SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6582 (60's Retro Dress)

47 more reviews
Viewed 2348 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/07 9:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nicegirl said...
Hee yellowzeppelin! I love shoes. Those were one of my Ross finds. You have to dig but they have the greatest shoes. They are Dollhouse brand and I'm sure long out of season but they are adorable and Dollhouse has really cute (if not really comfortable) shoes.
3/29/08 8:30 AM
Yellow Zeppelin said...
Great review and a gorgeous result! Now all I want to know is where did you get *those shoes*!
3/23/08 12:28 PM
KitnRose said...
That dress is so wonderfully YOU! Beautiful, beautiful job on it! Great job!
3/2/08 10:32 PM
belleepoque said...
i so agree with your review. i wanted to love this dress so much, but the neckline is "eh" and too complicated for how it turns out, and the armsyce is super tight for how oversized the bodice is. anyway, great review, i wish I'd read it before I bought the pattern! all of that said you fixed it up beautifully and your dress looks great on you!
3/23/07 11:12 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute, and great fabric. I like the neckline; the cross-over does take it beyond a regular v-neck. (I'm not about to wear those 'required' undergarments either.)
2/26/07 1:01 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Absolutely charming!
2/2/07 9:36 AM
dressaday said...
Gorgeous! You did a great job!
2/1/07 9:57 AM
Sewbe said...
That dress is gorgeous and on you too. Thanks for the inspiration!!
1/23/07 6:59 PM
ChristineX said...
That fabric is amazing! I like the dress too--I am short so I would have had to shorten it too.
1/12/07 4:30 PM
Ciclista said...
Stunning!!!
1/10/07 10:35 PM
Jane S said...
You look wonderful in this dress. Sucha good review of your process. Congrats for sticking with it.
1/9/07 7:42 PM
Karen6790 said...
The fabric is fabulous, and you're right, almost anything would have looked good made out of that. But this is a dress I would totally buy in a vintage shop, if only I could get it to fit me. Beautiful job. It looks great on you.
1/9/07 6:38 PM
BeckyC said...
Beautiful dress on you! It's too bad that the pattern's design elements didn't show up once sewn up, but you got such lovely results. It looks fun to wear too!
1/9/07 8:14 AM
SBanks said...
Gorgeous! Such a beautiful dress for all the trouble!
1/9/07 4:55 AM
Em's Summer said...
I'm sorry you weren't absolutely over the moon about this pattern! I think your dress looks wonderful and I love your accessories! I've made this style for myself, too, several times in both the sheath and the bouffant styles. I love this style!
1/9/07 3:03 AM
krystalkaes said...
Cute! Cute! Cute!
1/9/07 0:55 AM
carolw said...
Unbelievably cute, you look stunning in this gorgeous dress.
1/8/07 9:17 PM
Vonnevo said...
Spectacular, cute, gorgeous -every word in the dictionary. A beautiful interpretation of the pattern style with wonderful results. Thanks for sharing with us :)))
1/8/07 8:24 PM
Heatherrique said...
Ah! What a stunningly glamourous dress! Watch out Charlize Theron! You got some competition on the red carpet!
1/8/07 7:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save on this dress. I admire your resourcefulness in making it work. It is beautiful on you.
1/8/07 5:45 PM
jnamcd said...
Great dress--the color looks awesome on you!
1/8/07 5:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You are more brave than I am to do all of that overlapping and slashing, but you evidently know what you're doing! Great results.
1/8/07 4:29 PM
Tiner W said...
You look amazing in this! Beautiful!
1/8/07 4:20 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What a frock! Nice work.
1/8/07 3:52 PM
BettyMike said...
You look adorable in this dress!
1/8/07 3:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wonderful. I love all your additions.... tulle, pin, petticoat, and mostly your alterations to make it work. Terrific.
1/8/07 12:57 PM
krinn said...
wow, great job! Sorry to hear you had so many problems, but you sure pulled it off in the end!
1/8/07 12:51 PM
frame said...
Beautiful dress. You look very pretty.
1/8/07 12:49 PM
CarolynD said...
Fab dress, it is spectacular!
1/8/07 12:11 PM
LBJ said...
Very pretty! You look like a princess!
1/8/07 11:52 AM
BeckyW said...
Very pretty dress!!! I have that pattern too. I need to move it up on my list of things to sew.
1/8/07 11:21 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute! Congrats on overcoming the fit and design issues. The tulle overskirt is a fun little addition, and that pin at the waist!! Love it!!
1/8/07 10:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! You look terrific in this dress! I don't understand that bias back either and consider myself forewarned when I make this dress. You have such a cute figure for this dress with a nice, small waist. I'll have to make the other view because of my rectangle figure.
1/8/07 10:39 AM
Kim Winson said...
I agree...the fabric totally makes the dress. I am also a member of the IBTC club and I own this pattern. I've held off on making it because of the reviews stating that one really needs an hourglass figure or the proper undergarments to pull off the silhouette that's on the pattern envelope. Thanks for the excellent review!
1/8/07 9:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Simplicity 3315

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

More Info
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

More Info
New Look 6802

photo
by: WinterQuee...

Review