SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6610 (New Look 6610 Misses Lined Jac)

Viewed 1091 times 
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo

 
 
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/07 8:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Nice work! I recommend buying some different kinds of interfacing and having them on hand for your jacket projects. I usually test fuse a couple of 3-4" squares on scraps of fabric before making a decision which one or which combination to use. I often use a firmer interfacing on the jacket front and lighter one on facings, upper collar, hems, etc. I don't serge seam allowances in a lined jacket unless the fabric frays a lot.
1/4/07 9:22 AM
KarmenG said...
Well you should be proud! Lots of work to a jacket, and it looks great on you. I agree with Kay Y having several varieties of interfacing on hand to test and compare.
1/4/07 9:58 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it! Great job!!
1/4/07 10:02 AM
Erica B. said...
Great job on your first jacket!
1/4/07 10:28 AM
Hilary said...
LOL, you *should* be proud, great job!! Your jacket is beautiful!
1/4/07 10:38 AM
moss said...
Yes you should sing! It looks FABULOUS!!
1/4/07 11:00 AM
Soliel said...
Very, very cute!!! I like the neutral color...can wear in any season. I like the tie style the best...it really is feminine and accentuates your shape. I am going to Joann's today too! I am getting some of their sale boucle...congratulations! Very, cute, Tres chic jacket!
1/4/07 11:03 AM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous jacket. You should be VERY proud of yourself.
1/4/07 12:00 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful! Congratulations on your first jacket!
1/4/07 2:58 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! Congrats!
1/4/07 4:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres magnifique! Your jackets looks so RTW! Great job on your first jacket! You will definitely will be hooked making more!
1/4/07 4:39 PM
frame said...
You should be very proud! Your jacket looks terrific.
1/4/07 5:27 PM
Anne S said...
Beautiful jacket. You should be proud of your project. It looks terrific on you.
1/4/07 5:48 PM
LauraTS said...
Looks beautiful! Brava!
1/4/07 5:57 PM
PatM said...
Your jacket looks as good as the one on the model on the pattern. What a successful project, no alterations must save heapsof time. Lovely jacket
1/4/07 9:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You did an excellent job. Your jacket looks good and is flattering. The Sewing Place offers numerous brands of interfacing and they did have on their site some helpful information about the interfacing and what type fabric is does well on. NAYYY! with them just I use them for some of my interfacing purchases.
1/5/07 5:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your jacket looks great, and you got the perfect smile to show off how much you like it :) !
1/5/07 7:17 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your jacket. What a cute style.
1/5/07 8:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome jacket, you should be proud!!! :-)
1/5/07 8:26 AM
Jane S said...
Terrific looking jacket on you. Do the happy dance to celebrate your success. I agree with the advice to test several interfacings although I mostly use fusi Knit, silk organza and a knit interfacing I get from Fabric Mart Fabrics on line. Bravo, it took me years to get the courage to tackle a jacket.
1/5/07 8:43 AM
Sewing Chick said...
The jacket looks fantastic, especially for your first one. You should be very proud of yourself!!! Sandra Betzina has a wonderful illustrated explanation on bagging a lining in her Power Sewing book. She covers the topic on sleeves well. I highly recommend the book.
1/5/07 1:28 PM
OP Gal said...
You should be proud, your jacket looks great and great on you. The collar looks like a different fabric or like it was quilted--maybe it's just they way the light is shining on it? Anyway, it looks lovely.
1/5/07 5:03 PM
SewGirl said...
Great job, Doc! Looks wonderful on you.
1/5/07 5:59 PM
blueorchid said...
Thanks for the review! I am planning on making this jacket for fall and may start sooner after seeing yours. You did an amazing job. As for your question on interfacing I just buy mine from Joann. I never use iron on though I have never liked the way it ends up looking or feeling. Hope that helps. Thanks again!!
9/3/07 12:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Other Wiksten Tova Top

photo
by: redsilvia

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
brerrabbit.com LD-5-PTD-1

photo
by: RachelSton...

Review