SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4598 (The Perfect Fitting Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1206 times 
Reviewed by:Karen8320
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen8320star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/14/04
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/07 7:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is just lovely. It's a classic that will serve you well. I have also found the Palmer/Pletsch welt pocket method to be very successful. It may take extra steps, but if you follow it exactly, the results are certainly worth the effort.
1/6/07 8:18 AM
JuliaS said...
Wow, this is so classic and beautiful.
1/6/07 8:24 AM
Sewliz said...
Beautiful jacket! I have been thinking about how much I like the longer jackets wondering if it would be too 1990's to wear now. I am tall and pear shaped too and the shrunken short jacket look is not a good look for me. Your jacket is stylish and far from old fashioned, thanks for answering my question. Amazing pattern for McCall but then I see it is one of their Palmer Pletsch patterns. Those ladies know their stuff.
1/6/07 8:49 AM
christine A said...
Wonderful stunning jacket! Thank you for the great review. I love the longer jackets too as I am tall.
1/6/07 9:09 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Why have I not noticed that jacket pattern? It's brilliant - all the features I love: princess seams, long narrow single button front (so slimming) and longer length. Your fabric is lovely and will turn any separates into an outfit. Thanks for your review!
1/6/07 9:20 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks really sharp, esp. the crisp welt pockets. I too like the longer length, and I may have to che out these "no-fail" welt pocket!
1/6/07 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
I really like this look!! This jacket can be so adaptable -looks cool with your jeans but I bet it would go to a more dressy event and look just as good!!
1/6/07 9:58 AM
Deb Thompson said...
This is a beautiful jacket that will serve you well - what a great wardrobe staple. Your fit is perfect and I really like the material. I'm so happy you mentioned the welt pocket instructions as I have been intimidated to try them thus far in my sewing career! Great review - can't wait to see the same jacket on you only in a different color and fabric!!
1/6/07 10:00 AM
cecelia said...
What a beautiful jacket and lovely material. It looks like it cost a bundle from a high end store. Nice job.
1/6/07 10:39 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Great jacket and great review. I've been wondering how useful these adjustable patterns are - I've been shying away from them because of the potential information overload factor. Looks like this one is worth it!
1/6/07 10:49 AM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a very nice jacket. Lucky you to get great fit right out of the envelope. This pattern looks as if it could be dressed up or down. Thanks for the review.
1/6/07 10:53 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Karen, This jacket is beautiful. You did a fabulous job and the material is gorgeous. I will have to try this pattern for the welt pocket technique. You inspire me.
1/6/07 11:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous jacket! Gorgeous model also! I enjoy your interpretation better than what are on the envelope!
1/6/07 1:42 PM
Lhan said...
I want to know how you have time to do such beautiful (and time-consuming) sewing while doing a PhD! Or is it, as it was for me, the ultimate procrastination?!? This jacket looks beautiful, in fact much better on you than on the pattern, which looks clunky and old-fashioned. Yours doesn't at all. Thanks so much for the advice about welt pockets - I too avoid them like the plague. Nice to know where I can find good advice.
1/6/07 8:02 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice jacket, Karen. It looks great on you.
1/6/07 9:10 PM
PixieCat said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I just finished this pattern too and it's a winner.
1/7/07 7:10 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful workmanship and a classic jacket! I prefer the single-button closures, too.
1/7/07 8:46 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent jacket.
1/7/07 9:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 7595

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now