SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5278 (Misses' Jacket w/ Shawl Collar)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1728 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/07 5:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I like it in the WM muslin! TOO CUTE! Yours looks so much better than the envelope
1/3/07 5:25 PM
Nicoal said...
This is gorgeous--although I'm short-waisted as well, so I'm going to take your advice and just admire it!
1/3/07 5:31 PM
Marji said...
well, it's very cute on the hanger
1/3/07 5:52 PM
kkkkaty said...
It's very pretty, and I love the fabric. I think perhaps you bought the wrong pattern size, though. A 10/12 in RTW (which I also am) is a 14/16 in pattern sizes for the big four pattern companies. That may have caused your fitting problem... great job on the jacket and picking the fabric!
1/3/07 6:10 PM
Lori V said...
I like your jacket, I will have to pick that pattern up at the next Joann's sale.
1/3/07 7:03 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket. Thanks for an excellent review and I have noted the tip re the shotness to waist. Enjoy wearing it, I'll bet it looks wonderful on :)))
1/3/07 7:46 PM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, this is cute! I like the peplum and the collar. Too bad you don't like the way it looks on you. Maybe you just need to get used to silhouette of the jacket if you've never worn anything like that before. It sure is cute on the hanger :-)
1/3/07 8:01 PM
Lhan said...
Aha! I have looked long and hard at this pattern to decide whether I like it or not - your version is much more enticing than the pattern picture. Do post a picture of you in it! You might be surprised at the comments, and it is SOOO helpful to we readers. kkkkaty might well be right - I use size 14 in the big 4 patterns, but I wear 10 in US rtw - I thought that they might use pattern sizing specific for different countries, because I wear 14 in rtw here in Australia as well - ditto in NZ and the UK. Not sure now. In the right size, it might well look a lot better on you. I remember my mother wearing a coat with a big collar just like this - in a hideous shade of mushroom mind you, but it was cuddly!
1/3/07 8:32 PM
coloreyec said...
Now that is too cute. I can see it with a mid calf pencil skirt and a large brooch or flower on the collar.
1/3/07 8:34 PM
said...
Very Pretty.
1/3/07 8:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your helpful and motivational comments! Please see plea below the conclusion.
1/3/07 10:09 PM
Marji said...
under "knowledge base" up top is a wealth of information. The stitch you will want to use is called a "fell stitch" and the technique is illustrated here, although you won't see the stitches if they are done properly, ie, inserting the needle back down into the 1st layer directly under the previous stitch. I think they are so visible in the illustration just to show where they go. Have fun with it. You've done a great job already.
1/3/07 10:16 PM
KarmenG said...
Love the look. You did a great job. Thanks for the inspiration. I have a piece in my stash is screaming to be this jacket! I also vote Yes - please post a picture with you modeling ; ) I bet it looks better than you think.
1/3/07 11:11 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Beautifully made jacket, love the style. there's a BWOF pattern with similar collar and no peplum that i plan to make, may be better for us short waisted people!
1/3/07 11:18 PM
Erica B. said...
What an adorable jacket. This is one of those patterns that I flipped by. Yours is so cute, I may have to look again.
1/3/07 11:37 PM
pterion said...
This is absolutely darling. I love the styling of this pattern and houndstooth was a perfect fabric choice.
1/4/07 0:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Love the fabric choice.
1/4/07 5:35 AM
LBJ said...
I love it! I have been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review and I like yours tons better than the Marc Jacobs!
1/4/07 9:54 AM
krystalkaes said...
I love the jacket! I also am short waisted and abundant in posterior so I also will take your advice and admire the work you have done and stay away from this particular pattern. Thank you for the review. Good job.
1/4/07 10:01 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Kkkkaty's observation that you try a larger size is right on: I'm 5'2" , wear a size 10RTW and sew size 14. The design of this jacket is fabulous and I think shorties like us could carry it off in a solid colour. I'd recommend finding some delicious fabric and going for it again. It'll be easier and faster the second time around.
1/4/07 10:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice job, and better than the envelope! Try bagging the lining to insert te linin all by machine, and use a reference book like JFRP or Connie Long's linings book.
1/4/07 1:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Cute design, and I love that houndstooth. It's so "in" now. Thanks for the review.
1/4/07 2:02 PM
Nancywin said...
Yours looks much nicer than the pattern envelope. I think it looks really sharp! Nice job.
1/7/07 1:17 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I can't tell you how much I like this!
2/7/07 9:13 AM
nicegirl said...
Don't know how I missed this when you first posted! Saw it in the Fabric Stash contest gallery and had to tell you how cute it is. I adore a peplum and a shawl collar. I'm sure you look better in it that you think.
2/12/07 0:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: kidmd

Review