SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1963 (Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1054 times 
Reviewed by:JanetSun
photo

 
 
About JanetSun
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/02 1:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
I also make this coat as my first coat. I love the classic look. I made the patch pockets, being a beginner I was intimidated by the welt pockets. I am waiting to take a picture to write my review!I look forward to seeing yours.
12/8/02 4:12 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I recently acquired this pattern. Even though I live in Florida I thought I would make up a short one in a thinner wool as a kind of "toss over anything" car coat/jacket when it's cool at night. Making a coat can be kind of intimidating to those of us who've never done it (and why is that? It's just a longer jacket) - thanks for your encouraging review. :-)
12/8/02 6:23 PM
Lisa G said...
Janet, I am curious to know what your normal pattern adjustments are? Did you have to make any adjustments to this pattern? If so, which ones?
12/9/02 5:10 PM
Lisa G said...
I just read your profile about your usual pattern modifications...i don't need you to repeat the information again here, but did you alter this pattern much?
12/9/02 5:14 PM
JanetSun said...
Lisa, I didn't alter this pattern at all the first time through. I sewed a size twelve which is at the larger end of my size for NE patterns, 1945 fits better in a 10 letting out at the hip. The beauty of sewing a coat is that the fitting is much less fussy. For my Alpaca coat I am working on now I tried adding 1 1/2 " walking ease to the fronts since I am making it longer and the fabric is stiffer. I found the hood did not work in this fabric because it does not drape enough _ I look like I should be making toys at the North Pole. Last night I took it off and put on the collar which looks nice. I guess I should edit my review but I'm not sure how to do that. I like Sabrina have been not reviewing until I could post pics, but I decided to just go for it and maybe the camera will come!
12/9/02 11:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5041

photo
by: Mamakct100...

Review
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now