SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8332 Devine Details (Reversible Jacket)

Viewed 1240 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/07 1:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Janice C. said...
Its a real pain when the fabric and pattern don't match up - but still a very nice looking jacket - what you would call a learning experience ! - thank you for the review.
1/6/07 2:19 PM
Janime said...
Love the jacket! I have this jacket in progess too! Thanks for the information on the fabric. I was beginning to have doubts about my fabric choice; I wanted denim on one side and a silk/poly brocade on the other. But lately I've been thinking that the denim would be way too heavy and stiff and that I should change to something more like what the pattern calls for. Your information pretty much confirms that thought. I think the brocade will be OK - I am doing a test garment in a similar weight fabric first just to be sure though. Thanks again for the very helpful information!
1/6/07 2:27 PM
SBanks said...
Very nice jacket. At least it looks great! I used to do that with the buttons, too. Now I just sew each side separately, with the buttons offset from each other about 1/16".
1/6/07 2:39 PM
carolynw said...
Wow!! It looks great - too bad you had aproblem with the fabric but the results are wonderful.
1/6/07 4:54 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the review! It looks lovely and a whole lot of work.
1/6/07 5:21 PM
VtMartha said...
A very nice looking jacket!
1/6/07 5:37 PM
Sharon M said...
Somehow I missed that this jacket pattern was reversible. I like your jacket and your review is very helpful. Thanks!
1/6/07 7:06 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Nice looking jacket! I love the fact that it's reversible! thanks for the great review.
1/6/07 7:30 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
I think your jacket looks very pretty.
1/7/07 2:07 AM
Peggy L said...
Great review and nice looking jacket. I think we have all done that - fabric not quite suitable but great learning experience.
1/7/07 8:13 AM
blue mooney said...
I have this pattern, so thanks for your insights! I love your fabric and understand why it gave you a vision that had to be followed.
1/7/07 8:42 AM
Avril said...
Thanks for the review, it was very helpful... I'm thinking about using this for my Timmels SWAP.
1/7/07 8:46 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket. Too bad you had such trouble with it.
1/7/07 7:24 PM
Ciclista said...
I'm glad you followed your vision - it's a beautiful jacket! No pain - no gain...
1/7/07 10:38 PM
viv rowett said...
Useful; I find the pattern confusing - I haven't used it yet - but on the packet it says: Fabric, chiffon/ crepe de chine; contrast 1: panne velvet & charmeuse; contrast 2: lightweight tweed & wool crepe. But when you look at the cutting layout, it shows 'contrast 2' as being the one you cut the bias binding from, which must surely be the very fine chiffonny fabric, and this seems to be borne out by the amounts required: contrast 2 needing much more, due to binding. I am not impressed that the company cannot get these details right; does not inspire me to think this pattern is one I can tackle with confidence: how many more mistakes will there be? And which is the fabric which is to be interfaced (section 5 of the instructions) given the ambiguity I outline? I assume it is the chiffon. I think I shall try to produce a simplified non-reversible version, perhaps cut on the cross and with with frayed seam allowances.
11/18/07 5:11 AM
CarolynGM said...
I really wish I could see your jacket, but I get a "page reached in error" on all of your links. The pattern looks intriguing.
11/18/07 6:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8278

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
Simplicity 2648

photo
by: jlg

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now