SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5178 

2 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:SimsSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SimsSews
TX USA
Member since: 10/27/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/07 3:27 PM
Last Updated:1/7/07 3:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanineM said...
you have done an excellent job - your dress does look very pretty.
1/7/07 5:16 PM
Tany said...
Beautiful dress and a great review on this pattern. Thank you :)
1/7/07 5:27 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
I think it looks a little raunchy (that's a good thing). If you can't face doing the zipper in the slippery bias fabric thing again consider taking it to the dry cleaners or dressmaker in the mall, I sometimes get them to do tricky things like that. Thanks for a great (1st) review!
1/8/07 1:50 AM
AnneM said...
Pretty; love the fabric. You could definitely waer that to work, I think. on re-buying the pattern: This is why I trace my patterns instead of cutting them; I hate having to go back out to the store.
1/8/07 8:59 AM
nicegirl said...
I like the way that came out! The violet is very pretty.
1/8/07 9:49 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for the Threads article corrections!
1/9/07 10:59 PM
Lhan said...
Very pretty! I love that fabric. I think you needed to stabilise the fabric edges where the zip goes almost as soon as you cut it out, so it hasn't stretched out of shape by the time you come to sew it. Iron-on interfacing can do it, basting tape, or even stay-stitching on a fairly small stitch, being very careful not to stretch the fabric as you sew. Another possibility is to use tear-away stabiliser, such as is used in embroidery. There is no way I would even try to sew a long zip on a bias edge without one or other of these. You might also have more success sewing the zip into a closed seam. I notice my Simplicity Sewing book says "zippers have the reputation for being difficult" - and I think you chose the most difficult situation of all. Any chance of a back view, and a close-up of the flowers you mention? Love to see the next version!
1/10/07 1:33 AM
SimsSews said...
Wow, what wonderful comments! Many appologies for abandoning my review, part guilt for spending so much time on the internet and part sheer terror of not measuring up. I've resolved no more running and hiding. And for anyone who might can overlook my rudeness, I love, love Helen's raunchy comment. Also Lhan, I like the idea of using a stabilizer, although I've never used stabilizer it's now on my to buy list. Bias means stretch, and in my last battle of the zipper war, I applied a long 1" strip of light weight interfacing to the back seam to control the end of zipper pucker. It did drastically reduce the zipper pucker, but now the seam waves in and out because the bias cut skirt material stretches and the seam cannot. The futher down the seam the worse the wave, so my solution was to hem the dress as short as I comfortably could. Perhaps stabalizer would allow the seam to stretch a little more than my interfacing does.
1/20/07 3:46 PM
clare said...
Thanks for this review and the useful comments about the bodice sizing. This pattern is on my wish list so this review has been very helpful to me!
1/23/07 3:19 PM
Soliel said...
This is sooo cute! So Easter! Lovely!
4/4/07 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now