Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: Paris Promenade Dress261 (Paris Promenade Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1779 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/07 7:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Thanks for posting this, Ann. I wonder if there is anything you can do to cut it back and salvage the fabric?
1/5/07 7:50 PM
Susan R said...
Well, I think this looks great on you! Love the fabric.
1/5/07 8:16 PM
touran said...
Thank you so much for bringing this out. I think it'd be a perfect dress for a beach lifestyle, in the evenings. It's still very pretty on you.
1/5/07 8:41 PM
AMarie said...
I've been wanting to sew this dress for a long time. If I ever get to it, I'll post my pics. Thanks for sharing your pictures of the finished product.
1/5/07 9:07 PM
Lhan said...
I really like this! I am always a sucker for dramatic fabrics, and I think this is a great use of it. You could easily have made it today, even though large dresses are not strictly fashionable. I think touran's idea of an evening beach style is perfect. It would suit Sydney at the moment, in the rayon you used. Thanks for the review Ann - always a pleasure to read yours.
1/5/07 9:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
I like it Ann - it's a great summer beach dress.
1/5/07 9:35 PM
Enid E said...
well, Ann, I think it still looks quite lovely on you. I think I would love this dress and would feel comfortable wearing it.
1/5/07 10:55 PM
blue mooney said...
I'm so glad you posted this! I'd love to see other people's adventures with Folkwear - then maybe I'd make some of my patterns up! Hang on to this one - you may still have occasion to wear it, and it still looks nice.
1/6/07 7:42 AM
carolynw said...
Much as you may think it is not flattering with the extra weight I have to disagree - it looks fine. The fabric is beautiful so maybe if you really don't want to wear the dress now you can re-cycle? If my geography is right you do have pretty warm summers so this would be a cool thing to wear then? Anyway Ann if you really don't want it I will send you my address and pay postage too LOL. Nice to have this review.
1/6/07 10:15 AM
cecelia said...
Ann, I think the dress is beautiful. I too will give you my address if you want to get rid of it!
1/6/07 10:27 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cool dress! Great canvas for your fabric.
1/6/07 10:42 AM
Sharon M said...
I always loved that Folkwear pattern but never got around to sewing it up. It is a lovely version that you made, I can see why you kept it. Beautiful use of the fabric.
1/6/07 12:57 PM
missy d said...
Thank you so much for digging this one out! I have the pattern and I'm thrilled to see one made.
1/7/07 4:58 PM
orodwen said...
Thanks for the review. I am wondering if you could update the photo links since they no longer work? Also, I have gained weight since buying this pattern and that is why I am curious about how it appears. Again, thanks!
2/19/08 1:07 PM
mmcp said...
Just a note about the part at the top--if you made this dress many years ago, you probably made the orginal pattern which was produced under license from the Met. Museum. At some point Folkwear went under or something, and Taunton bought them--I don't remember the whole saga, but they lost the permissions for the Met dresses. They altered this pattern just enough to say it wasn't the same. It was not improved.
7/9/09 6:37 PM
Alison Cummins said...
Ann, I would love to see your dress, but your flickr links seem to be gone. Would it be possible to update again?
4/5/10 10:07 PM
miausiau said...
I have one of these and if you tie it in the front and back instead of the sides you get a fabulous 20's flapper effect. I too have the older version, and it has 2 sets of attached sashes.
8/8/12 6:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us