her father. I'm sure it would take me a LOT longer time than it did you. Your results look fabulous. The picture of you parents in front of the quilt isn't coming thru, and I'd love to see that one just for a perspective point of view.
1/3/07 10:49 AM
BeckyW said...
That is unbelievable!! What a great gift.
1/3/07 11:44 AM
Peggy L said...
Stunning! I'm sure it was the talk of the party. Oh, i got to see your parents. They look so happy!
1/3/07 11:58 AM
Linda E. said...
wow.. that is stunning..
1/3/07 12:46 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG, Shannon. That is amazing. What a special gift. The photo of your parents made me all weepy. They're a lovely couple.
1/3/07 1:14 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Wow! That's a true work of art and love. Thanks to Leslie also for the correct photo link to see your parents. Great photo!
1/3/07 1:25 PM
SueV said...
wonderful! I made one of these too using my mother's high school graduation photo. Wasn't it fun to make! Congratulations to your parents!
1/3/07 2:10 PM
CarolynGM said...
You made that in five days? Did you sleep at all? What an amazing project and your parents look so happy standing in front of it.
1/3/07 2:49 PM
Skye said...
Fantastic
1/3/07 2:53 PM
mistrydesigns said...
I am inspired! Truly amazing! Thank you for sharing this with us.
1/3/07 3:11 PM
Melody said...
WHOA! That is an absolutely amazing piece. What a wonderful gift.
1/3/07 3:25 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Yes, I did it in five days....but remember, I had some help. The kids were enlisted to position the fabrics; dd #2 clipped the intersections for me. We worked about 3 hours per day. It helps to divide the whole piece into manageable sections, and work on them a bit at a time...but then, it also helps to make the quilt smaller:)LOL
1/3/07 3:59 PM
Irene Q said...
Wow!! I'm stunned that this was so easy, although the fusible grid is certainly faster than sewing all the individual pieces. Fantastic job and thanks for the review!
1/3/07 4:24 PM
touran said...
That is incredible. The quantity of different fabrics that you used must help in the definition of the image. Very beautiful.
1/3/07 4:43 PM
SewPaula said...
That is beautiful! What a loving tribute to your parents!
1/3/07 5:02 PM
slanden99 said...
Amazing!
1/3/07 6:15 PM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful and what a treasure for them. A great photo, too!
1/3/07 9:41 PM
Stacy Sews said...
That is an amazing piece of work!!!!!!
1/3/07 9:50 PM
ryan's mom said...
Shannon, that is awesome!!! My mom and dad will be celebrating their 50th this September so this is a great idea! :)
1/4/07 6:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely Shannon! That was a lot of work too, and it is beautiful. Very special gift.
1/4/07 9:44 AM
krystalkaes said...
Did your parents cry? And thank you for the "technique" of enlisting your family. I have done this on many occasion. It is a beautiful quilt.
1/4/07 9:48 AM
LisaG said...
Shannon, this is GORGEOUS! I do not quilt at all, but I am now tempted to learn before my parents' 50th anniversary. I have three years...think I can do it? Is it beginner-friendly? Also, where did you get the software? You did an amazing job.
1/4/07 10:19 AM
PVA said...
Ohmygosh -- I'm speechless! (Well, almost.) Shannon, I can only echo all of the above. You don't review very often, but when you do you really knock the socks off! Thank you so much for sharing what is a truly inspirational moment in your life!
1/4/07 11:21 AM
Shannon Gifford said...
Lisa, the program is available at www.mosaicquilt.com (NAYY) And yes, you can do this, even if you've never quilted before. Start with a small project to learn the technique, something with few colors and a small size, like a flower photo or a seashell. It helps to learn the technique first, then you can definitely do the "big one" for a second project. Start collecting fabrics as soon as possible, though, because that is the hardest part of the process.
1/4/07 3:20 PM
Deepika said...
Wow Shannon, this is super cool.
1/5/07 9:10 AM
Avril said...
What a labor of love. That is so sweet. I'm sure your parents were overwhelmed.
1/5/07 9:31 AM
LisaG said...
Shannon, I just emailed a pic of your quilt to my husband, and now he's interested in this too. Not only as a gift for my folks, but for his brother and sis-in-law's 25th, which is coming up soon. I would definitely start with a small project, as you suggest. How did you pick fabrics? Were they plain or patterned? (Remember when I said I've never quilted...I wasn't kidding!) Do you have any closeup shots of the quilt to show the types of fabrics you used? Thank you so much for your help.
1/5/07 12:48 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Lisa, I used some plain, and some patterned fabric. The program provides a color chart for you to match with fabrics. Some of the fabrics I used worked best when used on the wrong side! Look at this album for a few more photos:http://new.photos.yahoo.com/shannonsews2001/album/576460762382911701
1/6/07 10:04 AM
suzanrossi said...
Shannon, this is lovely! I'm just now taking a class from you and thought to look up your profile and some of your reviews. You are one versatile fiber artist!
3/3/07 12:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

No Pattern Used no pattern used

photo
by: colormefun

Review
The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now