Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5178 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 727 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:SimsSews
photo
Friend of PR
About SimsSews
TX USA
Member since: 10/27/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/07 3:27 PM
Last Updated:1/7/07 3:43 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanineM said...
you have done an excellent job - your dress does look very pretty.
1/7/07 5:16 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful dress and a great review on this pattern. Thank you :)
1/7/07 5:27 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think it looks a little raunchy (that's a good thing). If you can't face doing the zipper in the slippery bias fabric thing again consider taking it to the dry cleaners or dressmaker in the mall, I sometimes get them to do tricky things like that. Thanks for a great (1st) review!
1/8/07 1:50 AM
AnneM said...
Pretty; love the fabric. You could definitely waer that to work, I think. on re-buying the pattern: This is why I trace my patterns instead of cutting them; I hate having to go back out to the store.
1/8/07 8:59 AM
nicegirl said...
I like the way that came out! The violet is very pretty.
1/8/07 9:49 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for the Threads article corrections!
1/9/07 10:59 PM
Lhan said...
Very pretty! I love that fabric. I think you needed to stabilise the fabric edges where the zip goes almost as soon as you cut it out, so it hasn't stretched out of shape by the time you come to sew it. Iron-on interfacing can do it, basting tape, or even stay-stitching on a fairly small stitch, being very careful not to stretch the fabric as you sew. Another possibility is to use tear-away stabiliser, such as is used in embroidery. There is no way I would even try to sew a long zip on a bias edge without one or other of these. You might also have more success sewing the zip into a closed seam. I notice my Simplicity Sewing book says "zippers have the reputation for being difficult" - and I think you chose the most difficult situation of all. Any chance of a back view, and a close-up of the flowers you mention? Love to see the next version!
1/10/07 1:33 AM
SimsSews said...
Wow, what wonderful comments! Many appologies for abandoning my review, part guilt for spending so much time on the internet and part sheer terror of not measuring up. I've resolved no more running and hiding. And for anyone who might can overlook my rudeness, I love, love Helen's raunchy comment. Also Lhan, I like the idea of using a stabilizer, although I've never used stabilizer it's now on my to buy list. Bias means stretch, and in my last battle of the zipper war, I applied a long 1" strip of light weight interfacing to the back seam to control the end of zipper pucker. It did drastically reduce the zipper pucker, but now the seam waves in and out because the bias cut skirt material stretches and the seam cannot. The futher down the seam the worse the wave, so my solution was to hem the dress as short as I comfortably could. Perhaps stabalizer would allow the seam to stretch a little more than my interfacing does.
1/20/07 3:46 PM
clare said...
Thanks for this review and the useful comments about the bodice sizing. This pattern is on my wish list so this review has been very helpful to me!
1/23/07 3:19 PM
Soliel said...
This is sooo cute! So Easter! Lovely!
4/4/07 10:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6696
photo
Review by littlepink... on 1/17/14
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5862 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6613
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us