SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4598 (The Perfect Fitting Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1206 times 
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/07 7:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is just lovely. It's a classic that will serve you well. I have also found the Palmer/Pletsch welt pocket method to be very successful. It may take extra steps, but if you follow it exactly, the results are certainly worth the effort.
1/6/07 8:18 AM
JuliaS said...
Wow, this is so classic and beautiful.
1/6/07 8:24 AM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful jacket! I have been thinking about how much I like the longer jackets wondering if it would be too 1990's to wear now. I am tall and pear shaped too and the shrunken short jacket look is not a good look for me. Your jacket is stylish and far from old fashioned, thanks for answering my question. Amazing pattern for McCall but then I see it is one of their Palmer Pletsch patterns. Those ladies know their stuff.
1/6/07 8:49 AM
christine A said...
Wonderful stunning jacket! Thank you for the great review. I love the longer jackets too as I am tall.
1/6/07 9:09 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Why have I not noticed that jacket pattern? It's brilliant - all the features I love: princess seams, long narrow single button front (so slimming) and longer length. Your fabric is lovely and will turn any separates into an outfit. Thanks for your review!
1/6/07 9:20 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks really sharp, esp. the crisp welt pockets. I too like the longer length, and I may have to che out these "no-fail" welt pocket!
1/6/07 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
I really like this look!! This jacket can be so adaptable -looks cool with your jeans but I bet it would go to a more dressy event and look just as good!!
1/6/07 9:58 AM
Deb Thompson said...
This is a beautiful jacket that will serve you well - what a great wardrobe staple. Your fit is perfect and I really like the material. I'm so happy you mentioned the welt pocket instructions as I have been intimidated to try them thus far in my sewing career! Great review - can't wait to see the same jacket on you only in a different color and fabric!!
1/6/07 10:00 AM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful jacket and lovely material. It looks like it cost a bundle from a high end store. Nice job.
1/6/07 10:39 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Great jacket and great review. I've been wondering how useful these adjustable patterns are - I've been shying away from them because of the potential information overload factor. Looks like this one is worth it!
1/6/07 10:49 AM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a very nice jacket. Lucky you to get great fit right out of the envelope. This pattern looks as if it could be dressed up or down. Thanks for the review.
1/6/07 10:53 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Karen, This jacket is beautiful. You did a fabulous job and the material is gorgeous. I will have to try this pattern for the welt pocket technique. You inspire me.
1/6/07 11:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous jacket! Gorgeous model also! I enjoy your interpretation better than what are on the envelope!
1/6/07 1:42 PM
Lhan said...
I want to know how you have time to do such beautiful (and time-consuming) sewing while doing a PhD! Or is it, as it was for me, the ultimate procrastination?!? This jacket looks beautiful, in fact much better on you than on the pattern, which looks clunky and old-fashioned. Yours doesn't at all. Thanks so much for the advice about welt pockets - I too avoid them like the plague. Nice to know where I can find good advice.
1/6/07 8:02 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice jacket, Karen. It looks great on you.
1/6/07 9:10 PM
PixieCat said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I just finished this pattern too and it's a winner.
1/7/07 7:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful workmanship and a classic jacket! I prefer the single-button closures, too.
1/7/07 8:46 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent jacket.
1/7/07 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
StyleArc Coco Jacket

photo
by: Sarsez

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now