SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6582 (60's Retro Dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 2345 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/07 9:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim Winson said...
I agree...the fabric totally makes the dress. I am also a member of the IBTC club and I own this pattern. I've held off on making it because of the reviews stating that one really needs an hourglass figure or the proper undergarments to pull off the silhouette that's on the pattern envelope. Thanks for the excellent review!
1/8/07 9:58 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! You look terrific in this dress! I don't understand that bias back either and consider myself forewarned when I make this dress. You have such a cute figure for this dress with a nice, small waist. I'll have to make the other view because of my rectangle figure.
1/8/07 10:39 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute! Congrats on overcoming the fit and design issues. The tulle overskirt is a fun little addition, and that pin at the waist!! Love it!!
1/8/07 10:57 AM
BeckyW said...
Very pretty dress!!! I have that pattern too. I need to move it up on my list of things to sew.
1/8/07 11:21 AM
LBJ said...
Very pretty! You look like a princess!
1/8/07 11:52 AM
CarolynD said...
Fab dress, it is spectacular!
1/8/07 12:11 PM
frame said...
Beautiful dress. You look very pretty.
1/8/07 12:49 PM
krinn said...
wow, great job! Sorry to hear you had so many problems, but you sure pulled it off in the end!
1/8/07 12:51 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful. I love all your additions.... tulle, pin, petticoat, and mostly your alterations to make it work. Terrific.
1/8/07 12:57 PM
BettyMike said...
You look adorable in this dress!
1/8/07 3:41 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a frock! Nice work.
1/8/07 3:52 PM
Tiner W said...
You look amazing in this! Beautiful!
1/8/07 4:20 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You are more brave than I am to do all of that overlapping and slashing, but you evidently know what you're doing! Great results.
1/8/07 4:29 PM
jnamcd said...
Great dress--the color looks awesome on you!
1/8/07 5:42 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save on this dress. I admire your resourcefulness in making it work. It is beautiful on you.
1/8/07 5:45 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ah! What a stunningly glamourous dress! Watch out Charlize Theron! You got some competition on the red carpet!
1/8/07 7:55 PM
Vonnevo said...
Spectacular, cute, gorgeous -every word in the dictionary. A beautiful interpretation of the pattern style with wonderful results. Thanks for sharing with us :)))
1/8/07 8:24 PM
carolw said...
Unbelievably cute, you look stunning in this gorgeous dress.
1/8/07 9:17 PM
krystalkaes said...
Cute! Cute! Cute!
1/9/07 0:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
I'm sorry you weren't absolutely over the moon about this pattern! I think your dress looks wonderful and I love your accessories! I've made this style for myself, too, several times in both the sheath and the bouffant styles. I love this style!
1/9/07 3:03 AM
SBanks said...
Gorgeous! Such a beautiful dress for all the trouble!
1/9/07 4:55 AM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful dress on you! It's too bad that the pattern's design elements didn't show up once sewn up, but you got such lovely results. It looks fun to wear too!
1/9/07 8:14 AM
Karen6790 said...
The fabric is fabulous, and you're right, almost anything would have looked good made out of that. But this is a dress I would totally buy in a vintage shop, if only I could get it to fit me. Beautiful job. It looks great on you.
1/9/07 6:38 PM
Jane S said...
You look wonderful in this dress. Sucha good review of your process. Congrats for sticking with it.
1/9/07 7:42 PM
Ciclista said...
Stunning!!!
1/10/07 10:35 PM
ChristineX said...
That fabric is amazing! I like the dress too--I am short so I would have had to shorten it too.
1/12/07 4:30 PM
Sewbe said...
That dress is gorgeous and on you too. Thanks for the inspiration!!
1/23/07 6:59 PM
dressaday said...
Gorgeous! You did a great job!
2/1/07 9:57 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Absolutely charming!
2/2/07 9:36 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute, and great fabric. I like the neckline; the cross-over does take it beyond a regular v-neck. (I'm not about to wear those 'required' undergarments either.)
2/26/07 1:01 PM
belleepoque said...
i so agree with your review. i wanted to love this dress so much, but the neckline is "eh" and too complicated for how it turns out, and the armsyce is super tight for how oversized the bodice is. anyway, great review, i wish I'd read it before I bought the pattern! all of that said you fixed it up beautifully and your dress looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:12 AM
KitnRose said...
That dress is so wonderfully YOU! Beautiful, beautiful job on it! Great job!
3/2/08 10:32 PM
Yellow Zeppelin said...
Great review and a gorgeous result! Now all I want to know is where did you get *those shoes*!
3/23/08 12:28 PM
nicegirl said...
Hee yellowzeppelin! I love shoes. Those were one of my Ross finds. You have to dig but they have the greatest shoes. They are Dollhouse brand and I'm sure long out of season but they are adorable and Dollhouse has really cute (if not really comfortable) shoes.
3/29/08 8:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6331

photo
by: mskellytay...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: Jgpea

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now