Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6610 (New Look 6610 Misses Lined Jac) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1084 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Dr. Alice
photo
About Dr. Alicestar
MA USA
Member since: 1/5/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/07 8:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Y said...
Nice work! I recommend buying some different kinds of interfacing and having them on hand for your jacket projects. I usually test fuse a couple of 3-4" squares on scraps of fabric before making a decision which one or which combination to use. I often use a firmer interfacing on the jacket front and lighter one on facings, upper collar, hems, etc. I don't serge seam allowances in a lined jacket unless the fabric frays a lot.
1/4/07 9:22 AM
KarmenG said...
Well you should be proud! Lots of work to a jacket, and it looks great on you. I agree with Kay Y having several varieties of interfacing on hand to test and compare.
1/4/07 9:58 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it! Great job!!
1/4/07 10:02 AM
Erica B. said...
Great job on your first jacket!
1/4/07 10:28 AM
Hilary said...
LOL, you *should* be proud, great job!! Your jacket is beautiful!
1/4/07 10:38 AM
moss said...
Yes you should sing! It looks FABULOUS!!
1/4/07 11:00 AM
Soliel said...
Very, very cute!!! I like the neutral color...can wear in any season. I like the tie style the best...it really is feminine and accentuates your shape. I am going to Joann's today too! I am getting some of their sale boucle...congratulations! Very, cute, Tres chic jacket!
1/4/07 11:03 AM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous jacket. You should be VERY proud of yourself.
1/4/07 12:00 PM
Tany said...
Wonderful! Congratulations on your first jacket!
1/4/07 2:58 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! Congrats!
1/4/07 4:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres magnifique! Your jackets looks so RTW! Great job on your first jacket! You will definitely will be hooked making more!
1/4/07 4:39 PM
frame said...
You should be very proud! Your jacket looks terrific.
1/4/07 5:27 PM
Anne S said...
Beautiful jacket. You should be proud of your project. It looks terrific on you.
1/4/07 5:48 PM
LauraTS said...
Looks beautiful! Brava!
1/4/07 5:57 PM
PatM said...
Your jacket looks as good as the one on the model on the pattern. What a successful project, no alterations must save heapsof time. Lovely jacket
1/4/07 9:15 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You did an excellent job. Your jacket looks good and is flattering. The Sewing Place offers numerous brands of interfacing and they did have on their site some helpful information about the interfacing and what type fabric is does well on. NAYYY! with them just I use them for some of my interfacing purchases.
1/5/07 5:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Your jacket looks great, and you got the perfect smile to show off how much you like it :) !
1/5/07 7:17 AM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your jacket. What a cute style.
1/5/07 8:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Awesome jacket, you should be proud!!! :-)
1/5/07 8:26 AM
Jane S said...
Terrific looking jacket on you. Do the happy dance to celebrate your success. I agree with the advice to test several interfacings although I mostly use fusi Knit, silk organza and a knit interfacing I get from Fabric Mart Fabrics on line. Bravo, it took me years to get the courage to tackle a jacket.
1/5/07 8:43 AM
Sewing Chick said...
The jacket looks fantastic, especially for your first one. You should be very proud of yourself!!! Sandra Betzina has a wonderful illustrated explanation on bagging a lining in her Power Sewing book. She covers the topic on sleeves well. I highly recommend the book.
1/5/07 1:28 PM
OP Gal said...
You should be proud, your jacket looks great and great on you. The collar looks like a different fabric or like it was quilted--maybe it's just they way the light is shining on it? Anyway, it looks lovely.
1/5/07 5:03 PM
SewGirl said...
Great job, Doc! Looks wonderful on you.
1/5/07 5:59 PM
blueorchid said...
Thanks for the review! I am planning on making this jacket for fall and may start sooner after seeing yours. You did an amazing job. As for your question on interfacing I just buy mine from Joann. I never use iron on though I have never liked the way it ends up looking or feeling. Hope that helps. Thanks again!!
9/3/07 12:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Hollywood 1787
photo
Review by Nick D on 9/13/11
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Maychi on 3/15/09
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )
McCalls 2853 Pattern( Size SML-XLG )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us