SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1963 (Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1054 times 
Reviewed by:JanetSun
photo

 
 
About JanetSun
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 3 (patterns: 3)
Skill level:Advanced
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/02 1:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanetSun said... (12/9/02 11:08 PM) Reply
Lisa, I didn't alter this pattern at all the first time through. I sewed a size twelve which is at the larger end of my size for NE patterns, 1945 fits better in a 10 letting out at the hip. The beauty of sewing a coat is that the fitting is much less fussy. For my Alpaca coat I am working on now I tried adding 1 1/2 " walking ease to the fronts since I am making it longer and the fabric is stiffer. I found the hood did not work in this fabric because it does not drape enough _ I look like I should be making toys at the North Pole. Last night I took it off and put on the collar which looks nice. I guess I should edit my review but I'm not sure how to do that. I like Sabrina have been not reviewing until I could post pics, but I decided to just go for it and maybe the camera will come!
Lisa G said... (12/9/02 5:14 PM) Reply
I just read your profile about your usual pattern modifications...i don't need you to repeat the information again here, but did you alter this pattern much?
Lisa G said... (12/9/02 5:10 PM) Reply
Janet, I am curious to know what your normal pattern adjustments are? Did you have to make any adjustments to this pattern? If so, which ones?
Gigi Louis said... (12/8/02 6:23 PM) Reply
I recently acquired this pattern. Even though I live in Florida I thought I would make up a short one in a thinner wool as a kind of "toss over anything" car coat/jacket when it's cool at night. Making a coat can be kind of intimidating to those of us who've never done it (and why is that? It's just a longer jacket) - thanks for your encouraging review. :-)
Lisette said... (12/8/02 4:12 PM) Reply
I also make this coat as my first coat. I love the classic look. I made the patch pockets, being a beginner I was intimidated by the welt pockets. I am waiting to take a picture to write my review!I look forward to seeing yours.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Other 1102W

photo
by: JuneHawk

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6696

photo
by: olgarosita

Review