Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Saf-T-Pockets: 9600 (Journey Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1606 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/02 11:24 PM
Last Updated:12/6/02 0:31 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maria Hatfield said...
hey margaret, i think the coat looks very nice and its also different. give yourself a pat on the back for this one. its neat.
12/6/02 0:05 AM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
Margaret, you wrote a very nice and detailed review. These are the kinds that are helpful. This coat made in a drapey fabric (saw and tried on one in ultrasuede light at a sewing expo) does not have a stovepipe look...cheryl
12/6/02 1:55 AM
Margaret said...
Yes, I expect it would be less stovepipe-y in drapey fabric; mine was somewhere between suit and coat weight with some drape but not really as much as the pattern wants. Also, a drapey, self-lined coat (for example) is going to be significantly less work than this wool one was, and would mean the unlined sleeves would make perfect sense, so I think I would recommend that idea over what I did for an easier (but likely less warm) coat.
12/6/02 2:33 AM
Margaret said...
... btw, thanks for the nice comments, everyone.
12/6/02 2:34 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Margaret, you have made yourself a very beautiful coat.
12/6/02 4:30 AM
Femme said...
Thank you for the detailed review; it's very helpful to me because I've been thinking about trying this pattern line. And your coat turned out beautifully!
12/6/02 10:19 AM
MissCelie said...
I think this coat is so nice! The drape at the top is wonderful.
12/6/02 4:55 PM
Barbara LeDucq said...
Margaret, would you elaborate on the interfacing tip for hems on heavy coat fabrics under tips/techniques some day? Beautiful coat (I've been jealous of the inside pockets in men's coats also) and a great review. Thanks for sharing. Barbara
12/7/02 1:09 PM
Terry McCormick said...
Can't tell you how much I appreciate this review! I bought this pattern about 5 years ago (!) and have never quite gotten around to it - I think I'm going to get it out and do something serious with it thanks to you. I have seen this jacket in a quilt store in Seattle seriously embelllished - and it looks stunning - perfect style for fabric manipulations of many sorts - Your coat is very elegant looking - could be worn so many places and very practical.
12/14/02 2:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-31
photo
Review by Christas on 1/31/09
Read Review

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3781 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9411
photo
Review by Teenie on 7/2/04
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amanda's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us