SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1963 (Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1054 times 
Reviewed by:JanetSun
photo

 
 
About JanetSun
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/02 1:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanetSun said... (12/9/02 11:08 PM) Reply
Lisa, I didn't alter this pattern at all the first time through. I sewed a size twelve which is at the larger end of my size for NE patterns, 1945 fits better in a 10 letting out at the hip. The beauty of sewing a coat is that the fitting is much less fussy. For my Alpaca coat I am working on now I tried adding 1 1/2 " walking ease to the fronts since I am making it longer and the fabric is stiffer. I found the hood did not work in this fabric because it does not drape enough _ I look like I should be making toys at the North Pole. Last night I took it off and put on the collar which looks nice. I guess I should edit my review but I'm not sure how to do that. I like Sabrina have been not reviewing until I could post pics, but I decided to just go for it and maybe the camera will come!
Lisa G said... (12/9/02 5:14 PM) Reply
I just read your profile about your usual pattern modifications...i don't need you to repeat the information again here, but did you alter this pattern much?
Lisa G said... (12/9/02 5:10 PM) Reply
Janet, I am curious to know what your normal pattern adjustments are? Did you have to make any adjustments to this pattern? If so, which ones?
Gigi Louis said... (12/8/02 6:23 PM) Reply
I recently acquired this pattern. Even though I live in Florida I thought I would make up a short one in a thinner wool as a kind of "toss over anything" car coat/jacket when it's cool at night. Making a coat can be kind of intimidating to those of us who've never done it (and why is that? It's just a longer jacket) - thanks for your encouraging review. :-)
Lisette said... (12/8/02 4:12 PM) Reply
I also make this coat as my first coat. I love the classic look. I made the patch pockets, being a beginner I was intimidated by the welt pockets. I am waiting to take a picture to write my review!I look forward to seeing yours.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Pattern Details